It's the people that make the places.

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 15:31
ThreadID: 37996 Views:3081 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
It was almost accidental. I walked into the Birdsville caravan park and asked for the cranky woman that everyone was frightened of. "That must be me" said Ruth.
"I'm Footy from ExplorOz" I say.
I can't remember if she said "Oh" (as in what are you doing here) or "OH !" (as in I thought I was having a bad day till now !)
Ruth was very nice by the way.

Much nicer than another park owner who didn't appreciate my bro being in the loo after 10am (having your insides in a bag will do that to you)

We met many more nice people on our trip a couple of months ago. All shapes, sizes and ages and all nice. I even got caught up in a couple of "Happy Hours". ( which might not seem strange to you but I don't drink !)
Some were retired, but some had interesting jobs. A policeman, stock inspector, teachers etc etc. My bro tried to convince a German nurse to stay here. "We need nurses, " says he. He was old enough to be her grandfather, but her boyfriend still wasn't amused.

I have to admit, the most surprising were a couple of kids in the TV room (it's the internet booth also) at 80 mile beach. Now they could have been Exploroz members for sure.
I poked my head into the TV room to be met by a couple of kids about 10 and 12. "Oh, come in and pull up a chair, " they said with a smile.
No stranger danger here. I would have run away screaming "monster, there's a monster in there !"
They asked where I'd been, how I liked it and told me their story.
After they'd politely explained how fake "Home and Away" was, I left quietly.
I suspect that their parents would have been proud of them.

I'm pretty sure that the world is safe in the hands of the next generation.

Reply By: dj Patrol - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 20:16

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 20:16
Good story footloose, But I think that you will have to go a long way to find more of them,I also have spoken to nice kids when travelling and It makes you feel that there are some good parents out there bringing up there kids that way dont you think so.
dj patrol
AnswerID: 196282

Reply By: Mobi Condo - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 20:52

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 20:52
Yes we meet some nice folks and their kids - we often comment that some of the "Anti 4WD" brigade should go out to the Flinders or where ever over Easter etc and see just how those "awful machines" have made it just soooooo possible for families to get out and the kids have so much experience of the world about us as a result.
Cheers - Mobi
AnswerID: 196290

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 07:48

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 07:48
When we camped at Redbank Gorge this year the family camping nearby sent one of their boys over to invite us for a cuppa around their campfire. It was a really enjoyable evening. The two boys talked about where they'd been, where they were going and showed us scrapbooks and journals they'd been making of their travels. We swapped travel tales and places to go with the mum and dad and had such a good night. It was a lovely beginning to our trip. I think of this little family often and hope their travels continued to be so happy.

Viv
AnswerID: 196349

Reply By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 07:52

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 07:52
Watch that cranky woman :-) she is a tyrant :-)

Good story Footloose. I find all the kids who travel this land quite a bit to be well balanced youngsters unlike some of the locals here in Townsville.
AnswerID: 196352

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 11:39

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 11:39
David,
Maybe they just have well-balanced parents :-))))
FollowupID: 454643

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 08:07

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 08:07
I have often thought that taking one's children on holidays that dont involve motels and Maccas every day, is a great character building exercise.
When I first met my wife our common interest was that both of our families had taken us on roadtrips to Cairns and beyond. 35 years later we've taken our own family a lot further, and seen them grow into great human beings.
Yes, the youth of today face challenges that didn't exist when I was a kid. But with their parents love and a lot of hard work it will all come good.
AnswerID: 196356

Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 12:38

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 12:38
You know, I reckon the challenges are the same, just we tend to make more excuses for everyone in this day and age of political correctness.
FollowupID: 454656