REALLY... CAN IT GET ANY BETTER.....

Submitted: Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 01:29
ThreadID: 37929 Views:3370 Replies:12 FollowUps:19
Hi all here's the story for the day..

Really, what next...

So last week Mark is rushed to hospital on wednesday, on thursday he takes a turn.. hence time off work and me time off work to watch out for him without pay.

Now we did get a great weekend of camping, company and 4wding, that is a positive...

Battery light comes on again, nothing but dramas with this new battery, Paj sounds like it is dying, isn't turning over quick and all interior dash lights extremely dim. Of course! have to buy a new battery on the week we both had to have time off work! Murphys Law!!!

Then tonight as I drive to a friends house I am on Tamborine Oxenford Rd at Upper Coomera, I have pulled off to the side of the road to double check the refedex.
With my headlights and hazard lights on, and my head stuck in the refedex (and windows up and doors locked because I am on a dark street in an unknown area) I am minding my own business checking the streets when all of sudden I hear a CRASH and my vehicle is bouncing on the suspension. I have no idea what has just happened, I thought 'lucky I have locked the doors cause someone is trying to get me' until through the corner of my eye I see a white car wedged into my 4wd on the front drivers side straight into where the wheel is.
Reality has hit that I have just been slammed by another car!
*first reaction* - hitting steering wheel yelling F#ck, F#uck, F#ck while my head is instantly thinking 'Mark oh my God, this isn't even my fault and he is going to go off his nut!'

*second reaction* I see a guy get out of the car, he hears me swearing and I hear him say 'I am so sorry I don't know what happened'

*third reaction* In an instant moment time is suspended and I recall back to when I rear ended a lady in the panel van (which was due to her carelessness), but none the less I instantly think to how I felt, how I shaked, how I was scared and how my heart was pounding.

*fourth reaction* snap back to reality and see the guy walking to my window and instantly knowing exactly how he is feeling, that this is not a time to rant and rave. Knowing exactly how I felt, I just had an overflow of compassion for this man and for what he is feeling.

*fifth reaction* have a look at how my steering wheel is turned, have another look at the position of his car in my wheel and think 'heck I have just spent another $1800.00 last week getting the rest of the front and back suspension finished, new brakes etc, I have a car in my wheel, I cannot drive it, tow trucks, we only have this car, we can't be without a car.....

I get out of the car (with a cigarette of course!) and get my mind onto seeing if he is alright.
He was not injured at all, but as you would imagine severly shaken up. All I could do was comfort him, tell him look it is ok they are just cars, take a breath, just calm yourself down, it is all ok, I knew exactly what he was feeling and I was not going to make him feel any worse.
Vehicles saw the accident, no one stopped to help. Another vehicle driving up the road saw us on the road (and had to slow down because his car was half in the middle of the road) got out to check if all was ok. They pushed his car back so I could roll mine backwards to seperate the cars and get his off to the side of the road.
I asked him, what had happened? He said ' I don't know, one minute I am driving and the next minute the motor stops, all lights go out, I have no brakes and no control of the power steering and I hit you. (He was travelling towards me but obviously on the other side of the road about 60-70km p/h) We tried to start his car, battery completely dead.
He is just in shock, couldn't apologise enough and bewildered as to what has just happened.(and scared because it is his wifes car, she has gone away for the weekend, 'I have never had an accident in my life and I nearly never drive the wifes car).
I just kept telling him it is ok, don't stress, I am not angry.
I walk back to my car and I am thinking, ' God out of the how many kilometres stretch of road this is Why, Why did I stop right here and get hit, why didn't I stop elsewhere. I haveenough going on without this too?'
Then instantly the light bulb glowed, I looked to my left and if my vehicle wasn't there to stop him he would've travelled the few metres off the side of the road, right through the fence that within a few feet of the fence was a house and a bedroom window with the light on.

Change of opinion....

Thankyou God that of how many kilometres stretch of road this is that if my vehicle was 4 metres forward or 2 metres backwards he would of went straight into the fence and through the bedroom window.
It is just a car, it could have been his life and the life of whoever was in that bedroom.

We exchanged details, I stayed with him until his son arrived, tried to comfort him in the fact of what I just wrote above and told him again to don't be sorry, just be thankful.

And never ever complain about 4wds being on our roads because mine just saved your life!.

Damage to my toy.. (well he did hit the side of the bullbar but no damage --- damn I could've got a new one ready for a winch!) front drivers side rim scratched up to bits, wheel flare over arch and down the side of the quarter panel half pulled away from panel and scrapped up, wheel alignment hugely thrown out (as you'd expect getting it at 60-70km per hour.) Don't yet know if any damaged done to any of the suspension work that has just been done. The car is drivable but wants to consistantly drive to the left not straight.

His car? Well being the size of something like a ford fiesta, driving head on into a solid 93 Pajero..lets just say you'll know who came off worst!

