camper trailer sink

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 17:14
ThreadID: 38001 Views:7690 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
g'day , looking at making my own camper trailer kitchen but am wondering where do i get the sinks from . i'm only after a single bowl sink.... would like the s/s sink.bunnings has a double bowl sink for on the cheap but only need a single .cheeres skipp

Reply By: Pajeroman - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 17:19

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 17:19
I bought a single bowl sink at a second hand store in at a rubbish tip for $10.00 wit a bit of a clean it was just the ticket.
AnswerID: 196238

Follow Up By: skipp - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 17:23

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 17:23
cheers buddy , for 10 bucks i give it a look
FollowupID: 454492

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 18:00

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 18:00
The other line to check is the caravan palces - try www.camec.com.au/ for example, but heaps of others. Won't be cheap - check the second hand mobs first!

Max
AnswerID: 196247

Reply By: Grandpa joe - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 19:02

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 19:02
Also i saw some nice sinks at Bias boating warehouse
also check out Whitworths boating.
I have found that if anyone calls themselves a caravan parts place they mark product prices up massively!
AnswerID: 196258

Reply By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 19:30

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 19:30
Do you really need a sink fitted to kitchen area. We have one in place in our Drifta Kitchen on a slide out shelf and at least 9 times out of 10 I use the plastic bowl on the table. Maybe another way to go so that you have more bench space for preparing meals and storing day to day cooking items.
Jenkie
AnswerID: 196267

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 19:40

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 19:40
I was gunna say the same thing. We have a cabinet-maker (David) in our club. He and several other members all have Spirit camper trailers. David made himself a pullout kitchen and went to the effort of putting in a stainless steel sink with an incorporated 2 burner stove (all in one unit). When one of the other member's wife (Margaret) saw his great handiwork, she wanted him to make her one exactly the same. He said "no way!!!" He insisted he build her one with just the bare bench-top where they could use a square plastic bowl for washing up and a portable gas stove for cooking. They "debated" over this for quite some time and, in the end, David got his way. Well, Margaret is now VERY PLEASED that David had stood up to her (not many people stand up to Margaret...hahahaha) as she agrees with him that it is far better and more versatile to have the option of additional bare bench space. On top of that there is the cost....those s/steel units like the one David has cost about $700- (but he did get his for nicks as far as I know)....he has said there is no way he would have paid for the one he has.

So, don't feel that the sink is the be-all, end-all......

FollowupID: 454517

Follow Up By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 19:47

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 19:47
We actually cary two bowls. One for washing up and one for rinsing as I don't like the chemical residue of wasing up liquid on things I eat off.
Jenkie
FollowupID: 454519

Follow Up By: flappa - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 12:39

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 12:39
Same deal here.

We find having the extra bench space better then a built in Sink.

With a movable sink you choose where you wash up.
FollowupID: 454658

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 20:14

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 20:14
Just put a s/steel sink in ours, from Camec.
Could use a plastic bowl that drops in a hole in the bench.
AnswerID: 196280

Reply By: greydemon - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 12:28

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 12:28
Presumably a fixed sink drains though a hose underneath into a hole in the ground ? Isn't that a bit limiting, what happens when you camp at a site where you can't dig a hole? ( I stayed overnight in a place in Kalgoorlie on artificial grass) Or do you perhaps carry several metres of drain hose. A plastic bowl is much easier to empty, I like to give nearby plants an unexpected and welcome drink.

Maybe the fixed sink drains into a plastic bowl underneath? In which case why not cut out the middle man.
AnswerID: 196383

Reply By: skipp - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 12:56

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 12:56
Thanks for all the help, I think I'll go with the plastic bowls as i already have a couple.Wanted the s/s only because it looks posh...hehehe..
AnswerID: 196389