Back from Holland Track
Submitted: Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 19:16
nissnut
Hi all, Uddy and anyone interested, the track is in good condition [thankyou to the Toyota LC Club] and many thanks to all members of this
forum for your advise, it was spot on. There were several bogs along the way which were negotiated easily in 2wd, except the last one near
Victoria Rock which caught me unaware. My MK bellied and left all
wheels treading
water. Mate snatched me out with his Tojo 80 but before you Tojo guys start, I must remind you he spent the whole trip chicken tracking. The track was narrow and winding in a lot of
places, I lost a mirror and half an elbow. Sandlewood Rock has some lovely
camp sites with formed fire pits and plenty of small timber lying around. The missus had a couple of moans at me about putting down my tinnie and helping with cooking and cleaning so I left the tent door open at nights in the hope a
dingo would run off with her, no such luck. That brings me to a question if someone can answer; we saw very little wildlife. 4 days on the track and all we came across was a couple of thorny devils which didnt even hang around to be photographed. Where have they all gone? Anyway a very pleasant trip had. The track was easy and
well posted, however, because of its remoteness it was and is still necessary to carry plenty of
water, fuel and spares. It was nice to come back home to a lounge and a telly but within 24 hrs I am already poking through old 4x4 mags planning our next trip. Ive got the BUG............nissnut
Reply By: Willem - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 19:37
Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 19:37
Good to hear that you had a great time on the track.
I can relate to losing half an an elbow as recently a twig came through the open window and went up my nostril giving me a blood nose.
Wildlife normally likes open areas and as the
Holland Track is heavily wooded in
places they might shy away from there.
You probably encountered a Bearded Dragon as Thorny Devils are mostly found in desert areas near the tropics. They are also very slow moving and may be photographed at leisure.
Where to next? I am looking at that one too :-)
Reply By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 20:31
Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 20:31
G'dat Nissnut . Can you tell me , are the burnt out starting to regenerate ? Errol
Follow Up By: nissnut - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 23:03
Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 23:03
Yes mate, theres still large areas blackened and dead, almost ghost like to drive through but nature being what it is, regrowth is
well under way.
Reply By: mike w (WA) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 20:33
Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 20:33
Glad you enjoyed the track. Its been several years since Ive been on the Holland, however when I was there
easter 2004, a very large fire had just been through, so perhaps the wildlife is still recovering??
Im hoping to get out there next
easter for a run, so ill keep an eye out for your 'lost' mirror and elbow LOL :)
Cheers, and hope the next run is as enjoyable and you get out there soon (whereas my next run will be
easter next year :( )
Reply By: Member - Jack - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 22:03
Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 22:03
Well done!!
I tried the
Holland track earlier this year ... single vehicle ... and about 40km in, whilst skirting around a fallen tree, drove into a (cunningly disguised) swamp. I was able to eventually dig my way out and carry on, but the track was so overgrown and I was taking a lot of hits on a fairly highly laden roof rack that I gave up and headed back to
Victoria Rock for the night.
When we (wife and I) eventually make it to Hyden/
Wave Rock, I was surprised to see that is stated not to travel the track alone. I had earlier tried to get track info at Kalgoorlie,
Coolgardie, Police, Council, etc etc .. and could get NO info at all.
But, it was fun for a while. Next time I am up that way I will do it, but in company with another vehicle or two.
You did
well.
jack
Follow Up By: nissnut - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 23:41
Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 23:41
Hey Jack, yep gear on the roof rack copped a few hits but a quick rearrange fixed most of that. I wouldnt hesitate taking a single vehicle in, however, another vehicle provides good insurance safety wise. As far as track info, I relied mostly on advice given by members on this
forum. The main thing to be wary of would be heavy rain in the area. I reckon a few of them bogs would be hard yakka straight after a rain so keeping an eye on weather reports before heading off is a must. Hope thats of some help Jack.............nissnut
Reply By: Uppy - Member - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 11:16
Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 11:16
Thanks for the information,glad you had a good trip.Is there anywhere you can go for a swim,Ive got 3 boys
regards Uppy
Follow Up By: nissnut - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 13:06
Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 13:06
Sorry mate, didnt come across anything bigger than a puddle on the various
granite outcrops. I think this will probably dry up over a few good days. Kids would quite likely get bored. Suggest taking along a few games etc............have a good one.............nissnut
Reply By: JAS095 - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 22:30
Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 22:30
hi there we planing a trip next
easter what sites did you
camp at
Follow Up By: nissnut - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 23:21
Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 23:21
Hi JAS, we went in from the
Hyden end about 5.30pm which I admit was far too late but set up
camp 3km in and awaited a mate who arrived at 9pm. the initial few kms is very dense and the odd
clearing can be found [sandy]. our next
camp site was about 1km off the track at Sandlewood Rock. This area is more suited to
camping as the trees are a bit taller and the surrounds a little more open and interesting. The 3rd night was spent about 12km west of
Thursday Rock, again sandy with larger more established forest. There were plenty of other sites along the way but if we camped at every one we would still be out there. My only regret is that we didnt do the
Cave hill/ Woodlines trip. According to most this is the best part of the whole area. But work commitments didnt allow me the time. Plan to do this part in a few weeks...........nissnut.