NT to join the 110kph club

Submitted: Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 01:09
ThreadID: 38134 Views:3440 Replies:13 FollowUps:67
Seems the days of no speed limit in the NT might soon be over.

Site Link

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 08:46

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 08:46
Bugger
AnswerID: 197098

Follow Up By: Angler - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 20:52

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 20:52
The report does say "considering" maybe there is hope yet. I must admit I quite enjoyed driving to suit me and conditions without having to keep looking at the speedo. I found I ended up travelling between 110 and 120Kph. With the van in tow I did reach 100 for a short time before slowing to a more reasonable towing speed.

Maybe a glance at the speedo occassionaly does assist in safety.

Pooley
www.bycompass.com
FollowupID: 455677

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 11:29

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 11:29
Pooley, I have doubt that taking one eyes off the road to check the speedo is a safety consideration, in the state of speed dumba$$es one spends more time watching the speedo than the road so another dumba$$ doesnt have to send you a pic and a fine...........

ahhh Safety Live it, speed....pay for it

FollowupID: 455831

Reply By: Member - Gaz@Gove (NT) - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 09:39

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 09:39
Gee eh!.
When the Majority of deaths have
1\ Occurred on remote roads, which have speed limits
2\ Involved the person not wearing a seat belt.
3\ Were single vehicle accidents.
4\ Alcohol was inolved.

So lets ban smoking in vehicles, that should stop the illegal fisherman.
That's how effective it will be.
Mmmmmmmm, now where do we go next?

AnswerID: 197107

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 10:37

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 10:37
Thats's poetry mate!

Perhaps trhe road safety council could spend $42,000,000,000 on consultants to commission a non-secular, disabled, black, lesbian, puppet theatre workshop to investigate and liaise with the key stakeholders into group chakra realignment techniques and non-successful outcome reassignments for travellers.
FollowupID: 455570

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 15:04

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 15:04
Must admit, I have always wondered why you are allowed to smoke whilst driving, yet it is illegal to eat or drink!
FollowupID: 455608

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 18:11

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 18:11
Ban smoking while driving makes good sense... but Huh!!?? since when was it illegal to eat and drink while driving??? News to me.

Just drove in Europe.... In Germany the flew down the Autobahns. I was in lane two travelling at 135k while on the third [outside] lane I estimate that the speed was nearer to 180k by some.

The roads however were WAY BETTER than ours and the road ettiquette was WAY BETTER.

110k is plenty for most roads... maybe 130k for some outback roads.. but only some.

I take your four points and guess you must know this from some research or other. I expect that the speed the vehicles travelled at may still have been over 110k in many cases. As I understand it, the statisticians place speeding second only to drink driving as the the cause of deaths.

FollowupID: 455640

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 20:56

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 20:56
Good points guys, but one of the big things is the high percentage of people having accidents with drugs in their bloodstream. Why is speed the issue, to persue? Because it is an easy one to police.
FollowupID: 455679

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 21:05

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 21:05
Jees Royce, the cars must have slowed down, I can remember having to keep out of lane three at 160-170 with cars frequently overtaking at about 200 kph and one Jag I can remember must have been doing close to 220, may be more, just whooosh....

I was amazed that even the people mover I drove in France three years ago would get to 160kph or so - diesel at that. That was a little un-nerving. In the UK I was overtaken by a commercial Citroen van which must have been doing 90 mph!
FollowupID: 455682

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 22:43

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 22:43
Shaker

Since when is it illegal to eat or drink whilst driving?
FollowupID: 455695

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 22:59

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 22:59
Willem, it has been for a long time.
I know people that have been booked for it, BTW I am in Victoria.
FollowupID: 455697

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 23:13

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 23:13
I just spoke to him on MSN, he was eating a hot-dog & charged with 'negligent driving'
FollowupID: 455699

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 23:29

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 23:29
Shaker

Did a quick Google. There is no actual law which states that eating or drinking whilst driving is illegal.

BUT the police can use their discretion to book you for driving without due care if you are caught eating or drinking whilst driving and that is how your mate got done. Just eating in the wrong place at the wrong time and being seen.

