Things I've learned about satphone posts.

Submitted: Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 01:05
ThreadID: 37928 Views:2479 Replies:4 FollowUps:7
1. Everyone seems to have different experiences
2 Some differences appear to be with handsets
3 Some differences appear to be a geographical thing
4 At least one service provider isn't making everyone happy
5 Some customers of that provider are quite happy
6 Some forum contributers are a full bottle on current satellite deployment
7 After thinking about all the posts, I'm still no closer to a definative answer to exactly what the current state of play from a 4wders point of view is.
8 A lot of kind and well informed people posted about their experiences..thank you all.
9..ah hem. Won't mention the negatives. Anyway I should know better by now :))

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 01:13

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 01:13
Hahahaha keep stirring the pot Footy. It'll be another point of reference if/when some of us decide to take the plunge :))))
AnswerID: 195855

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 01:19

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 01:19
Geez, a bloke puts his heart and soul into a post and still gets into strife for it. There's no justice :)))))))))
FollowupID: 454009

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 01:28

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 01:28

It's good stuff mate. Thanks for your efforts and those of the other posters. IMHO it's very helpful to hear the varied points of view and experiences rather than a lot of sales bull bleep ... ooops :))))))
FollowupID: 454011

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 01:33

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 01:33
Thanks mate, I try and tell it how it is.
"The truth is out there, agent Mouldy."
FollowupID: 454012

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 09:05

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 09:05
You could almost say the same thing about Nissans.....LOL
AnswerID: 195902

Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:42

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:42
Let alone bl**dy fridges!

:-)) Max
FollowupID: 454061

Reply By: The Landy - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 09:12

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 09:12
After selling my previous Landy with the HF in it, I'm starting to think I should get another one given the problems some are experiencing with the Satphone.

I have the Ericcson R290 which has served us fairly well and I am connected to Globalstar via Vodafone (hang-over from when they owned it) at $10 per month.

But, when you need it you want the system to work for you.........
AnswerID: 195904

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:47

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:47
Bit like Landies, Landy???
FollowupID: 454064

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 11:04

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 11:04
??

Landies always work when you need them...........
FollowupID: 454071

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 16:10

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 16:10
You left the HF in the landy when you sold it??? That would have been the first thing that I would have taken out.

Stu
FollowupID: 454151

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:38

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:38
Gday Footie

I'll have a bite and chew

I rarely have had my satphone drop out (Qualcom/globalstar) and have an epirb as well. Main reason is portability - can take either or both in boat or 4wd, or walk. HF radio's don't offer that. Just my situation...(I also have a Nissan, a Waeco, and support a Victorian AFL team, so I have left myself wide open)

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 196029