CDMA Phones

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 13:20
ThreadID: 37905 Views:3187 Replies:15 FollowUps:28
Well, went to upgrade today but nobody stocks them anymore... When i said GSM is bleep and doesnt work at home, the dude actually told me YES it does...

After walking out of 3 places cause the teenagers working there were moronic and only wanted to sell me machines with a squillion things I dont need, does anyone know of a store in SE Melb with CDMA phones in stock? '

I just want a MOBILE PHONE on CDMA... dont need a viabrator, radio, microwave etc... just a phone..

Reply By: Redback - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 13:25

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 13:25
Myer
AnswerID: 195698

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 13:30

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 13:30
maybe you should move hahaha
AnswerID: 195699

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 13:50

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 13:50
shut up u...

got me solinoid thingy grizzer yet?
FollowupID: 453822

Reply By: Robin - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 13:51

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 13:51
After watching the report on Sol Tiheo's background last night you'd be
seriously put off on having anything to do Telstra.

Hampton park post office is a slow moving operation which still
had the 2112 a week or two ago.

Seen these advertised recently at $69 with 6 months access which
with Telstra's recent 300% pre-paid price rise means that it was
cheaper to buy the phone, than to be given one for free and put in
a 6 month access card.

AnswerID: 195704

Follow Up By: Rod W - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:21

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:21
Yep I caught a bit of that. He got a payout totalling some $90m and the company/s failed in customer service. And this silly country employs him.
FollowupID: 453839

Follow Up By: joc45 - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:43

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:43
Re the 2112, just be mindful that it doesn't have any data port, nor an ext antenna connection, just a dumb basic phone.
I tried an antenna coupler on mine to extend the antenna (clips over the top of the phone), and it worked no better than sitting the phone on the dashboard. Admittedly, I bought the coupler on Ebay, not the Nokia handsfree. Nokia also say that their handsfree is not suitable for the CDMA band.
And of course, CDMA is to be phased out in 2007/08.
Gerry
FollowupID: 453847

Follow Up By: Robin - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 15:07

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 15:07
Gerry ,its a very hard thing to set up such a phone so that it gets a better signal than just by itself on the dash, and used with ext headset/mic.
Seen some systems that cost a lot and are worse with ext aerial.

--------------
As for Sol, well he has the expertise to flog a company all right , but who would have thought you could sell a company, then announce its final divided such that it fell after the sale date, making the liability invalid for the buyer , and accept a $70m personal payout deal on the very last day of the company before buyout
such that it could not be questioned.

Damm , I've still got some Telstra I think!

FollowupID: 453851

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 15:16

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 15:16
come on robin,

what about all the streamlining of synergies and identifying the duplications and moving forward to maximise customer delight while providing strong and defined yields for the shareholders, delivering results and demonstrating progress, implementing a plan for Australia and delivering on transformation, building credibilitiy with customers and shareholders? hmmmmm?
FollowupID: 453852

Follow Up By: Robin - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 15:28

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 15:28
Gee never thought of that , no wonder they kicked me out of marketing and back to the lab!

FollowupID: 453853

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 15:51

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 15:51
Sol's spokeman didn't give one straight answer throughout that whole interview. What a d..k! This was once Australia's biggest and best company and now look at it. It's a rabble and a joke.
FollowupID: 453854

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 18:43

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 18:43
Yeah I had a fight with Nokia bout the usless coupler's a while back. They DH in customer service told me I didn't need an external antenna. I asked her when the last time she went bush with me was.... They took the cables off the market that plug into the external antennas on most nokia models as they were apparently blowing the phones up. (good engineering there fellas!).