I normally stop to eat something but I do have a bottle of water in the vehicle and have a swig when I am thirsty. I wouldnt dare do something like that in Victoria though....lol As it is I am on my way to Melbourne and environs on Tuesday so will have to drive with due care as always.
FollowupID: 455701

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 23:36

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 23:36
We all do it, just have to be careful, I always have water in the car too.
FollowupID: 455702

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 16:23

Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 16:23
"As I understand it, the statisticians place speeding second only to drink driving as the the cause of deaths. "

I wonder where stupidity, incompetence and lack of ability rate ?

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 455754

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 17:28

Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 17:28
well.... I suppose 'stupidity, incompetence and lack of ability rate" after speed.
FollowupID: 455765

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 18:43

Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 18:43
Maybe, stupidity causes the speeding, then incompetence & lack of ability account for the deaths?
FollowupID: 455773

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 11:41

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 11:41
the current "wipe off five" campaign is predicated on two cars, one travelling five km/h faster than the other. The faster one hits the truck/hits the pedestrian so the message is "Speed is Bad". What a load of piffle! Driving isnt about sitting on a speed limit, its about driving for the condiditons, and in an urban street shopping centre 60km/h is too fast I reckon, same as 130km/h is about right for a well maintained dual carriageway. And we dont blindly drive along, we should be looking ahead and reacting proactively to situations rather than hitting the brakes at the last moment.

If you hit a tree at 100km/h legally, you're cactus, if you hit it at 80km/h youre probably cactus too, if you hit it at 120 you're probably cactus three. Its NOT speed alone that is dangerous its the nuts behind the wheel, or who blindly walk off a footpath in front of a vehicle and then expect it to stop cause their dumba$$ enough to do something stoopid.

The roads in Germany we drove on this year were just as good as the Hume or Geelong road, and their secondary roads just as crappy as ours, much thinner too, no shoulder, etc, one of the Autobahns was in a really bad state between Munuch and Nuremberg, so road conditions, IMHO are comparable. The german road toll is worse than ours per capita by about 15%. Speed doesnt kill, injudicious use of speed kills.

Geez what a rant.

FollowupID: 455832

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 13:56

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 13:56
Driving is about driving for the conditions... agreed.

You and I are really good at that. [well I am some of the time]

Unfortunately EVERYONE gets to drive. Lots have bad judgement, or are simply unfamiliar with the area. Hence we need speed limits.

I guess this discussion is not really about whether speed limits are needed but rather where they are set at. I also don't really expect anyone to argue with hefty fines for those who ignore the speed limits.
FollowupID: 455863

Reply By: Barnesy - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 11:21

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 11:21
Still can't see the reasoning. They say a lot of drivers speed around schools and suburbs. Is the Stuart highway a suburban area? Are there schools there?

Aboriginal drivers die because of alcohol. Tourists die because of fatigue from unfamiliar long distance trips.

A recommended speed limit, similar to Germany's autobahn, would be a lot better option for long boring drives on bitumen. They recommend 130 kmh but it's up to the driver to go at a speed they think is safe.

110 instead of 140 would add several hours to a long boring drive increasing tiredness.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 197119

Follow Up By: Member - Gaz@Gove (NT) - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 11:26

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 11:26
There are few deaths because of no speed limit. As Barnesy says, Alcohol and fatigue are some of the causes. Speed does in some cases but no more than other areas. Plue the highway is a lot better than the Qld highway.
Mmmmmmmm, now where do we go next?

FollowupID: 455575

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 18:17

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 18:17
Don't disagree with you Barnsey except for the 'several hours'.... I travel heaps of ks and even over 1,000 ks you could only save two hours on the trip and that is if you really could travel at a constant 140ks instead of 110.

I guess I should also point out that Aboriginal drivers die from fatigue and tourist of cos of alcohol ....sometimes...
FollowupID: 455641

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 11:44

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 11:44
Barnesy, I have found that driving faster actually reduces fatigue as one is naturally more aware. I woudnt recommend it tho. Being an old fart now I pull over and take a nanna nap.

FollowupID: 455834

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 13:58

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 13:58
More aware because................ ?

