Submitted: Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 08:24
Member - Ian S (NT)
Pat and I leave Mt Dare on Friday at the end of a very quick season 2006. We will be meeting up with some Brissie friends to accompany them across
the desert, revisit
Birdsville (see ya soon Ruthie) and then go back into
the desert for a project for most of October.
We will be back at Mt Dare at
Easter for season 2007 and the official opening of the new pub.
Lots of exciting things planned for next year. Dave and Mel Cox are taking a break and will be back in November. Look out for them at the 4WD shows in
Adelaide and
Melbourne.
Caretakers Bill and Nancie will be here until Dave and Mel return.
We ill stay in touch via the
forum.
Ian @ Mt Dare
Ian@Mt Dare
Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 08:27
Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 08:27
have a good break both of you
Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 10:00
Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 10:00
Have fun mate. Sounds like you're becoming a fixture around those parts.
Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 10:28
Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 10:28
Hi Ian, I will be passing through Mt Dare next season. Could you please tell me if driving from the Stuart Hwy to
Rainbow Valley and then on to the Old Ghan road, do I have to return to the Stuart Hwy first or is there a direct track?
Follow Up By: Member - Ian S (NT) - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 13:07
Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 13:07
Hi Kiwi Kia,
There used to be a track from the back of
Rainbow Valley to the Hugh River Stock Route then onto the Ghan Track. Has been shut for some time and access is actively discouraged. You need to return to the Stuart Highway.
Ian @ Mt Dare
Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 13:10
Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 13:10
Thanks Ian, if the rivers don't rise see you next August.
Reply By: marion - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 15:47
Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 15:47
Hello Ian and Pat we hope to see you next year.We were there in July thanks for your hospitality and good wishes we were the Victorians who had a message waiting there for us re our daughter.She is doing
well and her cancer was just contained to the one tumour.Thought you might like to know. Good luck on the opening we will be there afterwards take care. Cheers Marion
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 16:00
Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 16:00
G'day Ian and Pat,
Looking forward to seeing you if you are able to make it here to the
Yorke Peninsula...otherwise it'll have to be just after
Easter next year, when we hope to get up your way and on to Chamber Pillar.
Havagoodun mate
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 18:21
Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 18:21
Gday Ian,
We've really appreciated having a "local" give us quality info on the
forum.
Hope the
Madigan Line shortcut you've established becomes
well travelled.
I'm taking notes on your lifestyle - reckon I'd like to do the same when I hit 55, but thats about 6 years away.
Reply By: Member - Mary W (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 18:25
Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 18:25
Hi Ian and Pat,
It was great to meet you.Our group made it safely home and I believe our "problem child" bikie made it back to the Central coast.I really loved that trip and I think the green Defender will make another appearance in the future.Have a good break.
Cheers,Mary
Reply By: goldie - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 17:00
Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 17:00
Have a wonderful trip. Chris And Lindsay