Ozi Explorer map problem

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 17:57
ThreadID: 37976 Views:2397 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
Hi folks,
I have Ozi Explorer on my laptop and linked to a GPS. I could use moving map no worries until I bought and installed NATMAPS Raster maps. Now no matter which map I have open (Ozi's own or even UBD)- when using moving map, after a minute or two the map changes to IS7 Mosaic.ecw. I can change back but it reverts to the mosaic again. Do I have some settings wrong in Ozi Explorer? Can anyone help please?

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:09

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:09
Yes

I think this is the awser you want
Go to file/configuration/map images. and change the address in the image file path to the maps you want to use.

AnswerID: 196142

Reply By: Des Lexic - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:09

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:09
Mine used to do that until a highly skilled computer professional reconfigured the system not to look for better maps but to stay on the map selected.
Sorry about going overboard about my Mr Fixit but he's a member here and often checks my posts and i'm always needing a favour. LOL
AnswerID: 196150

Reply By: Member - Stephen (WA) - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:12

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:12
Mike,

Open OziExplorer and select: File - Configuration and click the Moving Map tab.
In the top right hand corner of the box there is an option titled "Always Check for More Detailed Map". Uncheck the little box associated with that option.

Save the configuration and I reckon that should see you right as rain.

Stephen J.

VKS737 - Mobile 2735

AnswerID: 196152

Follow Up By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:26

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:26
Stephen,

That box was checked to look every 120 seconds, I have just unchecked it and will test it next drive. The 120 secs seems about the time frame the swap happened. Fingers crossed, thank you.
FollowupID: 454362

Reply By: nissnut - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 08:41

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 08:41
Sorry guys, that lot went straight over my head. Whats wrong with a good map and a reliable compass?
AnswerID: 196191

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen (WA) - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 09:13

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 09:13
Nothing really. Each to their own.
VKS737 - Mobile 2735

FollowupID: 454421

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 09:21

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 09:21
Just that a GPS is a highly efficient aid to navigation and hooking it up to moving map software makes life a bit easier. It's just technology moving on, or do you perform your bush exploration on a horse and cart?

FollowupID: 454423

Follow Up By: nissnut - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 14:00

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 14:00
Hey Mike, sorry if I appeared to be taking the mickey, it wasnt my intention. I know Im an ol' dog and new tricks dont come easy. The speed and array of new technology is mind boggling [to me at least], however, where does one stop being a 4wder and simply becomes a passenger. By that I mean things like various traction controls, computer controlled this and that, bells and whistles that let you know what your eyes and ears can tell you. My grandchild is 12yrs old and according to his school reports in the top 5 in his class, yet ask him to perform a simple maths problem without a calculator or write a small essay without a word processor and I get this " It cant be done " look on his face. I guess the concept of man and his machine is a little quaint these days just like the horse and cart. But I do remember the days when you actually drove your 4by than just riding in it..................GPS...................might be worth checking out. nissnut
FollowupID: 454458

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 14:22

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 14:22
>The speed and array of new technology is mind
>boggling [to me at least],

Ha! You think you've got problems!? I'm an electronics design engineer and _I_ can't keep up with it :)

Funnily enough I have a lot of sympathy for your viewpoint in regard to all the complex electronics we put into cars (having just being responsible for putting some more of them into a particular Australian car :) They are very reliable, which is great, but when they do go wrong can be very difficult to fault find - even with the vehicle diagnostic tools and most garages don't have a clue. If they can't find the fault by error codes and module swapping they're, usually, stuffed. If the electronics on a modern 4WD fail in a major fashion in the middle of nowhere is suspect the optimum fault finding tool is prayer :)

>My grandchild is 12yrs old

Don't get me started on that one! :) I remember (with considerable displeasure) learning my "times tables" every morning at school from the age of five or so but, I have to say, I doubt there has been a day go by since when I haven't used that skill. Later I studied advanced maths and, personally, I wouldn't give a child a calculator until they could perform with a pencil and paper every operation the calculator can do. We always use to after all? The calculator just makes it faster.

As for the "word processor" comment... I'll keep quiet about that one, as it's a test I would fail today :)

Do have a look at GPS though - whilst it should not be one's only means of navigation and we should all know how to use a compass and map, it is a terrific system for confirming our position and very quick at the task.

FollowupID: 454461

Follow Up By: nissnut - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 14:38

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 14:38
Thanks mate, Ill get the 12yr old to fill me in on GPS. Its probably old tech stuff to him.
FollowupID: 454462

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 14:59

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 14:59
If you want to score a point, casually ask him if the new European Galileo GPS system will need different receivers to the current USA GPS system (it won't).
Got to keep the little buggers on their toes :)

Site Link

FollowupID: 454466

Reply By: Member - Charlie M (SA) - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 12:21

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 12:21
It also save a lot of arguments with navigator (SWMBO) who may not read maps right.
Charlie
AnswerID: 196206