I guess more adrenaline cos it's more dangerous?
FollowupID: 455864

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 11:37

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 11:37
It said in the report [110km/h speed limit on the Stuart Highway] ?? maybe that is what they mean and still open on other roads, anyhow just watch the NT road toll rise if they do

Prof Johnston told the Northern Territory News that Territorians should calculate the difference in driving from Darwin to Alice at 100km/h and 140km/h.
``The four hours or so is not worth a life,'' he said.
-----------------
I say he is wrong, an extra 4 hours can mean the onset of fatigue and normal motorists can't recognise when
----------------------------

He said Territory roads were not good enough to allow safe high-speed driving

I say he is crap , much better than Qld and NSW tracks

AnswerID: 197124

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 12:30

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 12:30
>>> I say he is wrong, an extra 4 hours can mean the onset of fatigue and normal motorists can't recognise when
----------------------------
so what do you do when your tired? Pull over and sleep...
FollowupID: 455582

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 15:05

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 15:05
Well said, Truckster!
FollowupID: 455609

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 16:55

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 16:55
Doug T, I would file that under ignore, I mean look where they are from, Victoria for crist sake The bloody nanny state where you can tern Nancy over night and before you know it not even be able to get a team into the AFL Grand Final, On the Plus side the WA boy’s won’t suffer any injuries thanks to all the Bubble rap that state and the football field is plastered in.LMAO

FollowupID: 455629

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 17:49

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 17:49
Exploder
Yeh your right mate, both of them are from now on on my IGNORE list and as for that other one and his comments about pedestrians he is on it to and will be treated with the just contempt he deserves,A bit like the greenies, they get some silly bird brained ideas in their heads and no matter what you say you just can't get through to them, so yeh thats it, thanks mate

FollowupID: 455636

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 18:19

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 18:19
Please don't put us on your IGNORE list!

What State are from Exploder that makes you such a he-man?
One thing that is very noticable is that when ever anybody mentions the speed limit, or the fact that they may travel just below it .... you arc up!
You are the sort of driver that we need off the roads, remember the speed limit is just that, the LIMIT, there is no obligation for anybody to travel at that limit.

I have never read so much unadulterated bull bleep as I have read in this post, that speed limits actually cause deaths on the roads, most deaths are caused by idiots that ignore the road rules & think they are invincible.
FollowupID: 455643

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 18:48

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 18:48

Who is arcing up, I got no problems with people travelling at the limit or below it, if they wish it's a free country, if Jo Blogs want’s to fly past me at 160 that’s fine with me too, I rely couldn’t care less

What pisses me off is when people who think they are being safe buy travelling at 90 in a 110-zone mean while traffic is banking up behind them or sitting in the right lane on a freeway doing 80Kp/h, there are 2 or 3 lanes for a reason buddy, you what to do 80 get in the left one so as to allow those of us who wish to travel at the posted limit to do so.

And mate the Speed limit is that the Speed at which you travel, it isn’t optional 100 is that 100 not 80 and 100 if you feel like it, and cop’s can and will pull you up if you are holding up traffic.

Oh and I think you need to actually Drive with me before you pass comment, never had a speeding fine, despite what you may think I don’t flog it every where I go, I will drive above the limit on country roads when the conditions permit, around the city I am with in + or- 5K’s of the posted limit and 70% of the time dead on it.
FollowupID: 455652

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 19:05

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 19:05
QUOTE: "And mate the Speed limit is that the Speed at which you travel, it isn’t optional 100 is that 100 not 80 and 100 if you feel like it, and cop’s can and will pull you up if you are holding up traffic"
-----------------------------------------------------------------

WRONG! So according to you whenever a truck can't maintain 100kmh it is breaking the law ...... ROFL

-----------------------------------------------------------

20. Obeying the speed-limit
A driver must not drive at a speed over the speed-limit applying to the driver
for the length of road where the driver is driving.

------------------------------------------------------------------

Doesn't say anything about not being legal to travel a lesser speed.
FollowupID: 455659

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 20:39

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 20:39
No because the truck has a reason for not maintaining 100, Due to its Load or Road conditions, Towing a caravan you will also be given leeway but if the traffic is getting banked up and a police car is present he may pull you over to allow traffic to pass as well as suggest you do so in the future.

Also slow moving trucks often have a Pilot, Entire Doug and sometimes a police escort too who will allow Traffic build up to pass, amongst other things they do.

