Storage system & Carpet
Submitted: Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 22:27
Darren C
Just finishing home made drawer systems and wondered what people used for carpeting them? I suppose marine carpet would be the way to go to help with spills etc and to maintain longevity.
Anybody know where to pick up this stuff in
Perth and or Bunbury? Do boat shops tend to sell this off the roll or do you need to go to specialist carpet
places?
Whats the best thing to use for sticking them down. Have used laminated MDF and am a bit worried about the laminate causing problems with contact adhesive etc.
Any advice appreciated
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 22:33
Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 22:33
laquer it.. carpet holds the dust in heaps.
Reply By: desray - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 22:43
Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 22:43
Darren you could try Clarks Rubber they have all sorts of carpet marine/ plastic ect
Follow Up By: rustytruck - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 23:15
Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 23:15
At least you haven't been told to read the previous files and archives :)
Bunnings have the carpet in several colours.and I've used it successfully for years.
Rusty
Follow Up By: Darren C - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 23:19
Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 23:19
Cheers - actually did a search on carpet and drawers and various variations but got stuff all!!
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 22:43
Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 22:43
Darren, you strike me as a lovely bloke who worries excessively. Buy a bit of marine carpet, (don't stick it down yet, you may be surprised), 'n shove it in. She'll be right, mate.
(If one has time, you're quite right: the dump/fitters/ retailers. Depends on time/$ ratio.) Stuffit Darren, - Enjoy.
ps. from one who worried too much for too long. JH.
Follow Up By: Darren C - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 22:55
Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 22:55
Yep jeff youre probably right - has definitely taken me out of my comfort zone putting these together. Working 12 hours a day behind a desk aint great for building up those core carpentry skills!! Luckily have a father in law who is a farmer who is allowing me to 'project manage' him (and learn!!). At least they look better than his fences!!
Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 23:11
Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 23:11
Hi Darren,
Go to an auto/marine upholstery place and have a chat with them, I use thicker carpet on top, not sure if it's marine grade or not but it has about 3 layers and is about 4mm thick for the top and the thinner stuff they use for lining the interior of car boots etc for the sides and front of draws.
As for the glue, use Selleys Kwik Grip, stuff will stick to anything, if your worried about the laminate, give it a quick sand with the orbital and roughen up the surface.
Use a paint brush ( an old one ) to paint it onto the carpet, and have some turps ready to wash out the brush.
Avagoodn
Pezza
!MPG:10!
Follow Up By: Darren C - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 23:23
Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 23:23
Good thinkin....I can see how a slightly thinner carpet would be good on the front......
Reply By: Doggy Tease - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 23:22
Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 23:22
There is a place in Kelmscot which sells thestuff you are after, tho i cant think of the name of it.
If you head up Armadale Road going toward Armadale, turn left just before the railway crossing(i think this is railway parade) head up there a bit, and as you hit a roundabout( the first i think) there is a place right there. You will see the
sign on the front fence
meow.
rick.
Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 00:34
Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 00:34
Hi Darren
I made my own draws up (check out my rig pic) using 12mm ply covered with marine carpet from Clark Rubber. I used the spray-on contact cement, FAR easier to use than the traditional one in a tin. Its worked
well on my draws, nearly 3 years old now and going great, haven't had to re-stick anything down yet.
Reply By: oldmagpie2 - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 08:36
Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 08:36
theres a place on leach h/way or south st on the way to freo @ $30/m ,the rolls are 2m wide they advertise in the marine section in the saturday paper .cheers
Reply By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 09:08
Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 09:08
Hi Darren,
Just another option. I made my own from MDF and got some 'good' discarded carpet out the back of a carpet
shop (free) and glued it on with Sellys Kwikgrip. Been on now for about 7 years.
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 12:32
Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 12:32
The kwikgrip is what i used to glue my marine carpet. Its good stuff.
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 19:03
Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 19:03
I used marine carpet inside and out on my drawer unit. Got it from Bias boating. I see they have a store in
Perth.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:56
Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:56
Thin carpet goes around corners better. I used the charcoal coloured utility carpet from Bunnings.
Reply By: David78 - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 09:15
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 09:15
Hi there Darren,
I reckon using marine-type carpet is the way to go - use the stuff that is unlined - it goes around corners much easier.
Also,
check out this from the archives - PostID: 21628
cheers,
dave.