Jo

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 01:51

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 01:51
Jo, I just wish there were more drivers with your attitude on our roads. I'm so pleased that that nobody was seriously injured.

Some cars tend to travel too close to my tow bar. I now call it my rear end lovers deterrent. Out of two destroyed car front ends I have 1 small scratch on the rear bumper.
AnswerID: 195859

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 02:00

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 02:00
Glad to hear no one was hurt. I'm with you on the first reaction but then we diverge somewhat :)))))
AnswerID: 195862

Reply By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 02:18

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 02:18
Thanks for the kind words guys. I understand what you mean Gramps but I couldn't of been angry and raving....
He was just so devasted at what had happened, it wasn't his fault and he just couldn't stop apologising, it was really sad to see him so upset like he was but because I had felt exactly that when I had my prang all I could do was just comfort and console him and try to make him see the bigger picture of what would of happened if I wasn't parked there. It just was so not in me to be nasty, I did my very best to make him feel better. I rang him later in the evening because I got his details but forgot his rego number, again he was apologising and again I just kept saying to him it is ok, better my car than your life and someone elses etc etc. He says to me (bless his heart) 'I just can't believe how understanding and nice you are being about this', 'Mate... I've been there done that and no way am I going to make you feel like a heel'.. But it just made me feel really good that I didn't fly off the handle and was able to make an extremely unpleasant experience for him into something a bit lighter and looking at the positive in it rather than all the negatives. That is what was given to me when I did the panel van and that made it all the more easier to deal with.

Jo
AnswerID: 195863

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:09

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:09
Nice one, Jo. Glad you can still see the positives with all that you guys are going through at the moment.

Best wishes for Mark.
AnswerID: 195883

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 11:03

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 11:03
Cheers John! I have to ask because I have forgotten already, what was your wife's name again?
FollowupID: 454070

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 16:40

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 16:40
Adele ;-)
FollowupID: 454154

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:47

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:47
Knowing you personally Jo, none of what you did and how you handled that situation surprises me, that's why it's alway a real pleasure being in your company, reckon Mark picked a goodn. lol.
I think the Idol/groupie situation has just been reversed mate, big time !
Am glad nobody was hurt, panels can be repaired.
Unfortunately, I think it's the last thing you two needed.

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 195895

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:47

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:47
Hey texter...

see those nice comments, that is why we all love Perry!!!!!!!!!

O yeh, so I ad to tell Mark of course..

I got home around 11pm, thought it best to wake him up and tell him now not in the morning...

First reaction.... what damage is done to the car?

10minutes later Jo's reaction..... "Oh it's ok honey I am fine I am not hurt thanks for asking!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

Jo
FollowupID: 454065

Reply By: pauljohnston - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 09:12

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 09:12
Hi Jo,
If I remember right, you had to put a new battery in your car at Fraser last year? If this is correct then your car seems to be vary hard on batteries. I would have an auto electrician check it out.

Glad your OK.

PJ.
AnswerID: 195905

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:43

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:43
Hi Paul! geez I haven't seen you around for ages!

Well on the battery thing... Mark was driving to work this morning and the car stopped! luckily he made it to our mechanic, Paul checked it over rah rah and it turns out it is the alternator. Which doesn't suprise me because earlier in the year we had to get a new starter motor, and isn't it normal the rule that two things that work together when one is replaced with new the old will eventually die!
he headed down to our auto electrician, and thank God that with the warranty we have with the vehicle the new alternator was $275 and we don't have to pay one cent! Mark is leaving there now.
But on saying that, of course now he has just lost out on a days pay, gotta get some money off dear old dad to accomodate the extra fuel now for having to take the car to the assessor on monday and then you have a screwed up pay week especially when I have not worked this week with work being quiet.
O well, that is about it in the 3's hey!!!!!!

Jo
FollowupID: 454062

Reply By: Robin - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 09:25

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 09:25
Great Story Jo

Isn't it amazing how in those times you can forget something as simple as a Rego Number.

AnswerID: 195908

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 04:10

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 04:10
and I forgot to write down what sort of car it was!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

He wrote his details down- name, address, phone number and forgot the rest!!!!

Jo
FollowupID: 454252

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:40

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:40
Hey Jo

That story would be great if it was just the prang. But after the couple of less than brilliant weeks you and Mark have had, your reaction puts you in saint class. I hope your life turns around and you get a run of good things happen - but what ever, to think of the other bloke's needs in a prang where you were totally innocent marks you as a great person. Congrats.

Max
AnswerID: 195924

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 11:00

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 11:00
Thanks Max that is really sweet of you.

And I am sure as you'd all know, I didn't write it at all for a hey look how I handled it thing...Was just the way the circumstances took place you know and was definately worth a post on the forum for story of the day!