You are not given leeway if you are cruising along in you car that is more than capable of maintaining the limit and you are still travelling well below it and holding up traffic, I believe it is something like 20kp/h below is unacceptable, it’s call obstruction of Traffic or something along those lines.

Give it a try next time a cop is behind you, and if he is in a bad mood you will get an Ear full.

Now I know all you Vic’s are upset about the AFL at the moment so I will let the harsh comment's slide this time, just go and have a can of beer and relax, I don’t think you want to be arguing with me over the internet on you week end do you, I think you would much rather be doing something constructive?

Seriously thou, you know the great thing about opinion everyone has got one, you have your and I have mine, and you know what, in the grand scheme of things they all mean F**k all. So we can sit hear a Chit ster till the cows come home or we can just accept we both have a different view on this topic.

FollowupID: 455674

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 20:59

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 20:59
Exploder, I don't think the Vics are worried at the moment on the AFL because at the moment they are STORMING
FollowupID: 455681

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 22:56

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 22:56
Enjoyable discussion Exploder ........ BTW I will be barracking for Sydney, as far as the Rugby goes .... who cares?
FollowupID: 455696

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 09:36

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 09:36
Oh no... gasp.. on an ignore list boohoo.... the world will end..

FollowupID: 455814

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 11:48

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 11:48
You guys break me up hahahahahaha

Not you T-Man, you just impress me!

FollowupID: 455836

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 23:14

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 23:14
Your my dreamboat too honeysuckle... :)
FollowupID: 455906

Reply By: adamj1300 - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 12:36

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 12:36
i know its a long trip to darwin, but how fast do u guys on advertage drive during the trip, my patrol doesn't like anything over 120kms
AnswerID: 197132

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 13:13

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 13:13
Could always modify it if you don't like it. My GU will comfortably cruise on 130+. Without the trailer you can add another 10kph to this.
When on hols this is not my prescribes speed limit but when at work it is. I don't say everyone do this and I respect other road users who don't sit on this speed and I ask the same in return from these other road users.

Cheers Trevor.
FollowupID: 455593

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 13:16

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 13:16
I'll generally sit on about 120 - 125 in the patrol, and 130 in the commadoor IF the conditions suit - some go faster, but this is where I feel the most comfortable. As a few have eluded to, adding time to the trip (IMO) will greatly increase the chances of fatigue related crashes. It does depend on the trip though. Doing the 800k trip to Darwin in just under 7 hours is much better than same trip in 9.

I'm saying this in referance to doing a trip this distance in one hit. It would make less diferance if it was done in 2 stints - since we had the kids, we tend to do the first leg (500k to katherine) at lower speeds in the eavening while they sleep, Then the last 300 the next morning. On these trips, the eavening leg is done at a more lesurley pace due to wildlife/cattle, wheras in the day higher speeds are safe.

Its nice to have the choice....at the moment

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 455594

Follow Up By: Hairy - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 13:40

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 13:40
Average 130km
FollowupID: 455596

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 18:19

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 18:19
95ks costs a lot less and I usually find less fatigue if travelling at this speed on cruise control... with lots of stops to enjoy the country. IMHO
FollowupID: 455644

Follow Up By: Hairy - Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 14:02

Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 14:02
Thats fine if your a tourists but what about the poor buggers who live here! 95kmh That would put another 2 hours on a return trip to Tennant
FollowupID: 455744

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 17:30

Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 17:30
Or one hour on each leg. Arrive alive. Yep .... good deal. 'specially for us non-tourists.
FollowupID: 455766

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 11:51

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 11:51
If they bring in a speed limit the trip will have a few stops for speeding fines....much safer, and if they setup the speed traps near wayside stops we could have a cuppa with Royce while the walloper goes nuts checking the height/road worthiness of the 4b.

