Suitability of Troopy for every day family use.

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 11:48
ThreadID: 37901 Views:7394 Replies:13 FollowUps:18
Hello all,

I presently drive a Pajero TD, and I am very happy with it. I have been offered an 04 troopy 4.2TD with 60000kms, and heaps of accessories for $17000.00

Yes.... the price caught me off gaurd too. :-)

There are no issues with the quality of the TC, it is practically brand new, and hasn't even been off road before, even though it is fitted with a high mount warn winch. It belongs to my boss, and she has looked after it well.

I realise that the Troopy will do the heavy towing that I need, and that it will do what I also need off road, however what are opinions as to suitability of the Troopy for everyday family type use.
My wife is four foot nothing tall/short, and although she is keen to get it, I am concerned that she may not like it, after having the Paj for so many years, which I have found to be a best of both worlds vehicle.

Thanks very much

Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 11:53

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 11:53
The Troopy will be a lot harder ride. Much harder than the soft Pajero. The Troopy is more a truck, the Pajero more the car. The Troopy is very utilitarian designed for hard work with basic features. She might find it annoying pulling into Safeway every few days parking it and backing it, it's bigger than the Pajero.
AnswerID: 195672

Follow Up By: davros_who - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 11:58

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 11:58
Thanks for the very quick reply.

The Paj isn't all that soft. I have always had HD suspension in it etc, however I do take your point.
I guess it's hard not to get keen about a new vehicle, and I was hoping someone might say something like.... "Trust me, your wife will LOVE the Troopy"
FollowupID: 453790

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:09

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:09
If the Troopy is really that cheap you should bring the money aspect into consideration and buy it, as long as your wife understands what it is and is happy with that. If you don't like it in the end at $17k you'll make a profit and be able to sell it when the time comes.

SO "Trust Me, your wife will LOVE the Troopy"
FollowupID: 453793

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:30

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:30
I think you would be hard-pressed to find someone who doesn't love their troopie. There's just some indefinable quality about driving one; no matter how truck-like they are.
FollowupID: 453801

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 15:51

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 15:51
"The Troopy is more a truck, the Pajero more the car."

Having driven both, that summarises it well.

If you want something that will go in much rougher places, and don't mind driving more slowly and carefully when on better roads - then go go for the Troopy.
FollowupID: 453855

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:00

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:00
>> 04 troopy 4.2TD with 60000kms, and heaps of accessories for $17000.00

something aint right in dodge here that price and kms etc..

Buy it and flog it for 3 times what you buy it for!! clean up!
AnswerID: 195673

Follow Up By: davros_who - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:12

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:12
On the suface it does sound too good to be true Truckster.

The vehicle is owned by the company, not leased or otherwise, and the last one being an 00 model, went for $19800 at auction. I have offered to pay that, minus the 12.5% auction fee, which was accepted by my boss. It hasn't done 60k yet, but is coming up to that shortly, when I will be given the chance to get it.

"Buy it and flog it for 3 times what you buy it for!! clean up!"

Unfortunately, I have already blabbed to my brother, and he wants it if I don't go ahead with it. I do owe him a favour or two, so I will be handing it to him if I don't get it.
FollowupID: 453794

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:23

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:23
when the next $50k car comes up at your work for $15k can you contact me? I'll have one
FollowupID: 453798

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:25

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:25
Davros

Unusual as it might be, I agree with Truckster.......it is too good to be true, but understand the reasoning behind it.

Mate you'll be able to auction off the rights to the next vehicle on here....true value without accessories taken into acvcount would probably be around $30-33K.

ps Have you got comprising photos of the Boss from the last Christmas party or something?

God luck to you
FollowupID: 453799

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:35

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:35
"Have you got comprising photos of the Boss from the last Christmas party or something? "

haaa haaa haaa haa haa haa haa haa haaa haaa haa ha ahaha, stop it my stomach hurts!
FollowupID: 453802

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:53

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:53
From Steve's Boss to Steve (Letter Attached)

Dear Steve, I want you to know I really enjoyed the other night. As promised our secret will stay as such, but to tell the truth I was annoyed you sent me that note the day after requesting a pay rise.! However as I enjoyed it so much I am willing to sell you my Troopy with the lot for a mere $17,000. Sounds too good to be true.? Well it just goes to show how I feel about you, you are worth every cent.!