I love the way these "customer service" people know more about me than I do, it's really quite amazing...
FollowupID: 453904

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 13:54

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 13:54
Sure Aussie Post has them, or try Ebay
AnswerID: 195706

Reply By: patto - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 13:57

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 13:57
You need to be carefull buying a CDMA phone as CDMA is to be phased out over the next 12 months or so and be replaced by the new generation 3 phone that will not work on CDMA
AnswerID: 195707

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:01

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:01
I dont believe that time frame at all... mth or so ago it was 2yrs, then 12 mths,then 18 mths - all within a few weeks.
Also if you have a contract they have a contract to supply you with a service. they cant just cut it off.
FollowupID: 453827

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:29

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:29
CDMA is to be replaced by 3G. The 3G network will ramp up from early 2007 and is planned to replace CDMA in mid 2008 or so Telstra tell me. So I'm hanging onto my realiable yet video, MP3 incapable CDMA handset as all I want to do is make and recieve phone calls....

Mate got a new CDMA with carkit last week from the Telstra Shop...
FollowupID: 453842

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 16:25

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 16:25
Hey Truckster,

If you believe that a contract with a Telco is worth the (many pages of) paper it is written on, you are deceiving yourself.

Ever received a letter from a Telco, a Bank, Insurance company, etc where they say "your line rental/monthly account fee/extra charge for Sol's bonus/etc" will be whateveritisnowplusanobsceneincreasewhichwedon'thavetojustifytoanyone?

FollowupID: 453868

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 16:40

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 16:40
I know all about the planned replacement and as you can see I believe telstra and their timeframes... thus IM going another CDMA phone.

thats the problem Im finding, no telstra shops round here actually HAVE them at all.. bleep in me off!
FollowupID: 453873

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 16:46

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 16:46
There's 100 listed on E-bay at the moment...
FollowupID: 453876

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 20:26

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 20:26
yer T-Man they CAN and WILL cut you off even with a contract, Orange did it to me, theres small print you know, covers them for everything, even if they fart and want to bail out of the contract they have a fart clause. (at least thats what I reckon)

FollowupID: 453932

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 20:54

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 20:54
Telstra do commit to replacing the handset with a 3G without needing a new contract.

(if you get one on a contract today).

I just got one for nix - well $20 a month, but I get $20 of free calls on my home phone for doing it.

I do have a lot - read too much - with Telstra - BigPong broadband, line rental et al.

Andrew.
FollowupID: 453950

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:54

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:54
Piece in the paper last week that Telstra may have some of the 3G network up and running as early as 6th of October - NEXT MONTH. I guess that may be the reason why there is a lack of willingness to stock CDMA handsets.

I look forward to a possible brooadband of sorts by 3G wireless for a replacement for slow dialup
FollowupID: 454067

Reply By: scoof - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:00

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:00
I got a new CDMA phone last week only had 5 phones to pick from.
(Telstra shop)

Was told will be given new phone and contract free when it's shut down 2007-2008
Cheers Scoof

AnswerID: 195708

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:12

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:12
Did you get that in writing :-))
FollowupID: 453831

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:14

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:14
I've heard that too from several sources, Telstra wouldn't be stupid enough to repeat the mistake they made when they turned off the analogue network opening up all those existing customers to the competition, or would they ;-)))))
FollowupID: 453832

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:14

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:14
I agree..
given and free .. from telstra? ffs, they charge you to send you a bill each month!
FollowupID: 453833

Reply By: Nifty1 - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:39

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:39
Truckster, I've been going through the same dramas. I was told that the main Telstra shop in Frankston is the only one in Melb still selling CDMA so jump in there. I tried to phone them but got directed to a Telstra Help number that couldn't help me at all. Let usknow how you go.
AnswerID: 195718

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 22:31

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 22:31
That isnt a good sign then :(
FollowupID: 453978

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 15:47

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 15:47
The Telstra Online shop has three CDMA phones
Site Link

Telstra isn't keeping phones in shops because they don't want to promote them.