FollowupID: 455837

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 13:59

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 13:59
I guess one thing that will not happen in the NT is that there will be enough wallopers to sit along the road to catch you:-]]
FollowupID: 455865

Follow Up By: Hairy - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 16:04

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 16:04
What are "wallopers", scalies?
FollowupID: 455872

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 21:33

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 21:33
Hairy,

The one's that do the walloping when they catch you doing more than the speed limit.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 455893

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 12:40

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 12:40
I don't give a damn what other people do, or how urgent freight is when I was driving Trucks, and now when I'm going somewhere long distance if I feel tired yes I stop and have 15 minutes ,half an hour and then feel refreshed again, of course Truckster you will have other ideas but your not me,

I never lost a Truck,
I never lost a load;
Easier to unload at the Depot
than to pick it up off the road.

and I got through 30 years with that attitude

AnswerID: 197133

Reply By: LastAussieWorker - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 13:24

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 13:24
some people more money than brains to travel faster 100kph
fuel over 100kph costs a fortune
set cruise to 90kph and enjoy scenery
rest and stop when tired
some of you guys are temporary aussies
travellers should be limited to hours like truckies
AnswerID: 197140

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 14:21

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 14:21
It depends on the scenery and the cost of time, the road condition etc etc. Travelling at 90kph is too fast for safety in some area's and conditions, wheras 130kph is quite safe in some area's. Fuel costs can be covered by less accomodation costs etc if you spend less time travelling, not to mention added productive hours on a business trip.

Drive to the conditions not the speedo

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 455602

Follow Up By: Robin - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 15:18

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 15:18
"Drive to the conditions not the speedo , Cheers Andrew"

Andrew don't sidetrack this discussion with common sense !

FollowupID: 455612

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 16:28

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 16:28
“Fuel over 100kph costs a fortune;” yeah I am sitting on 2000RPM at 100 and around 2450 at 130 so that has bumped my consumption up by what .5Ltrs per 100 K’s mabey, Whooo baby....

Rest and stop when tired> yeah trouble is not everybody know when they are tyred/

some of you guys are temporary aussies> WTF

travellers should be limited to hours like truckies> Crap

FollowupID: 455623

Follow Up By: camship - Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 09:44

Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 09:44
L.A.W. ; please give me your rego # , I need to know so I can flash my lights at you and tell you to get out of the damn road.
FollowupID: 455733

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 19:23

Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 19:23
Exploder, dunno what vehicle you drive but i have a carton in the fridge that says it uses more than .5 of a litre to travel at 130 than 100 absalutly lmao at the suggestion. Consumption does not work on a percentage basis of what rpm you are doing.
And camship i dought a morron that flashes his lights at everyone not doing the speed limit would live long enough to get the chance to harrass LAW
FollowupID: 455779

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 11:55

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 11:55
Davoe, you could be into something there, dint u used to be widgiemooltha or somewhere similar?

LAW, just have your UHF on and note the channel on your back window, call the wannagettheresooner drivers thru and say gidday and happy EO to them and the world will be a lovely place

FollowupID: 455838

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 17:44

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 17:44
What was the system in NSW 30 odd plus years ago?
A discretionary speed limit of 80km/hr. (Was 50mph).
The police could pull you up if they felt you were driving unsafely above that.

Maybe set a discretionary speed limit of 120 or 130km/hr?
OK to go above if safe, i.e. for the vehicle, driver and conditions?

I know, it will be abused by both some drivers and police, but for the majority it may work.
AnswerID: 197183

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 18:24

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 18:24
That would work but that would require the Cop’s to be out on the road being seen, instead of paying a company for hiding cameras in the shadows and behind trees, which is more profitable and gives the impression of actually doing something.

Let’s face it, having Cop’s out on the road and pulling drivers up when they feel they are travelling too fast for the conditions and telling them to slow down or issuing a fine depending on the situation, will possibly save lives but the government won’t be making money off that will they.

If speed limits were lifted on selected roads how fast would the majority of people travel, I would bet between 110-140, haw fast do the majority of people travel now 110-140?, in the contry I normally cruse on 115-130 depending on where I am, if limits were lifted I doubt that would change much.

Limits or no limit’s it isn’t going to stop Jo no brain flying down the Kwinana freeway at 180Km/h at 2Am after sinking a 6pack of VB is it, a law isn’t going to stop somebody who doesn’t give a F**k.
FollowupID: 455648

Reply By: Member - Tim - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 18:07

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 18:07
How long ago was it now that the speed limit in built up areas in Brisbane was reduced from 60kmh to 50kmh? In that time I have not seen one single study to show that it resulted in less accidents or deaths. Obviously the temporary increase to 110 on some highways must have been successful since it is now in place permanently on a few but where is the study to show that the changes in speed limits have resulted in changes in accidents and deaths? Have there been some and I have just not seen them or did they not show what the government wanted them to show so they got no publicity? My belief was always that the people causing the problems weren't sitting on the speed limit anyway, they were driving too fast for the conditions and that doesn't change no matter what the limit is. The guy who runs over the kids in the school zone was probably not doing 60 let alone the 40 that the rest of us stick to. As far as most people I know are concerned speed limits are ignored at risk of a fine, not at risk of death or injury to yourself or others. Speed limits in general are revenue raising not life saving.