Love %$*(#@$%&&
FollowupID: 453808

Reply By: traveller2 - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:08

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:08
Having had troopies from the early 80's through to the present (4 in all) we started with no kids, to three and in the early years it was our only vehicle.
They are too high for most carparks, the two doors are a bit of a pain in suburbia but work ok when travelling outback. Depends on the age of the kids I guess, eventually our three complained of cramped conditions in the rear seat when they reached adult proportions.
We eventually bought a small car for running around town and kept the troopy for weekends and annual holidays.
Most families will require a second car eventually to do the kid shuttle/mum's taxi routine so the troopy will still get used just not as much, keeps the k's down and also means the truck can be kept longer, our last one was kept for ten years and still only had 165k on it.
I taught two to drive on it with no probs either.
Maybe keep the Paj as well?
AnswerID: 195675

Reply By: pete - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:22

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:22
Go for it - especially at that price - although it does seem a bit suss.

I had a Troopy for a few years in the early 90's just after they came out with the 1hz motor - it was great for an extended trip up north for two of us. After dabbling with a Discovery and a Patrol I am now back in a Troopy - best move I have made. Plenty of room - still only two of us and the mad dog, but it works real well. Am planning on fitting it our as a campervan with a raised roof and bed and some sort of cupboard, kitchen setup inside to keep the missus happy. While it is more basic than the other two vehicles there is something comforting about not having too many electrics and gimmicks. Although being basic also means that you can fit it out to your own requirements if needed. Also great for towing the boat. Spares are cheap compared to the other two vehicles - important for self servicing as well.
AnswerID: 195676

Reply By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:31

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:31
Grab it with both hands (I'm assuming it's an RV with 5 seats here)

We still have our '88 troopy with near on half a million ks in the backyard, sadly many. many trips to Fraser Island have taken their toll on the poor girl.

If your kids are of the age that you have to strap them in, then it will be a nuisance, but not impossible. Consider also that with a cargo barrier in the back you will not need to tow a trailer.

Now if it's an 11 seater, hmm, you can't mount kiddies seats in it! unless you convert it to a 5/6 seater with a rear bench.

If you don't need kiddies seats, then it is very easy. Build yourself a compartment in the back for the groceries, school bags etc, so that the kids don't have to climb over them when they get in an out and you will have a great vehicle.

Our new company car was going to be another Troopy, but with child number two on the way at the time, and child number one still in a child seat for a few more years, we went for the convenience of a patrol.
AnswerID: 195679

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:35

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:35
Wife reckons it's the best 4wd we've had. Yeah there are issues but when you get over them life's just a joy. Your price is obviously the WDV on the books or lease buy-out...at that price there is no arguement. I'm never going back to a softy.... EVER!!
AnswerID: 195681

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:48

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:48
More fool her for selling it at book value.
At $25K its still very cheap and the $8K diff would be enough for a very nice holiday.

I would rather make the capitol gain and pay the tax than to get nothing at all.

FollowupID: 453805

Reply By: davros_who - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:41

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:41
Thanks again for the replies.

I have four kids, 16yrs 12 yrs 6yrs and 3yrs, so there is still a bit of fiddling to do to get the littlies sorted out, but not for much longer. The carpark issue is not something that I had thought of, and is a bit of a bummer.

Yes it is the one with a bench seat behind the front seets, so it seats five. My father in law has a 1990 model, which he has kitted out over the years, and he loves it. His wife hates it though, which is what prompted me to post here. He has a great setup in the back, so that the seats fold down, and form a shelf in the back. He just pulls on a rope that hangs out rearward, and up pop the seats. I thought this might work for us, as my two eldest do not live with us anymore, however I do need to cater for seating for them when we see them, and go away etc.
AnswerID: 195684

Follow Up By: Off-track - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:55

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:55
Is that seating for 5 total? If so where is the extra person in the family going to go?

Carparks are generally not an issue as a lot of them you can just drive straight to the top level.
FollowupID: 453809

Follow Up By: davros_who - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:16

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:16
Sorry.... I should have explained it better. The vehicle in question already has seating for five. I would be looking at doing the extra seat mod like my Father in Law, where you pull on the rope, and up pops an extra seat further back.
Troopies are HUGE in the back, so I figure I still won't need the trailer when we go away. I still have memories of last year at Fraser when we got off the last barge, with a heavy trailer and 6 people in the Paj. Going back without a trailer now seems like a much better idea to me. :-)
FollowupID: 453836

Reply By: REXYSURF - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:46

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:46
Hi groovers...
I heard a storey from a little birdy the other day (read bloody good scorce) and he informed me that next year toyota are brining out the new troopy. Aparently with 4 doors + twin turbo V8 Deisel as an option....

Just wondering ummmm

Rexy
AnswerID: 195685

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:50

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:50
So the story goes.
Twin turbo V8 and 4 doors will possibly be an apparent option??????

