Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 18:32
alexk
Hi Guys,
I am currently running the standard 265/70/R16 on the 80 series with 16x8 rims. I'm looking to replace them with 285/75/R16 but keep the standard rims. I've heard that the additional width in the rubber bludgers the side walls when on 8" rims and result in increased chance of punctures.
Has anyone has experience with 285/75/R16 on standard 80 series 16x8 rims?
Alex
Reply By: RedGibber - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 18:48
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 18:48
Alex,
If no-one can allay your concerns, as an alternative you could go with 265/75/R16 as many 80 series and Patrol owners have done...gives you extra height on std
suspension without rubbing and other possible issues.
Red
Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 13:23
Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 13:23
I run 285/75-16 Goodyear MT/R's on my standard 80 Rims. No worries. Standard
suspension too although that will change soon hopefully. Go for it!
Scoey
Reply By: Boxhead - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 18:49
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 18:49
done nearly 70,000km on sand, gravel, gibbers, earth & black stuff with 285/75/r16 BGF -- no probs.
Follow Up By: alexk - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 18:51
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 18:51
I'll also be putting in new springs and shocks, prob OME 50mm lift on std, or something similar.
Reply By: alexk - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 18:52
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 18:52
What pressure do you run on the black stuff and on rocky bush fire trials?
Follow Up By: Boxhead - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 18:59
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 18:59
40psi on bitumen
anywhere from 25 to 35 psi on rocky tracks depending on condition & my load
Reply By: alexk - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 19:11
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 19:11
Thanks mate, say have you had any probs or concerns with the 15mm over std dia rule?
Follow Up By: Boxhead - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 19:52
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 19:52
no & no to be short
Reply By: Emo - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 20:10
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 20:10
I run 285/75/16 BFG M/T's and love them.
Reply By: Member - Matt B (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 20:16
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 20:16
I've got Cooper ST's 285 75 16 on my 80 series and they are fine. No excessive buldging at all.
Reply By: gazza60 - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 20:29
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 20:29
you will have no problems running 285x75x16 tyres on your 16x8 rims
Reply By: Nick R - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 22:23
Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 22:23
Listen to what these people said, I actually bought my 80 with this size on, had no worries, got a GU now with those tiny 265/70/r16 on, they will be buggered soon so bfg, mtr or cooper here we come.
Nick
Reply By: dinodog- Central Coast NSW - Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 20:17
Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 20:17
alexk
I am running Goodyear Wrangler LT305/70/16 on my 80 series 16x8 rims, no rubbing and they give a bit of a lift. They run just inside the wheel arch extentions. Substantial improvement in handling on the blacktop as
well as in the loose stuff. Not sure that they are legal but they look good. Run them at about 40 to 45 psi on the bitumen.
dinodog
Follow Up By: alexk - Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 23:42
Wednesday, Sep 27, 2006 at 23:42
Thanks Dinodog, I'll be riding on my new rubbers in a couple of weeks.
Reply By: Cornelius - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 14:28
Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 14:28
I moved on to 285/75's on my Patrol after fitting a 2" OME lift and no worries for the past 40000km. Done around 10000km of that on dirt. Run at around 30psi with the car loaded for dirt driving and on road at around 40 to 42 psi. On sand at around 18 psi and have never had any probelms