I believe the speed limits on many open roads can be much higher than they are and the majority of people will be quite safe. Put some decent driver training and testing in place rather than allowing someone to have a licence just because they can answer some multiple choice questions and drive around the block a few times in daylight in good weather. That's how lives would be saved rather than changing the speed limit in the NT. If you truly know what your vehicle is capable of and also know what you are capable of then that is the safest way to travel.

Tim.

AnswerID: 197189

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 18:23

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 18:23
Good points.... where are the studies? Wonder why they put speed limits on these open roads. Hmmm must be some studies somewhere. I might have a look.
FollowupID: 455647

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 11:57

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 11:57
yep agree wholeheartedly, imagine the chagrin of the community when a bad bastard gets nabbed for doing 54 in a 50 zone, the hide of some people

FollowupID: 455839

Reply By: Member - Royce- Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 18:38

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 18:38
casr.adelaide.edu.au/speed/

Site Link

www.roadsense.com.au/shortversion.html

www.tfhrc.gov/safety/speed/speed.htm

Site Link

www.ibiblio.org/rdu/sl-irrel.html

Site Link

Site Link

www.cato.org/dailys/05-28-99a.html

A few studies on speed above..

Meanwhile while I was looking at these my Ambulance Paramedic wife walked in .... just home from work.

"What is the major cause of death and injury on the road?" I ask... "Speed" she says!

But... "Speed combined with any one or more of drink, fatigue, inexperience, road surface, no seatbelts." So my expert says that increased speed equals increased injury and death when a vehicle hits something for any other reason.

After butting in all over this conversation... I reckon about 130k on the Stuart should be about right. But what would I know.
AnswerID: 197193

Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 20:39

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 20:39
Thanks Royce, that was interesting reading.

How do they come up with such completely different views though? One says that the introduction of speed cameras and lower speed limits in the US would have reduced fatalities and injuries dramatically (using Victoria as an example) while another shows that the increases in speed limits above 55mph have actually resulted in a lowering of fatalities and injuries. Inconclusive reading to say the least. I loved the comment in one of them though "Why doesn't the press cover Mr. Nader when he's wrong?", kind of reminds me of our mate Harold.

Surely if it requires speed in conjunction with something else then my comments above about better training and testing being required are even more true.

Tim.
FollowupID: 455675

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 11:59

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 11:59
I assume you are using the term "mate" in the sense that we "mate" male and female animals...........

FollowupID: 455840

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 21:11

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 21:11
Bonz, I learned some terminology doing the Company Directors Course way back last century. In every transaction there is a "screwer" and "screwee" Always try to make sure you aren't the screwee. Try to turn the tables on the Scruby character, and get him to bend over.
FollowupID: 455892

Reply By: FZJ 80 - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 19:37

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 19:37
I think it is sad the NT is going this way. The remainder of the states are in an overregulated position, speed camers (Rev Raisers) all over the place and other measures to keep the public in place and really it only works on the easy target. The average person that exceeds the limit marginally , i.e getting the ticket in the mail caught doing 72 in the 60, the average person pays it,keeps the coffers full. The nitwits that continue to drive unlicenced,drink drive etc face court,get off or do minimal time etc and continue driving like lunitics (As exploder said), you won't stop that. So in summary,i feel in the ''You can't do that" society in which we live it is sad that the NT is changing from the freedom that it is known for.

