For Roachie - the V8 Nissan report,,,,

Submitted: Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:23
ThreadID: 37956 Views:3472 Replies:9 FollowUps:11
To Roachie and ayone else that's interested,

The Nissan V8 goes well. Thirsty but well! Believe it or not it's not as quick as a my old 100 series TD Cruiser but it certainly pulls heaps better down low in the rev ban with tonnes of torque delivered from tickover. I'm getting between 6.24 kms per litre (16.03 litres per 100 kms) to 5.54 kms per litre (18.04 litres per 100 km), fully loaded in the back and towing a 2 tonne van on the bitumen and in the bush. The variation is caused by how hard I push it and I often tow the van at 100 kms or more when in a hurry. Around town and not towing I reckon it's doing slighlty better. But it doesn't seem to matter much whether it's towing or on it's own. I've never really tested it around town as I'm out bush most of the time at this time of year. But it's only done about 7000 kms with this engine in it and it is getting free up more every day so I miaght get better mileage after about 20,000 kms.

I'm saving a fortune on servicing costs. Toyotas want diamonds to service a 'Cruiser, but the Chevnissan is a far simpler beast and I'm now back doing my own servicing.

It's an amazing truck to drive in the bush even with off road van behind it. It just glides through those deep snady creek swales that can sometimes cause a stall in mid creek. And that's from tickover to a mild blip on the throttle to get up the other side. It's by far the best bush truck I've ever had, but I do miss that turbo 'Cruiser on the bitumen. The Nissan is not as comfortable as the 100 series 'Cruiser, but then again the 'Cruiser had only done 100,000 kms when it was stolen and this Nissan chassis had done 270,000 kms when I bought it for the conversion. Plus the suspension on the Nissan was deliberately firmed up for hard bush work.

It's also NOISIER!!!!!! The noisiest truck I've ever driven and that includes semis, 8 wheelers, bobcats and loaders. I'm gonna have to install some serious soundproofing onto it as it's driving me mad. At 100 kms towing the van it must be like going up in the flamin' space shuttle!

The Chevynissan as a package is a far better bush truck than my Landcruiser ever was - but on the bitumen, the Landcruiser wins hands down.

I've ripped out ALL the back seating and installed 2 extra tanks - 100 litres of diesel and 80 litres of water. I used black poly tanks and a few black poly fittings. Total cost for both was about $350.00. It's simple and it works. I've installed my own storage drawer system - that needs finishing, but again - it works.

It has 3.9 diff ratios in it but I reckon even fully loaded and pulling a 2 tonne van it could go 3.7. However ya wouldn't wanna go down to 3.7 if yer pulling any more than 2 tonnes. It would take all the fun out of it!

All in all, I'm pleased with it ,,,,,,,,,,,BUT,,,,,,,,,,,,that noise has got to stop!!!

AND,,,,,,,,,,,I still look at 100 series turbo diesels with a longing smile.

However, the 'Cruiser was not what's needed for deep prospecting work. The Nissan does that job far better.

That's about it Roachie,

CYA,

Bilbo

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:33

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:33
Bilbo,
Great! Good to hear the feedback, both positive and negative.

Please keep us updated, look forward to following your progress as you put some k's up on your truck.

AnswerID: 196028

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:41

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:41
I'll second that.

meow.

rick.
FollowupID: 454208

Reply By: Exploder - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 22:04

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 22:04
“Believe it or not it's not as quick as a my old 100 series TD Cruise”> A Root’s Charger strapped to the top of the intake manifold would soon fix that LOL

“that noise has got to stop!!!> So it’s about as quite as a Sherman Tank driving thro a minefield then, WHAT, SPEAK UP, LOL

I spotted a Troopy with a 6.5 Turbo in it the other day in a parking lot, I just stood there for about 5 minute’s just so I could hear it fire up and thunder down the street, I think I may have a problem ha ha.

AnswerID: 196037

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 22:33

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 22:33
He he he, not the only on e mate, ive been known to stand around at a servo to see a f100 with a 460 in it fire up. :-))
FollowupID: 454220

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 09:47

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 09:47
running at about 15psig boost
FollowupID: 454281

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 22:10

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 22:10
Bilbo,

Was just thinking yesterday, that hadn't seen you on here for a while, and wondered how the chevissan was going.

Maybe you just need to wear ear plugs.....

Keep up the reports,

Hooroo...

AnswerID: 196039

Reply By: Bilbo - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 22:31

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 22:31
Brunswick Diesels do put 'em in with superchargers on 'em and very neat they look too. Geez - I bet they fly with a blower on 'em. Saw one in 100 series 6 wheel ute being done in Brunswicks whilst mine was being done - very neat.

