Who would like 5 Cooper STT's and 5 Nissan alloys?

Submitted: Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 20:53
ThreadID: 38048 Views:3340 Replies:10 FollowUps:16
In exchange I want 8 Nissan 750x16 split rims in good condition.

The Coopers have around 16,000km on them. Three of the tyres have multiple plugged holes and two tyres are clear of damage. The alloys are the normal 3 spoke ones, 16x8inch

Reply By: Leroy - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:10

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:10
You of all people should know there is a trader section!!

Leroy
AnswerID: 196504

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:15

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:15
hahahahaha...and I thought I was the only one round here to get into strife :))
FollowupID: 454769

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:21

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:21
I am not selling anything. I am giving it away

Call it barter if you wish.

Through the forum I may then be able to pinpoint where I can get splits as I have asked here before with very little result. Wreckers don't seem to have any either.

If David doesnt like this post he can remove it.

FollowupID: 454771

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:30

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:30
Hi Willem

Do you mean 5.50F 16 split rims with 7.50R16 8PR tyres to suit your Nissan Patrol?

If so I will have a look over here in the west for you, scrap metal prices are up so it might be a bad time for looking at secondhand steel...LOL

AnswerID: 196509

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:52

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:52
Hi Richard

Yes and thanks for the offer. If they come with tyres thats OK too.

FollowupID: 454781

Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:32

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:32
What tyres are you going to run Willem?

AnswerID: 196510

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:49

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:49
MRF 16 ply

Going on another little adventure into some never never country next year.
Coopers are too thin in the sidewall for my purposes. It has been an expensive lesson.
FollowupID: 454779

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:44

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:44
Footy, no way. I've been trashed since I first hit the keyboard, and I expect more "tsk tsk mail" from tonights entries.
Crikey it's been enlightening, though.(Almost feel scared to utter the word 'crikey' : feel it should be trademarked by now. bleep eh, that's life.
AnswerID: 196520

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:51

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:51
Jeff, yes it can be a pack mentality when they get a few mates together can't it ? Ah well, at least we know we have thick skins ...NOT.
I don't mind a few off topic posts...livens the place up.
FollowupID: 454780

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 22:58

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 22:58
Jeff Can you please stay on topic? for goodness sake.......

FollowupID: 454819

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 22:58

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 22:58
just joshin

FollowupID: 454820

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 01:06

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 01:06
Thanks too much Bonz. I feel shame. Thank you for correction.
(ps. Nice girl your car's got. [best I stop there]. Avoid the bushfires, mate.
FollowupID: 454841

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 17:11

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 17:11
hahah youre welcome, I have now been able to resist jumping in and pointing out the bleeding obvious for some time, wasn't always like that.

My Mantra now is:

NEVER HAVE A BATTLE OF WITS WITH AN UNARMED PERSON.

Works at home too, oops shouldnt have said that

FollowupID: 454980

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 20:23

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 20:23
Your "mantra" seems pretty open to me : dimwit , slowwit ,halfwit , bleep wit etc
FollowupID: 455061

Reply By: Andrew from 4wheelingOZ Magazine - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:50

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:50
Willem
Give Darren from Total Traction Tyres at Lonsdale a call.
08 8186 1011
He's my bro in law and should be able to help you.

Tell him you know me and it will cost at least 20% more..... LOL

AnswerID: 196524

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:55

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:55
Thanks Andrew...will do so tomorrow

Its not who you know but who you don't know...lol
FollowupID: 454782

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 17:55

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 17:55
Andrew your Bro in Law says yep he has some and will chase up some others. I will call back in a few weeks.
FollowupID: 454997

Reply By: Member - Ian S (NT) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:54

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:54
Hi Willem,

Why split rims? Are you contemplating more off track stuff next year??

Personally I'm going to experiment with MRF (hopefully tubeless) on narrow steel rims as a second set. If I have to go with tubes will go for split rims. We are anticipating a lot of raw dune country next year and feel these will handle it better.

On existing tracks and the desert I'm very happy with Cooper STT and they are a god send when it turns to mud.

Interested in your plans.

Heading down your way or Googs at the end of a stint in the Simpson during October.
Ian@Mt Dare
AnswerID: 196525

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 22:03

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 22:03
Hi Ian

The tubeless tyres just don't cut the mustard in the rough stuff. The trackless wastes of the Simpson NT are not that bad and I have yet to suffer a puncture out there but when one wants to go exploring elsewhere driving across turpentine country, they fail.

The tubeless tyres give a good soft ride and are sure footed in the rocky stuff. Mud...whats mud? Havent seen rain for yonks. My old Coopers didnt like clay at all.

Drop in for a g'day. I should be home and then I can tell you where my next venture is planned for.

FollowupID: 454796

Reply By: Mattbrook - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 09:45

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 09:45
Hi I have 6 16" 5.5 Toyota Split rims that I want to get rid of. Not sure if they are the same as the nissan offset.

Matt

AnswerID: 196590

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 09:56

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 09:56
Hi Matt

Thanks for the re-ply but Toyota splits do not fit a GQ Nissan.
FollowupID: 454889

Reply By: Mattbrook - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 10:04

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 10:04
No worries Willem
Matt

AnswerID: 196593

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 11:32

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 11:32
Hi Willem,
You may as well also put your request into the Trader - there is a wanted section in the Tyres & Rims category. You can list your exchange offer there.
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 196605

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 17:56

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 17:56
Thanks Michelle. I realise that I can do that but wanted a different response, which I got. I have sourced some rims in Adelaide.

FollowupID: 454998

Reply By: rolande- Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 13:43

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 13:43
G'Day Willem,
I have 4 Nissan split rims that have been stored for a few years. If interested I can get them out to see there condition and we can work something out if interested, (they were on my G60).
You can E-Mail direct to.

UHUFORREST at YAHOO dot COM dot AU

Rolande
AnswerID: 196618

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 17:59

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 17:59
Hi Rolande

The G60 rims do jot fit on the front hubs of the GQ. I discovered this when I borrowed my old G60's rims back from its new owner some time ago.

Cheers and thanks anyway.
FollowupID: 455001