AnswerID: 197206

Reply By: Old4runner - Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 02:24

Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 02:24
I do agree with what has been written in all the posts - to a certain degree,but - has any one ever seen the most sour, dour expressionless gormless twit from the Green Party when he is interviewed. He must be the most negative and miserable politicion that I have ever had the misfortune to see on the telly. As soon as his miserable and monotone voice erupts on the news, I hit the change channel button.
And on the subject of speed, since when has a speed camera ever saved a life as we are lead to believe. Its nothing more than political brainwashing that speed cameras save lives. What a load of crock. More people die in this country from stroke/heart attacks and other illnesses. And lets face it, the only thing in life that is guaranteed is death. When your number is up, thats it buddy, you are gone, as happened to Peter Brock and Steve Irwin. We are all born to die - even the bloody useless politicians who get brainwashed by our Mr Harold *&^*%%$. I drive a V6 4Runner and am quite happy sitting at 100 -110 all day if necessary. Over 110 the fuel gauge drops like a stone, but have travelled at 140 KMH, the vehicle wasnt happy at that speed and neither was I. But if given a Jag or Merc or a Ferrari, then it would be a different story alltogether ! I`ve said enough for one night.
AnswerID: 197245

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 17:27

Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 17:27
I like your passion Old4runner, but I guess to answer your question..
"since when has a speed camera ever saved a life..."

That would be when someone changes their speed and therefore doesn't die when they avoid a collision or are only injured as a result, because they don't want to get caught by that camera and therefore drive more slowly.

Seems a bit obvious really.
FollowupID: 455764

Follow Up By: nissnut - Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 18:34

Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 18:34
MK Patrol ..........130 kph.....................dont I wish
FollowupID: 455772

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 12:10

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 12:10
Royce, on the Geelong road there are four speed cameras in both directions on a 3 lane wizzbang, better than the Bahn highway. Now when they were being switched on there was an amnesty, than goodness for me, cause I would have been nabbed at least 5 times, i drive the road weekly.

What happens is this. Mr Old Fart (me) drives along on the cruise control at 101/102 km/h with cars passing me along the road. I get to a point (four points actually) where I start to catch up the traffic and silently meniton rude words as to why these dummies are slowing down, indicate, move t the RH lane and overtake sligtly pressing the accelerator as I top 105 nearing 110 and sail under the speed camera! Bugger! I say there we go again. Fortunately I learnt how to program proximity points in the GPS and it squarks now when I am 1km from a camera and I watch as the traffic slows drives under the camera and zoms off. Every week this happens, every camera this happens, now I know where they are I just slow down with the other drivers rather than get caught.

Dumba$$ polly the oither week says the camera are having an affect in the Geelong road....Why? Surely the average traffic speed has slowed, measured somehow scientifically and reliably? OH NO it was based on the fact that camera fines had dropped by 40% so things MUST be better. Take a drive dumba$$ and see what a fool you are! (Not you Royce)

If I got pinged for being duped by drivers who know where the cameras were I would be peeved!

Now the road has been upgraded from two to three lanes and I can see the day sooen where cameras will be proclaimed tha panacea for all driving errors as death and injury have reduced on that road...no mention of three lanes...just cameras...... Big Brother is a dumba$$ I reckon

Sheesh...another rant

FollowupID: 455841

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 14:07

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 14:07
Interesting method in England [there last week].
They have averaging cameras. Over a dangerous stretch they ask for a speed.
Camera takes a shot of all cars at the start and at the end.
Too fast an average through that stretch and your pinged.
FollowupID: 455867

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 02:04

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 02:04
"They have averaging cameras"

Hehehehehe ..... currently being tested in NSW. It's going to get a lot harder for those with a heavy right foot hahahahahahahahaha
FollowupID: 455917

Reply By: Old4runner - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 01:10

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 01:10
Problem is that over here the revenue raising authorities must tink we are all stupid. Speed cameras are never placed on black spot areas or on the most dangerous roads. They are always on the freeways in the same place. Most of the time they are also situated when you are driving into the sun so you cant see them. Does the speed camer jump and say " slow down buddy - you are going to get killed on this corner " I wish jelly fish. The bloody cameras are placed on roads where I have never in my life seen a fatal accident - that doesnt mean to say that its not going to ever happen. The fickle finger of fate can play some nasty tricks, but when you are on a dead ( no pun intended ) straight road in the rush hour traffic - what do you see , bloody revenue rasing camera. I`m past the stage of trying to see how fast my car can go. Much prefer to arrive five minutes late then arrive dead - on time. ! I dont mind if some hot headed testosterone filled 19 year old thinks he is as good as Schumacher or Fangio or Stirling Moss and kill himself. Its his /her family that I feel for, but you cant put an old head on young shoulders, and its sad fact of life that most of them have to learn the hard way. Some make it to a ripe old age and others - dont. I`ve put in my lifetime over one million MILES not KMH behind me with one fatal accident when a pedestrian was on a motor way over seas bilnd drunk. To make matters worse he was black, and dressed in a black shirt, trouser and white shoes. In the headlights of my car all I could see on the multi lane motorway was two white objects, and many cars passing me at well over 160 KMH . This was back in 1964. The poor man never new what hit him and neither did I , until I pulled up and saw what had happened. If I hadnt of hit him somebody else would have. That memory still haunts me 40 years later. NO speed camera could have prevented that.
AnswerID: 197327

