Internet drop-outs

Submitted: Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:33
ThreadID: 38050 Views:2645 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
We've had abundant ( no, 'prolific') drop-outs for a week or so now.(Bigpond dial up), especially, it seems, with Exploroz.
. Any advice?
(We still cook on a wood stove: please be gently with your comments.)
. Thanks eh. Jeff H.

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:37

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:37
Hi Jeff, mate who runs an isp was warning me of some Telstra dropouts...didnt take much notice until we had a few this week.
As for the wood stove, nothing wrong with that. When the power goes off 5 or 6 times this summer, we'll be using the camp stove to get a cuppa :))
AnswerID: 196516

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:44

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:44
Jeff we have a wood stove(Metters) and a modern gas one as well...lol

I dumped Bigpond three years ago.

You might also find that it could be your modem. I am on dial-up as well and had no end of drop outs and freeze up and all sorts of crap with my computer and so we changed our Lucent Win Modem for a Swann Modem and nary a drop out in the past year. And our phone cables are old as well...lol
AnswerID: 196521

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 22:00

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 22:00
I got sick of Bigpond dropouts, and we were on cable. Went with internode on ADSL in January, and haven't had a dropout since.
AnswerID: 196527

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 22:23

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 22:23
One day I hope to learn /remember the different routes to "reply' and "follow up". Thanks PG, we are considering the change, and Crazy Dog's link to 'local live'
merely reinforced the persuasion.
Willem, ours was Rayburn No. 3. 'Afraid I've stooped to simulating pollies these days - my earlier post contained a 'non-core-truth'.
FollowupID: 454806

Follow Up By: Larry01 - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 21:09

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 21:09
I am also with internode. They are excellent. I sell Bigpond product and still don't have it
FollowupID: 455083

Follow Up By: Turbo - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 23:54

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 23:54
Howdy guys, we have ADSL with telstra and get lots of dropouts. is internode that much better ?.we were on cable with telstra. adsl is faster but the dropouts are a pain & it also freezes. cheers Dave.
FollowupID: 455123

Follow Up By: Larry01 - Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 18:27

Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 18:27
I was put onto internode by one of our IT guy. They good service is great never had a dropout
FollowupID: 455224

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 22:11

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 22:11
Footy, Willem,
. David should have you blokes on a retainer.

. Would you believe the bloody thing has just allowed another re-connect? That's around 9 today (so far). Maybe Telstra is trying to build sales; possibly wrong approach.
. Willem, what are the odds of a modem suddenly getting the sulks? Apart from merely annoying people and pleasuring myself, I'm trying to get a price on an Ixus 850 IS, and drop-outs DO NOT HELP.
. Thanks for your replies fellers; nice to know some p ik is listening, even if Telstra isn't. Stay safe.
ps. what about extfilm's images? make me feel a tad inadequate.
AnswerID: 196531

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 22:49

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 22:49
You think you have problems,LOL we have been with iinet for about eight years now with very little trouble, almost none, then we decided to put bigpond wireless on the laptop so that we could get on the internet while sitting in our caravan while we are touring and I must say it is fantastic when it is working. I kid you not that we could boil the kettle in the time it takes to open a thread here, that is if it doesn't drop out in the meantime. Not sure what the problem is at the moment but we certaintly need things to move a little faster than this.

Hope you sort your problems out soon

D&B

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 196548

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 23:33

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 23:33
'D&B'= 'Dunworkin & Boss'?
Thanks for the input. Remember when things were simple? The local 'phone exchange operater [spellchek thattie, Bud] kept tabs on who was working whom, 'n whoosee paying. Mail a letter, and it will arrive [albeit via a weird route], sometime.
Today, we're promised instant everything. And we get distressed when it doesn't deliver. Doesn't REALLY matter, does it, except we're all paying our little bits into this giant bs vacuum that , while stupendiously wonderful , is so full of holes.

I still carry a fair tool kit. Don't know why, really.If this car bleep s itself, it's on the phone and wait for the bill.
. Hope you sort the Bigpond problem. Maybe you could use a lower heat setting when you boil the billy Ta D&B.
FollowupID: 454833

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 07:31

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 07:31
Hi Jeff
Ya old bugger
I used Westnet ADSL when I was in Mt Isa ,had no problems,I still use the same account now I'm in Perth and still no problems, As far as I am concerned Telstra is a huge RIP-OFF
And to Dunworkin I had a little wireless modem when I was in Tennant Ck for a while and got a big bill [Telstra] Ripped off again, so after 1 month and $499 I just threw it in the draw where still is today and after CDMA goes ...well I may as well throw it in the bin as it will be totally useless.

Doug

AnswerID: 196569

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 14:06

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 14:06
When is the rest of Australia going to come to their senses and drop Telstra all together...??? I can't believe people are still signing up to their broadband rip-offs and paying for dial-up what others are asking for broadband...

Unless you have cable, and I do believe Optus offers a better product(More downloads, uploads don't count and a faster upload bit-rate), I can't see the sense.
AnswerID: 196622

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 14:08

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 14:08
dammit, thought I hit spell check...

Also, when you hear people bitching about dial-up dropouts ask them who they are with... I haven't heard anyone say anything other than Bigpond yet...
FollowupID: 454948