ended up with a webber

Submitted: Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 14:46
ThreadID: 37942 Views:2797 Replies:6 FollowUps:9
I posted a while back asking for your musings on chainsaw or stove, well we ended up with a webber "baby q" and I have to say it's bloody unreal!

I've done a roast beef that melted in your mouth, steak as good as brekky creek and the acid test, a packet cake that came out perfect. Only time it has struggled was with a huge amount of roast veg (just took a bit longer)

Easy to use, easy to clean, two thumbs up.

Cackles

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:09

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:09
Gday Cackles
I have been using one for five years now and have had some good feeds in lots of different places..Lots of people are surprised when the dinner is on and it smells so good.and all that smell from such a small black box..,roast lamb ,,,roast pork..

My brother and i had a roast on top of Blue Rag last January and was it just good.

Enjoy the little cooker..

AnswerID: 195959

Follow Up By: cackles - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:19

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:19
Hey Muz,
I am a bit of a gourmet so will definately enjoy it, as for interest you bet I have been voted camp cook which gets me out of washing up so win win!

cack
FollowupID: 454125

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:32

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:32
I do the evening meals when we are away, and he dose breakfast...we eat straight out of the foil container that the dinner is cooked in so it won't get cold to quick..But if we have guests, we use plates, so to the washing up ..that is done with paper towels and then hot water and soap stuff.

FollowupID: 454133

Reply By: Muzzgit - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:47

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:47
Absolutely. Jacqui bought me one at last years 4WD show and it is a ripper. First time we used it I didn't use enough heat beads and the roast was far too big.

After me nearly being garrotted by all and sundry, we sorted it out and have had several good meals from it.
AnswerID: 195967

Follow Up By: cackles - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:53

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:53
good to hear you're happy with it Muzz although ours is the gas type, a bit bulkier but the MOTH didn't want to buggarise with heat beads.

cack
FollowupID: 454143

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 16:06

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 16:06
Hi there Cackles, yes we have been using one for the last 4 years and its bloody great, our isnt the gas type but still great, cooks the roast beautiful and wack the potatos and pumpkin round the sides then whack th corn in for the last 15 minutes,mmm people dont believe us when we tell them we are having baked dinners in the scrub, best thing its so versatile as mentioned above and your not standing over a hot plate at 35/40 degress. Hanging for next week when we go away again and fire up the webber and enjoy the piece and quite. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 195971

Reply By: Larry01 - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 16:46

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 16:46
What type of weber are we talking about here the little rectengular one or the actual kettle type
AnswerID: 195973

Follow Up By: ozdragon - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:24

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:24
A Webber Baby Q is gas powered.

FollowupID: 454203

Follow Up By: cackles - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:39

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:39
Hey Larry,

I just put a pic in my rig pics, it's like a mini hooded bbq

cack
FollowupID: 454207

Follow Up By: dj Patrol - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 12:13

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 12:13
Looks great Sounds great The size looks big so how big is it can you tell us to save me a trip first.
dj patrol
FollowupID: 454309

Follow Up By: cackles - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 14:41

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 14:41
Hi DJ,

the dimensions are ht 37cm or 57 lid open X 69w X 41d with a cooking area of 1200cm2, this is the smallest but you can get em bigger though if thats what you need.

cack
FollowupID: 454320

Follow Up By: dj Patrol - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 23:06

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 23:06
Thanks Cackles I will go hav a look for one they look the go gas one will do me ,

thanks again dj patrol
FollowupID: 454393

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 13:06

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 13:06
Well Cackles
I got all that wrong,mine is a little box as big as two or three shoe boxes., but the cooking is good . I have the technology to convert mine to gas , but haven't made the time.I might just ask my big bro to come and do the job.
Lets have a roast on the side of the road sometime, ill bring my little roaster and you bring yours and we can feed the multitudes..no fish or bread rolls,,

AnswerID: 196612

Follow Up By: cackles - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 16:01

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 16:01
can you turn water into wine though? cause thats the important one, hehehe
FollowupID: 454964

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 07:11

Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 07:11
I can turn left into a bottle shop drive through with the greatest of ease,like greased lightning,the speed of a startled gazelle. and all other sayings that pertain to speed.
I can even drive over a median strip in the rite conditions.

AnswerID: 196741