Wheel Bearings

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 17:27
ThreadID: 37915 Views:2764 Replies:7 FollowUps:12
Gday All, I'm about to replace my front wheel bearings just wondering what brand of bearings are worth getting, should I stay with Toyota or are there equivalents out there at half the price.

If the old ones aren't in too bad a nick I was going to keep them as emergency spares any thoughts on this.

Al

Reply By: Mazdan - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 17:31

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 17:31
Bearings should last a long time on a truck so u will probably forget where they are by the time u might need to use them.

Bearings are also very cheap so I personally wouldnt be worrying about the 2 bucks ur gunna save for after market.

Most important thing though is not to skim,p on the grease............get good quality and also make sure u pack them properly and seat them correctly.

Dont forget the seals.
AnswerID: 195761

Reply By: Ray Bates - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 17:58

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 17:58
Do not overgrease or they could overheat
AnswerID: 195766

Follow Up By: V8 Troopie - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 20:38

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 20:38
Now I'm curious how wheelbearings can be 'overgreased'.
I always pack them by hand until I can no longer fit any more grease into the race between the bearing balls. I also smear a light coat of grease all over the inside of the hub and the axle stub. Further, a coating on the seal before installing it.
Am I doing it right?
Klaus
FollowupID: 453938

Follow Up By: V8 Troopie - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 20:39

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 20:39
OK, I meant 'rollers' not balls since these are roller bearings.
FollowupID: 453939

Follow Up By: ACDC - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 22:01

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 22:01
I'm intrigued!
How does overgreasing causing overheating?
FollowupID: 453962

Follow Up By: Ray Bates - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:28

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:28
When packing bearings if there is too much grease and the excess cannot get out they will overheat. Ask Timken
FollowupID: 454037

Follow Up By: kev.h - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 09:03

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 09:03
What causes the heat build-up from excess grease is the balls/rollers cannot rotate freely and therefore skid causing friction = heat, then due to the small clearance in the bearings as the balls/rollers and races heat and expand it makes the clearance even smaller the end result is metal to metal contact and goodby bearings. I have seen bearings fail after 5 minutes of service
We are very particular with packing bearings 1/3 full of grease max.
Check how much grease is in the bearings when you take them out -my guess 3 to 5 % of the free space and would have been like for the lase 50,000 klms you do not need a lot of grease in the bearing itself .
Regards Kev
FollowupID: 454043

Follow Up By: blown4by - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 19:43

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 19:43
V8 Troopie you are doing it spot on mate. What causes the overheating is not how much grease you put in the actual bearings themselves but filling the airspace between the bearings choc-a-block with grease so that when it all warms up the grease expands and having nowhere to go the grease churning around on iteself causes friction and in turn heat build up. What usually happens then is that it expands so much that it pushes the now fairly liquid grease past the seals and it then proceeds to cover the brake rotors or brake drums as the case may be. If it were critical not to fill the bearing cones with grease then the bearing manufacturers would not market bearing filling tools that save doing the job by hand and actually do fill the bearing. Also what about bearings that run in oil, they are filled. The correct way to hand pack a tapered roller bearing is to push the grease with the heel of your palm into the bearing cone from the curved side of the roller cage until it comes out between the rollers on the opposite side and continue this unti the full 360 degrees is full. Common sense will tell you that on the first rotation of the bearing the roller path will push the grease where it wants it end of story. The only exception to filling the chamber is on boat trailers where the bearings are regularly submerged in salt water and then only if the trailer is to be towed short distances so insufficient heat is built up to cause a problem. The theory being if the hub is full of grease then water cant get in.
FollowupID: 454185

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 21:37

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 21:37
Timken would be a good choice, as someone else said that over grease will cause heat well so will over tight , after you get it all back together and before you lock nut on give the tyre a couple of good whacks with a heavy hammer or an axe [ blunt end of course ...] and that seats them in and you might just get an turn on the main nut.

" target="EOF" class="lbg">www.timken.com/

AnswerID: 195809

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 22:04

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 22:04
Doug?, what is it with truckies and axes?. My neighbour spent half last weekend repairing a spring hanger on a ford louisville. His main weapons were a crow bar & blunt end of a axe!!. Ha HA. Agree, timken are good been there since dot one. Get what you pay for.!

FollowupID: 453963

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 22:09

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 22:09
Axle
what better tool than an axe for a Ford Louisville

FollowupID: 453967

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 22:13

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 22:13
HA HA HA HA HA, You said it not me!.
FollowupID: 453970

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 22:30

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 22:30
I bought spares from Terrain Tamer (Don Kyatt) and they are Timkin - same brand that was in there already. Very cheap - about $35-40 for the kit from memory.
AnswerID: 195817

Reply By: davros_who - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:08

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:08
I do all the servicing and repairs to my vehicles. I am not a mechanic, but my brother has been a diesel mech for thirty years. He helps me out from time to time. Last time I replaced bearings he was very particular in his instructions for assembly. Grease.... best quality you can get hold of. Grease crack pressure is very important. It should be printed on the cartridge.

You need to tourque up the assembly to "crack" pressure so that the bearings seat properly, and then back them off a touch. Grease that hasen't been "cracked" or squeezed from the mating surfaces is the quickest way to chew out a new set, as they aren't seated properly. That's what I did with them over 100 clicks ago, and all is well.
As far as bearings go, I have been told that anything Jap is good.
AnswerID: 195913

Follow Up By: DiesAl - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 15:48

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 15:48
Davros_who, looked for the crack pressure on the tub of HTB grease and couldn't find anything but the gregory's manual specified a torque of 59lb then spin the wheels a bit then back off and re-torque to 25lb.

Al
FollowupID: 454693

Reply By: DiesAl - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 12:29

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 12:29
Thanks all, as helpful as ever.

Al
AnswerID: 195938

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 13:47

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 13:47
G'day Al
You still Brissie based? If so go to Sunshine State 4WD at Archerfield and get their kits - contain all you need. Usually you'll need to replace the seals because taking the bearing out can often damage them. Should replace them occassionally anyway - they keep all the good stuff in and the bad out. Also the purple grease SS have is excellent. Have been using it for years and never had a problem. Never heard about the over greasing issue. Have always packed them full. Any excess must be able to dissipate in a Toyota. Are you doing all the bearings, including the little ones in the swivel hub? If so allow plenty of time - it's a time consuming job.
Say g'day to your parents. How are they going?
Cheers from the Moose.
FollowupID: 454103

Follow Up By: DiesAl - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 15:40

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 15:40
Gday Moose, haven't see you around here for a while. Sorted the bearings out over the weekend, also did a mate's as well. Mum and Dad are fine they've just got back from a trip up to Rocky and stopped off for a few days fishing at Inskip on the way back.
FollowupID: 454691

Reply By: blown4by - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 19:52

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 19:52
Don't worry about buying the bearings from Tojo, they will only be made by a bearing manufacturer anyway and put in a Tojo box and marked up 500% probably. Any reputable bearing supplier will sell you good quality bearings and don't pay full retail or youre getting ripped off. Yes Timken are excellent, they invented the tapered roller bearing, but so are Koyo, NSK, Nachi, FAG, SKF, etc.
AnswerID: 196005