Patrol 4.2Td values?

Submitted: Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 09:05
ThreadID: 38023 Views:2569 Replies:6 FollowUps:10
Howdy all, at a rough guesstimate, what do you reckon a 1992 GQ Nissan Patrol trayback would be worth to sell privately? Spec's are, 1992, 270K, 4.2 diesel, safari turbo and intercooler, Irvin bullbar and sidesteps, good Bridgestone DD's, white rims, UHF, spotties etc.

Overall condition is OK, nothing flash, but runs and drives well and is licenced.

Ball park numbers? Is there much of a market for such a beast?

I've done Redbook, Quokka, Autotrader etc. I'd be very interested in what the word on the street is.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 10:06

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 10:06
worth what your willing to pay. I'd say ~20k... utes are worth more than wagons..

... but depends on condition and lots more.
AnswerID: 196369

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 10:12

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 10:12
$20ish for a 1992 GQ? Typo?
FollowupID: 454621

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 15:15

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 15:15
havent looked for about 6mths, but I've seen heaps of them in yards for $25k for a good quality ST ute.. thats a caryard... so yea, I'd say that would be ok.

sold my 91 mod GQ wagon for $15k and utes are worth more than wagons.
FollowupID: 454685

Reply By: Member - uncle (NSW) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 10:15

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 10:15
hi V8 I would look carefully for another one somewhere in a car yard, that is similar to yours. Find out what price is on there's then take $2000 off and use that as a starting point for yours.Mainly because you aren't covering overheads etc like a yard does. Cheers.
AnswerID: 196370

Follow Up By: Member - uncle (NSW) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 10:17

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 10:17
Forgot to mention I would outlay the cost on a full professional detail also, makes a big difference. Tell them to go easy on the armour all on the tyres though, looks too tacky on 4wd's.
FollowupID: 454623

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 15:04

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 15:04
I would have thought arond 8 - 10K.

My uncle traded a similar vehicle in on a newer GU about three years ago (but his was 89 model at the time) and got 8K trade for it. I thought at the time it was a bit cheap but that's what they are worth apparently.

I am by no means a valuer so take this on board if I am out on my opinion.

Trevor.
AnswerID: 196414

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 15:16

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 15:16
>>> ... thought at the time it was a bit cheap but that's what they are worth apparently.

thats what a caryard will give you, means nothing on what they are worth ;)
FollowupID: 454686

Reply By: Maddmav - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 18:19

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 18:19
I have been looking around myself for a GU ute and from what I have seen over the net your GQ as described would fetch around the price Truckie suggested if not a bit more.

Seen a few under-described to yours for around $18K

You can always come down on the dealing price - never heard of anyone going up.

Vinnie

AnswerID: 196456

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 18:33

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 18:33
Your kidding me! That much? It's a '92 with nearly 300k on the clock. I'd say condition would best be described as 'average' or 'reasonable'.

Goes well though, the Safari and intercooler turn it into a different vehicle.

Doing my sums now............it does mean going to the 'dark side', but if I can get it for the right price........hhmmmmmmm
FollowupID: 454730

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 14:17

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 14:17
well you tell us what price you would like us to say, and you can then say "YES THATS WAT I WANTED TO HEAR"...
FollowupID: 454951

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 15:21

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 15:21
$18 sounds better than $9 to me. I'm just surprised at figures twice what I thought it'd be.
FollowupID: 454959

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 19:24

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 19:24
So what's the ask then V8Diesel ? I'm interested.

Reason I ask is my GU 4.2 that has got a bit done to it (motor wise) as well, and I've been getting told it is worth between 20 and 25K. This also has 275000km safari i/cooler ect ect. So I can't see how a 92 GQ could be worth anything like 20grand.

PS, mines not for sale but with a gearbox rebuild in process now I was doing the sums before I went ahead with the rebuild.

Regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 196467

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 20:21

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 20:21
Yeah,,,,that's what I was thinking. My GU went for around the 20 mark and it was a plum with heaps of goodies fitted.
FollowupID: 454751

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 14:10

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 14:10
C'mon V8Diesel how much is it going for???

You've baited me now reel me in LOL!!

Trevor.
FollowupID: 454949

Reply By: Barnesy - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 19:29

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 19:29
18 months ago i picked up my 92 GQ 4.2 diesel wagon for 11.5k with only 210k on the clock. Spotless condition, mechanicals perfect, never been off road or towed anything. The dealer was originally asking 16k (that may be why he couldn't sell it).

The extras on yours are bonuses but not worth much if the engine is tired from the turbo or if it's been used hard off road. Anyone who knows what they're looking for will look more at mechanicals. Once they get more than 10 or so years old then condition is everything.

Give it a good top-to-toe professional detailing and state "or nearest offer". Have a base price that you're unwilling to go below. I don't see why utes would have higher value than wagons. Maybe also look at similar year cruiser utes then knock a few grand off the price.

Basically I can't see how you would get much more than what I paid for mine 18 months ago. They haven't appreciated in value. Let us know what you get for it.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 196469

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 20:22

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 20:22
Makes good sense.
FollowupID: 454752