Should I take my 60 series to the Cape?

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 20:54
ThreadID: 38013 Views:4277 Replies:13 FollowUps:3
Howdy Folks,
Requesting some feed back from you good old boys as to whether or not ypu would take my good old trusty 60 series Toyo up north towing a CT. She is a 1990 model 2H diesel which has 280k on the clock and has been maintained, has no oil leaks, new suspension throughout and is fitted with a snorkel, winch and new Bridgestone duellers. At present I am getting 28 mpg out of her on the highway towing the CT although she gets a bit tired on the hills.
I am not paranoid, just getting some slack from others with much later models and I will be taking my wife and young kids. Appreciate any positive feedback and advice.

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 20:58

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 20:58
In a word ABSOLUTELY.

As long as you have it thoroughly checked over prior to leaving Cairns, I can't see any reason why not. I personally would be more worried about the trailer than the truck. That's not saying "don't take the trailer" either by the way.

Cheers, Trevor.
AnswerID: 196291

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 21:10

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 21:10
Why not ? I've seen vintage cars, pushbikes, meat pies and Holden cars up there :))
AnswerID: 196295

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 21:11

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 21:11
And several HJ60's along the Gary Junction road etc.
FollowupID: 454535

Reply By: cackles - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 22:31

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 22:31
older cars are more fun, while your mates worry about damage you'll ne laughing at them.
For the record my old mans 79 rangie has been all over the place and hasn't let him down anymore than a newer car would, take some spares and have fun.

cack
AnswerID: 196311

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 23:28

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 23:28
Why not? At 280,000km it is only just run in. You will have less strife with it than these new fangled trucks.

My GQ has 325,000 on the clock and also does not like hills. You just have to be patient. It still goes on Mega-treks.
AnswerID: 196326

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 23:46

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 23:46
Are you kiding???
Hell mine has 616,000 on the clock and I would take it anywhere any new one would go, if its in good nick it will do another 15 years yet.
Im going for the million, about 7-8 years to go.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 454578

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 09:42

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 09:42
Isnt there a member on this site that only uses 60's to do cape trips?

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 454614

Reply By: HJ60-2H - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 06:45

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 06:45
My 60 has been up there 3 times. Last time it was the only vehicle out of our group of 3 that was always mobile. Both an 80 and a Prodo had to have roadside repairs to get them to Weipa.
AnswerID: 196345

Reply By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 07:49

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 07:49
In a word "YES"

AnswerID: 196350

Reply By: Shane (QLD) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 09:01

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 09:01
These old Trucks are unbreakable. To give you an idea a couple of years ago going to Cunnamulla my mate said can I smell something burning & with that we immediately pulled up to see smoke pouring out of the engine bay. After the smoke dissapated I noted that it was the fan belt that had caused the problem & thought that a rock or stick had thrown up & jammed it, but had dropped off when I stopped the motor.We continued on our merry way. 1500 k's later at home I happened to be under the front looking at the power steering pump because it was squawking & then saw the the problem with the previous fan belt episode, the bearing on the idler pulley was seized & the fan belt was rotating around it as though it was working. I still to this day don't know why the belt lasted all that time, but it did. Down to Bearing Services with the disintergrated bearing & all was new again.( If ever you do a idler bearing you will find that Toyota will only sell you the whole unit at a very large price). Mine is a 2H Diesel with aftermarket Turbo. It is a '83 model Sahara 5 speed with only 250,000k's but I would take it anywhere & do ! The 60 series is a unique vehicle & a friend( who is the the owner of a 4WD Workshop) said to me a couple of days ago don't ever sell it as they don't make them as reliable as that today. If I was you I would spend the money on a Turbo, you wont regret it & those slowdown on the hills will be a thing of the past. In retrospect I would be more worried taking a 3ltr Nissan to the Cape, but I had better shut up before I get a torrent of abuse !
AnswerID: 196361

Reply By: Barnesy - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 18:07

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 18:07
If it's well maintained and reliable why not? Should be good for another 200k.

Better a 60 series than one of those new 4wds with independent suspension and electrics that cark it with any water deeper than the axles.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 196452

Reply By: Batboy - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 20:56

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 20:56
We took our 88 Patrol up there this year towing a CT. Gutless slug, 90klm/hr foot to the floor nearly all the way to cairns. After cairns, FANTASTIC. We were able to do most of the tracks around including Frenchmans and the old Coach road through to Maytown without to much concern for damage. I even took the old girl down the south bank of Gunshot which is an experience but would have had second thoughts about it in a more expensive vehicle. Once you get past laura speed and power become immaterial and its more about strength and reliability where the 60 comes into its own. Enjoy
AnswerID: 196498

Reply By: Toytruck - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 20:58

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 20:58
clarkie63,
I have a HJ60, 1984 and a 100 series. If I wanted to give one of them a hard time in teh bush, I would take my 60 any day...........both vehicles are in good nick but eh 60's are unbreakable.

Do it.
AnswerID: 196500

Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:22

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:22
When we were on our way back down the cape in 04 , we decided to take the OTL track.

At the tip of the cape a week earlier we saw a couple of guys with an early Pajero, on the way back I pulled over cause they were up my ass ! They passed me flat out !!

A couple of Kms later they were pulled over , so I stopped.

They had fitted 1 hardware store bolt to the upper l/h wish bone !!! it kept coming undone . It was Sunday and they couldn't get real spares at Sesia till Monday ! so they pressed on !!

They had also snapped half the studs on the front wheel and didn't care.

I think if you are prepared an older car will be no probs .....

This is my favourite saying ( its a bit lame ) . The 7 Ps,, Prior Preparation & Planning Prevent bleep Poor Performance .

I think if a Paj with suspension courtesy of BBC made it through, just , a solid 60 should have no problems .

I am just jealous though !

Glenn.
AnswerID: 196507

Reply By: nissnut - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 23:59

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 23:59
Simplicity and steel will always get you home.
AnswerID: 196558

Reply By: SWAMPY 2 - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 01:38

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 01:38
G'day all,
Glad to see some positive notes on the 60 series.
I have a 1989 model with 315,000 ks on the clock and can't think of anything else I'd rather replace it with.
If it's well maintained Clarkie63, as you have said it is, it will get you there and back again with less drama's than some of these plastic, computerised things that require a second mortage to purchase.
Enjoy & make the most of it !
AnswerID: 196565