I do like mine when I kick her in the guts - it sorta makes a statement when it fires up. Bit like a gas bottle blowing up - WHOOOMPAAHHH!!! And I do have a habit of streeeeettttttccccching it out 2nd gear just to listen to that exhaust.

OH yes - 'n I only use 3 gears when not towing, 2nd, 3rd and 5th. Saves all that heavy clutch pedal pushing.

And that clutch pedal is heavy BTW. I've driven Scanias with a lighter clutch!!

Bilbo
AnswerID: 196045

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 23:17

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 23:17
G'day Mate,

Thanks for the report........it's pretty much as I expected, although I'm surprised the noise is such a huge factor.....maybe another muffler is all that's required???

I'm sure I could force myself to get used to the noise....hahahaha

Cheers mate and thanks for taking the time to post this report.

FollowupID: 454233

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:26

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:26
Roachie,

It's not just the exhaust, even though it is a "straight through" muffler and it does "BOOM" a lot, it's also the indirect injection diesel motor that creates a lot of high pitched clatter. Bit like REAL bad tappet rattle. Also, there's big capacity Clarke electric fuel pump on it that buzzes like mad.

It's gotta be quitened down. It's giving me the bleep s.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 454347

Reply By: adamj1300 - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 00:32

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 00:32
bilbo thanks for all the info u keep posting about the chev truck,s epecially for some one who is strongly looking in to the idea!

but have u thought about adding a turbo on the beast yet, or maybe an intercoler?
AnswerID: 196072

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:34

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:34
Adam,

Brunswick will fit a turbo if you want one, but they do suggest that the motor runs hot in high ambient temperatures when towing if the motor is turboed. I do a lot of twoing in the WA Goldfeilds and the Plibara -read "HOT at times".

There's plenty of torque without a turbo so I didn't get one. Plus you have to "modify" the firewall abit more to get the turbo in. Read "bash it with a sledgehammer" ;)

There's not much point in fitteing an intercooler without a turbo.

I currently looking "diesel/gas injection" to get more economy. i.e more power equals more economy. There's heaps of grunt in it now, but a bit more power and even MORE torque I won't have to pout my foot down quite as hard eh! Diesel/gas would be a cheaper option waht with the Fed Govt and WA State Gov't rebates.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 454350

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 03:01

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 03:01
Bilbo

Not a criticism

But out BK what I've hear that they have problems with the fan dropping a blade?

May have been fixed I don't know, but just some info

AnswerID: 196078

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:38

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:38
Richard,

That's interesting 'cos in the Service Book that Brunswicks give you when they do the conversion (just like a real Nissan Service Book), they do say to check the tightness of the fan bolts. Perhaps there have been instances where the fan bolts have loosened and this has lead to vibration of the blades. "CRACK"!!! and through the radiator it goes!

Thanks for the tip.

What does "But out BK" mean???

Bilbo
FollowupID: 454352

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:49

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:49
Sorry
Bruce Rock
FollowupID: 454354

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 21:03

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 21:03
Richard,

Hmmm,,,,,Bruce Rock W.A. I presume? Do you know Geoff Whittome?? He used to live in "BK".

Bilbo

FollowupID: 454375

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 21:09

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 21:09
Bilbo

Yes WA and no I don't know Geoff

We have a weekender in BK makes it closer to the goldfield for a trip

But I do know a farmer out there that has a V8 in a Nissan tray Ute, he has had some overheating issues and had the thermo fan replaced by a solid metal fan by Brunswick Diesel and this is the fan he is having problems with (on hes second fan)
I haven't hear the latest

FollowupID: 454376

Reply By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 15:05

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 15:05
Hi Bilbo, glad to hear it's all going well. Mine freed up noticeably after around 40,000km's. They get better and better.

I'm off next week out around Southern Cross for a bit of look around. Can't wait.
AnswerID: 196132

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:41

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:41
Thanks "V8",

Mine is getting better all the time and I'm hoping to get at least 20MPG when towing once it's done around 40Kkms. I can dream can't I??

Have a good trip. You going prospecting or just for a "photo-opportunity"?

Bilbo
FollowupID: 454353

Reply By: mowing - Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 21:09

Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 21:09
Bilbo, Run it through the polly pipe with the windows down, a sweeter sound you have never heard.

AnswerID: 196852

Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 21:22

Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 21:22
Yeah!!!

I'm gonna do it. I'm gonna do it!!!

I've gotta take my caravan in fer a few warranty jobs on the Albany Highway 'n guess which I'll be coming back?

Even though it is the wrong direction fer home!!

Yeah!!

Bilbo
AnswerID: 196855