tim_s
I am new to
Perth and went for a drive through Lane Poole on the weekend. Quite a nice spot - Charlies Flat was our pick. We are thinking of heading there this long weekend. However, since it will also be school holidays, we were wondering how busy it gets? Hoping the footy will keep some at home,.
Also, if anyone knows of other campsites - preferably near good fishing spots (beach or river), that won't be too busy, please let me know. Access to fresh
water (for showers, not drinking) would be a big plus.
Ta
Tim
Reply By: Wizard1 - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 15:03
Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 15:03
There is no such thing as a
camping area that will not be busy for the school holidays within 1/2 a days drive of
Perth....
If you want to know about
camping in WA then get a hold of
Free Camping in South WA.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 12:02
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 12:02
I disagree. We love Dwelly and go there often, but we
camp just outside the Lane Pool Reserve. There are MANY MANY MANY bush campsites in Dwelly that are away from the crowds, you just have to look for them and be prepared to be self-sufficiant.
Me, we camped at LPR a few times, but now days I would NEVER
camp in a place where the next
campsite is close enough for you to stand up from your
seat and bleep on their fire. Not for me thanks.
The best thing to do in Dwelly/LPR is go for an explore mission, I've done several down there and still havn't seen half of the place. Plan to spend the day just driving and you will find some amazing little
places. A good map or GPS with decent maps on it are a must as those old forrestry tracks wind and twist all over the place and it is easy to loose your sense of direction.
Reply By: Member - Eric R (WA) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 15:29
Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 15:29
I agree with Wizad 1,Lane Pool will be packed out(the only exception to it not being busy, everyone will be glue to the TV watching the EAGLES WIN)
Reply By: Member - Karl - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 16:29
Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 16:29
Tim,
Welcome to WA. As the others have said yes it will get busy at Lane Poole over the Long weekend.
A couple of other good books for
camping areas are:
1. Boiling Billys Publication - '
Camping Guide to Western Australia' it lists over 350 both free and paying campsites
2. QPA - 'Roads and Tracks Western Australia' which has maps, campsites etc.
Both can be bought from any good
camping store.
Karl
Reply By: Member - Jay Gee (WA) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 17:38
Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 17:38
Long weekend - there will be less people in
Perth City than there will be in Lane Poole.
Reply By: tim_s - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 17:49
Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 17:49
Thanks all
I suspected that this would be the case. In SE Qld a long weekend and school holidays = huge crowds. Seems the same is here.
Thanks for the info on the books too, I will check them out.
Tim
Reply By: greydemon - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 18:11
Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 18:11
We all USED to know
places like this, unfortunately we mentioned it to our best friends, in confidence, don't tell anyone else.
And OF COURSE they didn't tell anyone else .....except their other best friends 'in confidence, don't tell anyone else' !
Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 18:39
Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 18:39
I stayed at my 'secret spot' down at Dwellingup on a long weekend once......ONCE! It was a nightmare. More peaceful to set up the camper in the
Hay St mall.
I'm going away to the goldfields.
Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 19:10
Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 19:10
lolol.
good to see you are still going mate.
meow.
rick.
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 20:28
Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 20:28
Now Rick, what are we going to do about this bloody Grand Final? Maybe a trip into
Marvel Loch or
Southern Cross for Saturday arvo?
Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 20:42
Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 20:42
What,,,,to watch the Eagles loose....:):):):):)...lol.
Got a radio, and i think that someone has a t.v., so hopefully we will get to see/hear the Eagles loose...lololol.
meow.
rick.
ducking for cover about now...:)
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 08:12
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 08:12
No worries mate. We'll drop in and say boo on Saturday most likely.
Getting close now!
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 12:04
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 12:04
Hey V8 you need to find another secret spot! LOL We have a few that I hold close to my chest for down there, but I'll give you a hint, keep on driving, just keep on going right out of the LPR there are
places gallore! ;-)
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 12:07
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 12:07
Oh I'll just add, we stayed at the LPR, we were actually at one of our spots IN the LPR over new years at the start of this year. Mate we didn't here boo from anyone else, and it was only a quick walk down the
hill and accross the road to the river for a swim. The only thing you have to be careful of is booze bans on long weekends. I have some secret compartments for that :-))) I feel like smokey and the bandit when I go there on a long weekend. LOL
10-4 GOOD BUDDY!
Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 14:29
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 14:29
The bulla bulling pub is only a short drive from jaurdi- Cold beers and a TV.
Reply By: SWAMPY 2 - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 02:02
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 02:02
Use to be a magic spot to go for a quite weekend 20 odd years ago ( same with many more others spots to I guess )
have caught many a fish in them waters with the odd good size Trout over the years, and there are a couple of spots you can
camp on the river where there is only enough room for 1 or 2 campsites, but you have to get there bloody early. like thursday or friday early.
On a long weekend, you will be crammed in like some of these new houses in these new estates that keep popping up everywhere.
Tent city !! Queing up to use a drop hole dunny is not my idea of
camping !
Bit of a shame really, as it once was a great spot to go. If you can organise the time off, spend a couple of days down there in the middle of the week.
I had to get out of the rat race and am now living in the Gascoyne, not alot of trees but plenty of open spaces.
Follow Up By: Mattbrook - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 10:02
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 10:02
Try
Wellington Dam(Collie), there is
bush camping around the other side of the dam from
potters gorge(have to have a look and find it for your self!). If you are after beach fishing try Preston, though not this weekend as it will be pretty packed. It is a long stretch of beach between Preston and Myalup though.
Matt
Follow Up By: tim_s - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 11:04
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 11:04
Hi Mattbrook
I you want to give me some more hits as to the location of the site on "the other side of the dam from potters gorge". Do you mean the eastern side of the dam or north side of the finger that Potters sits on? I would really appreciate it. SWMBO is not a fan of spending hours looking for the site. SEnd me an email on tim.sercombe"at"uwa.edu.au (remove the "at").
Tim