The LG TD6100 can do Data at 14400bps and has camera.
AnswerID: 195732

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 22:28

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 22:28
was hoping to not get a flip phone .. had nightmares with 2 work ones in past, but aint lookin like much choice.
FollowupID: 453976

Reply By: Lyds- Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 15:59

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 15:59
in Sydney, I found fonezone helpful. and telstra not.
AnswerID: 195737

Reply By: Ray Bates - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 18:30

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 18:30
My wife and I each have a Telstra prepaid CDMA. When we have used up all the money on them, which incedently only lasts for two months instead of the previous six months we ar going to use our old 3810 GSM phones with Virgin. The 3810 is a no gimicks phone. No camera, MP3 player or what. Well may be I don't have the range of a CDMA phone but Virgin give me six months on my card not two as with Telstra.
I gave Telstra the flick some months ago for land line services. Although I have to pay $33.50 for land line fees (Telstra's idea which has been chalenged with the CCC) I am more than satisfied with my presant provider. If it wasn't for my PC I would have the fixed line disconnected.
When they (the powers that be) and sack Sol I wonder what his payout will be?????
AnswerID: 195770

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 18:43

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 18:43
If you don't have coverage a mobile phone is a heap of junk.

I'll stick with my CDMA on a $5 a month plan and my Telstra GSM. When in the bush I _always_ have better coverage than people on other networks.

FollowupID: 453902

Reply By: Darian (SA) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 19:04

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 19:04
Look - if we are going to bag someone, we should get him right - "Solomon Trujillo" (tru-hee-oh)............

Me ? I hate him !...... what with CDMA being phased out in a year or so - its been great service - reliable - good coverage - got a good phone (Kyocera 3245) - and he has to go and spoil it all.
AnswerID: 195774

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 20:27

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 20:27
U mean Mr Devalue the asset so an American mob can buy it out at bugger all?

FollowupID: 453933

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 22:30

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 22:30
I have 3x 3245's ... 2 are bleep ed, you cant get parts for them, havent been able to for over 18mths.
I have the incar kit with it, thats why I went another and another..

this time I'll go blue fang with the secret agents kit in ya ear.
FollowupID: 453977

Follow Up By: Redeye - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 06:22

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 06:22
Daren,

You have to look at the owner of the 51% of Telstra shares that put him there.

Maybe it is part their error.... They will deny all and blame the board who are also put there by the share holders.

Redeye
FollowupID: 454017

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 11:53

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 11:53
Phase out of CDMA predates my Traheeo.

FollowupID: 454081

Follow Up By: Oznuggets - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 12:29

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 12:29
The decision is plain dumb and purely a political one because Erricson supply most of there other gear and the new 3G but Nortel supply CDMA, I wonder who is getting the backhander? Not the customer thats for sure, I disconnected my fixed line in protest! Peter
FollowupID: 454312

Reply By: Steve - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 20:26

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 20:26
when my mobile came up for renewal, i stuck to my old phone. They tried to flog me a new one because if you're contracted to them with a CDMA at the time of the changeover, they have to supply a new phone.
AnswerID: 195790

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 20:35

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 20:35
They have to?? They don't if they don't want to.

However, pretty well all phones are "free" anyway, you just have to take a 12 month plan.

My Orange CDMA was moved to 3 on a $29 plan for 12 months and the Nokia 6280 was supplied "free". My previous phone, a Kyocera Slider was also "free" - it cost me $14 per month for 24 months but they gave a $14 credit to the account every month. When the $14 credit stopped (24mths expired) the plan was still $29, so I figured I might as well have the new phone for the same money.

If that all means it's free, thn I have a free phone - phew, obviously they make their billions from the call rates.
FollowupID: 453936

Reply By: Steve - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 21:03

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 21:03
I think you're right. they don't have to, but with all the competition about, they feel they have to.

AnswerID: 195796

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 21:18

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 21:18
Truckster
Have you tried that Crazy John at Broadmeadows ....if he is still there ,probably get confronted with more morons though, you think like i do about phones , Phones are Phones, I got a good Camera, and I play my music on the car radio....Oh yeh and viabrators are viabrators and how vome you know so much about Vibrators....and like you I don't want all the other crap either

AnswerID: 195803

Reply By: rolande- Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 13:07

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 13:07
Truckster,

May be of liitle value to you but on one of your next club trips, drop into a country phone shop. They still know where their revenue comes from and will generally still stock CDMA regardless of all the crap going on in the city.

Got mine in Mildura, (Telstra shop), and they had heaps in the back room waiting to go,

Rolande
AnswerID: 195945