Mouth of the Murray River, Accessible??

Submitted: Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 12:49
ThreadID: 38033 Views:2767 Replies:4 FollowUps:6
G'day Folks,
We'll be heading down to Nelson way next weekend for a week and plan to have a look at Mt Gambier,Robe- Beachport area, and weather tide and time permitting the mouth of the Murray River. I've done search but could not find much first hand info and would gladly accept any info from people that have been there,what it's like getting there etc. There are 4 vehicles travelling together and I know 2 have had plenty of sand & beach driving experience.

Reply By: dj Patrol - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 14:38

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 14:38
Was a ferry accross to mouth when I was last there,
AnswerID: 196406

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 19:15

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 19:15
Ummm ????????????????
FollowupID: 454737

Reply By: madcow - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 14:45

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 14:45
I probably should have metioned we are intending to try and get there from the Coorong side. From what I have found it seems a pretty difficult drive to get there and back to 42 mile crossing in a day even with an early start.
AnswerID: 196407

Reply By: Robin - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 15:37

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 15:37
Did it 2 years ago Madcow.

On actual trip to put wheels in murray we left from Tea Tree crossing which is a little to north.

From there is was a 200km round trip , took us 5 hours , not hard ,lot of fun.

Then went south past 42 to Kingston.

If interested full report on our Yahoo site message 256 , plot to in waypoint+ text format

Site Link

AnswerID: 196421

Follow Up By: madcow - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 07:21

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 07:21
Ta Robin, I intend to get to the head of the Murray one day ( it's not that long a drive from home) But wanted to get to the finish just to say we've been there. Been to the most northern most point, Centre,easterley point. Just gives us a few bragging rights. Another note I have a wall hanging of a map of Oz and have been plotting all of our trips onto it. The hanging itself can be seen at www.maptag.com.au and would make a great present for someone. They even have a map of Tassie 8)).
FollowupID: 454846

Follow Up By: madcow - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 10:46

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 10:46
nice read!
FollowupID: 454901

Follow Up By: Robin - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 11:38

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 11:38
That Maptag thing sounds like a good idea.

Do you put pins on map to indicate where you have been ?

You probably the gather from report that we interpreted things in our favour noting that dredging doesn't seem to be done weekends.

Playing with the buggies in the 4800 patrol was seriously rememberable.

FollowupID: 454911

Follow Up By: madcow - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 12:17

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 12:17
My wife bought one for me a year ago from the Victoria Markets. I believe he is there only on Sundays but it would pay to check. I use a fabric paint pen in a bright fluro colour and "dot" the roads and tracks we have been on. You would be suprised as to the detail on it. Using a bright colour makes the route easy to see and is quite a talking point when people see it for the first time. I have not yet seen one framed and intend to do one when i get an idea of what is invloved and how it is held in place. Mine is the Black Background with the detail printed in White.
We will be there sometime during the week and the chance of it being closed is pretty high it seems.

regards.
FollowupID: 454923

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 09:33

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 09:33
The beach is closed around October sometime, but not sure when, because of the breeding cycle of the plovers, will pay to find out from rangers.
It can be a very difficult trip sometimes, know of locals with heaps of experience who have not made it at different times.
The large amounts of seaweed gets covered with sand and looks ok but is bottomless when driven on so be careful, and stay away from low water mark in case of a big bog, not much chance of help out there.
Also you cant get to mouth at the moment, fenced off 5 K short because of dredging, so need to keep that in mind, and you may be able to enter from tea tree crossing if its open.
Have fun.

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 196588

Follow Up By: madcow - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 10:13

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 10:13
Thanks Pesty, i believe it is at the end of October it is closed. Did not know it was fenced off due to dredging though and will make enquiries and a decision when we get there. It sounds like it not be worth it if it is closed but we'll still do a bit of exploring around there anyway.

FollowupID: 454894