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 14:04

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 14:04
Sorry to hear about your horrible experience. Must be terrible.

I think cameras probably do warn to slow down. There are so many signs warning that they can be anywhere.

Keep looking. You'll find heaps [I reckon most] at black spots and dangerous spots. I understand how people build up the illusion that they are revenue raising only and are put at places to catch people out. But.. as I say .. keep looking, you'll see that that is not really the case.

In Europe they are using averaging cameras now in some areas. Photo at the start of a strip and at the end and decide whether you averaged over the limit for that stretch. Better??
FollowupID: 455866

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 20:24

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 20:24
Royce,
I have my own opinion on speeding and camera's etc, but would take too much typing, suffice to say they are not the same as yours :-)
You have made the point twice of the two camera's at point A and B to measure the time and calculate speed over that distance, as used overseas and whether it would work here or anywhere for that matter, answer... No, this discussion has come up previously on this forum, the heavy vehicle fatigue camera's in NSW have been doing this since they were put in place, it's a simple matter of pulling over at the last rest spot and having a nap or doing some ' bookwork ' before passing through the camera, ie. if in a car or bike you can do 160 for the whole stretch then pull up for a pee or buy a sanga before going through the point B camera.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 455890

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 00:38

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 00:38
Good point.... speed and then stop and wait.... makes sense.... hmmm
FollowupID: 455913

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 02:14

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 02:14

Now Pezza, what is the point of doing 160kph for 99% of road between two cameras and stopping for a pee or whatever for long enough that you will average around whatever the legal speed limit is between those cameras ??? Would'nt it be simpler and far more fuel efficient to just stick to the speed limit between the cameras?

One could view it as a protest but I liken it to bleep yourself in a dark suit. Gives you a warm feeling but nobody notices :))))))))
FollowupID: 455918

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 01:42

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 01:42
Royce,
I didn't say it had to make sense, especially to someone like you ( I say that in a nice conversational way, not sarcastic :-) or Redback or Shaker or any one else who shares those views, I was simply pointing out how easy it would be to get around that system.

Gramps,

Question.."what is the point of doing 160kph for 99% of road between two cameras and stopping for a pee or whatever for long enough that you will average around whatever the legal speed limit is between those cameras ??? "

I'm dissapointed in you Gramps, you mean you weren't able to pick my personality when we met ?? :-)))

Answer..The FUN factor :-)))) Not all of us live by the mundane follow-the-rules-in-the-government-brainwashing-book lives.

Question.."Would'nt it be simpler and far more fuel efficient to just stick to the speed limit between the cameras?"

Answer..Yes, but, point one, see answer above :-) and point two, you have to remember that not all of us worry so much about fuel economy, as you can see by some of the average speeds by some in the previous posts, it becomes even less of a factor when we're riding a bike that already gets 20km to the lt to start with.

"but I liken it to bleep yourself in a dark suit. Gives you a warm feeling but nobody notices :)))))))) "

Damn good analogy that is mate, maybe it comes from racing enduro's for too many years, I did some damn good riding out there through the scrub at times, but unfortunately the only spectators I had out there was a couple of goanna's and maybe the odd roo, so I was happy in that it gave me a warm, fuzzy feeling in knowing myself that I did an alright job.

Avagoodn
Pezza

FollowupID: 456063

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 07:54

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 07:54
Hahahaha Pezza, good answer. I did'nt even consider your 'two wheeler' addiction. I completely lose balance with any less than three LOL
FollowupID: 456073