The gentleman (he was in his 50's I'd say) rang me this morning before he headed to Canberra to face his wife, again he just couldn't stop apologising but said that he'd really been thinking about what I said if my vehicle wasn't there and that even though it was and is certainly an unpleasant experience for him, now that he has had time to think he see's now why I was parked where I was and is grateful that I was there to stop him.

The good ol' Paj.... she comes through everytime!!!!!!!!!!!

Jo
FollowupID: 454069

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:38

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:38
I love happy endings, so I hope all your other problems get better quickly. A bit of humour if I may ? Did you sneak up the stairs in the dark with your shoes in your hands when you got home ? No ?
Never worked for me either :))))
AnswerID: 195964

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 16:01

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 16:01
Mark....wake up...
Mark wake up... I need you to wake up....

what...

when I was out, I ws pulled to the side of the road and a guy lost control of his car and hit me..

his eyes roll
....f#^k... (long drawn out saying it in a mumbly breath!!!!!!)
FollowupID: 454147

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 16:09

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 16:09
I hope that was followed with "are you Ok ?" and not "how's the car?" If not, he's got a LOTTA brownie points to accumulate...vewwwy slowly.
FollowupID: 454150

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 16:17

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 16:17
scroll up and look at my follow up on Perrys post I think it is!
FollowupID: 454153

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 17:15

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 17:15
Oh oh ! Now he's done it ! :))
FollowupID: 454158

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 04:06

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 04:06
I showed Mark your post Footloose and he says to me..

'well I didn't ask you how you were because you were here right in front of me, I could see you were ok'...

his hole suddenly got 6 foot deeper!!!!!!!!!!!!

It is all about priorites, Car, wife, remote control, dinner on table.......
FollowupID: 454250

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 09:25

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 09:25
2X son's, Bike, car, EO, bike, remote, bike, dinner, scratch/adjust, bike, dog.........I think there's something missing, just can't put my finger on it..........:-)))

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 454276

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 10:33

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 10:33
Mark was having a good ol laugh before..." geez I'm in the dog house now with everyone!!!! but you didn't tell them all I was still half asleep!!!"

Jo
FollowupID: 454290

Reply By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:51

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:51
Hi Jo, Iv'e got to agree with the others on your attitude considering what else is going on. 10 points, mate.
AnswerID: 195969

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 04:09

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 04:09
We are really going to have to work on getting down to see you guys soon, before we know it, it will be christmas!!!!!

Jo
FollowupID: 454251

Reply By: Big Woody - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 05:50

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 05:50
Hi Jo & Mark,

Sorry to hear you guys have been hit with a couple more punches right when you didn't need them.
I know that repairs can take weeks at the moment so if you guys get stuck without your Pajero for a while and you desperately need transport, you are welcome to have my 80 Series for as long as you need it.
I am lucky enough to get a work vehicle with my job and we also have a small Laser for Julie to drive so most of the time my Landcruiser is just sitting here.
I know I am a bit far away in Bundaberg but I need to do a run to the Gold Coast shortly anyway so I could bring it down for you and just get dropped off at the airport.
I have been where you guys are and I understand.
I will also have a chat with the bloke upstairs to see if he can arrange for the punches to stop too.

regards,
Brett
AnswerID: 196080

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 09:05

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 09:05
Wow Brett that is so generous of you!!!!!!!!
But look at the rate we are getting hammered at the moment and you'd hand over your beloved keys!!!!!
I have to go to the assessor on Monday morning, I reckon they will send me to the same panel shop we have been to once before, they were fantastic! and I know he would do the job in a day. Then it would have to go to a mechanic (would be nice if they would use my mechanic but I assume they will use their 'recommended repairer') and it should only be needed there for one day. Something like that I could drop Mark at work go to the repairers, hang around and then drive off. That is the way I see that plan in my head anyway!!!!! They will make sure it is done asap, so I am expecting that it will be done by the end of this week or the following.
I'll send you an email!

Jo
FollowupID: 454270

Follow Up By: Big Woody - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 15:54

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 15:54
Hi Jo,

I have just replied to your email.

Brett
FollowupID: 454328

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 08:51

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 08:51
ROFL ........ Jo very pleased you ok ..... just so happens wife read the story and his response and all my wife said ...was... typical male.. sounds like something you would say ............... somehow I think i'm in the sh&t and I just read the story LOL.

Hope all sorts out soon
AnswerID: 196094

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 08:55

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 08:55
Ohhhhhhhh that's funny Brian!!!!!!!!!
maybe you should accrue under your belt some brownie points credits!!!!!!!!!

Jo
FollowupID: 454268

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 12:03

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 12:03
Brownie points .................yes I remember them used to be very handy .........................BUT why I will never know? ........... ever sinse I forgot her birthday and our anniversary in the same year I cannot seem to get any credits ..the best it seems is walking a few steps to the next pile i'm about to drop into :):):)

FollowupID: 454306

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 12:07

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 12:07
then you'll need even more points because the next pile you are about to drop into she will be doing the washing of the clothes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 454308