FollowupID: 453806

Follow Up By: REXYSURF - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:52

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:52
Yup that is what my little birdy told me....gunna be Really interesting to see if its true....god I hope so :)...might have to ask the OIC war and Finance for a late xmas present
FollowupID: 453807

Reply By: joc45 - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:49

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:49
Simple solution:
Buy it, try it, and if your wife can't handle it, THEN flog it to your brother and he's happy.
Win-win situation.
AnswerID: 195686

Follow Up By: davros_who - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:18

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:18
Thanks joc45.

That is an elegant solution to the problem. I think that is just what I will do. :-)
FollowupID: 453837

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:56

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:56
If you buy it, don't sell the Paj till you're sure you're happy. My missus is a bit of a short a$$ too and she'd shoot me if I suggested getting a troopy. Reason she loves the Paj so much is cause it's so car like to drive while still being a good (excellent!!) off roader.
AnswerID: 195687

Follow Up By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:59

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:59
Actually, the 78series troopies have a very good drivers seat, couple this with what would have to be the best forward and quarter visibility on the market and your wife might be surprised at just how good the view is from a troopy
FollowupID: 453810

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 13:05

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 13:05
Still drives like a truck compared to the Paj >:-p

On the flip side I suppose you wouldn't have to worry about getting the carpet dirty, or the hood lining LOL.....
And how many gears in the Auto? LOL
FollowupID: 453813

Reply By: Barnesy - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 15:38

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 15:38
Good advice all round. Another thing to think about may be where you live. If you live in the CBD or suburbs the truck like characteristics may get on your nerves parking in shopping centres and driving through peak hour etc. Whereas if you lived in a country town those things wouldn't matter at all.

I wanted a troopy but for the money i had i could get a GQ that was 6 or 7 years newer. Only reason i didn't get one.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 195730

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 17:28

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 17:28
Hi Steve,
I'm currently the proud owner of a 2006 RV model Troop Carrier and in the past have owned older models.
My mate owns a mid 90's model.

My mates wife is about 5'6" and my girlfriend is 5'7" they both love them and enjoy driving the Troopy's. My late model has coil front springs and rides better than the mates leaf sprung front end. (My girlfriend owns a 4-Runner and prefers the Troopy)

Also my factory Turbo Diesel goes a heap harder than the mates aftermarket turbo.

My daughters are 14 and 16, they fit fine in the back seat and the room is one thing I've never heard them complain about. That's a miracle for teenagers with indoor plumbing.

As others have said, the down side of Troopy ownership is undercover carparks. The troopy is over 2 metres high. I always allow 2.2 to 2.3 metres clearance under cover for safety.

Turning circle is a little large at 15 metres, but to be honest once you've owned a Troopy everything else on the 4wd market is an also ran.

Hope this helps,

Geoff.

AnswerID: 195759

Follow Up By: davros_who - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:00

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:00
I talked it over with my wife last night after she had read all of your informative posts. We have decided to go with it, and I have just passed on the aquistition form to my employer. Three or four months, and we will be the new owners of a Troopy. :-)

Unfortunately, we can't afford to run both vehicles, so the Paj will have to go. So many good memories tied up in that vehicle, and it has never let us down. I did intend to keep it for at least ten years, but seven years is ok.

Now that we have decided to get the troopy, I'm all exited.
I went over it again before work this morning, and it has more extras than I thought.
High mount Warn winch...... never been used. The little plastic packing thingo is still on the hook!

Haymen Reece HD hitch towbar...... ball still shiney chrome... never used.
ARB bullbar.
Fairly decent sound system
Dual batteries, with really nice power panel in rear of truck.
Uniden small cheapy UHF........ plenty good enough for me.
Nice set of driving lights
turbo timer..... Nice to know that it was fitted from new.
Cav fuel filter adapter
Unifilter servicable air filter element

She also has an older engel fridge that she wants to get rid of as well, so I may get that too. :-)
Don't you love people that these vehicles, when they live on 5 acres, and think that they need a 4wd to get in the driveway.

It hasn't really been a good year for us all round, so this is all good as far as we are concerned.

Thanks again for all of the replies and thoughts.

FollowupID: 454051

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:54

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:54
Steve,

When our kids were younger, we had an 11 seater 47series Troopie. We have some awesome memories of things we did with that vehicle.
But for my wife, it was her daily driver - used to take the kids to school - everyone knew who she was - she was "the lady with the Troopie" :-)))
Usual downsides as far as parking, turning circle etc, but they are a fairly skinny vehicle, so were OK in traffic. We eventually sold it and bought a 61series Sahara so we had the forward facing seats.
AnswerID: 196032