hey Roachie and overheating

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 22:01
ThreadID: 38186 Views:2878 Replies:6 FollowUps:20
Well, yours was overheating with a nice new shiney radiator, and 200 gauges per drop of water to see how hot it got? Mine didnt get over 1/2 towing trailer AND on a 27 degree day (not exactly HOT, but hot as its been sicne I had it!)

Nuthin like buyin a used car ;)

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 22:05

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 22:05
PS...
It was nearly solid for most of that mid section between rad and the air cond condenser... all seeds and grass...

4 hours with air compressor and hose... still gettin bleep out of it after that!
AnswerID: 197406

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 22:36

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 22:36
Light hit with the oxy is a good way or the pressure cleaner.
Dont expect an answetr from Roachie for 2 weeks, he is swanning it up in camping land.

Cheers pesty
FollowupID: 455900

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 22:44

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 22:44
DAMN...
FollowupID: 455901

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 00:00

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 00:00
Can't believe YOU personally have actually done something to that machine.

I am impressed.
FollowupID: 455908

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 00:02

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 00:02
Why didn't you call - you could have borrowed the Karcher 520 or the oxy as Pesty suggested.

Bit too strong for my liking, almost to the 'terminate with extreme prejudice' stage.

Karcher works a treat.
FollowupID: 455909

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 00:03

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 00:03
Now that you have cleaned it so well you know whats going to happen don't you??????????????????????????????
FollowupID: 455910

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 08:44

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 08:44
Hi Lucky

Lucky ya going OS with us hahahahhaha, are ya packed???

Now to use oxy for removing grass etc is good, it only needs to be a soft flame to burn grass, which either burns it all or reduces its size enough to be blown out with air, not melt the solder, as the hose will make it expand when it gets wet and makes it harder to get out.
I have to take the radiators out off my work vehicles and clean them out at least every 12 months, even with fine mesh covers over them.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 455923

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 09:49

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 09:49
Hey Lucy..
FollowupID: 455927

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 16:32

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 16:32
LooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooSSSSsssssssssssssssssssseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee... ignoring me now?
FollowupID: 455971

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 22:10

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 22:10
Hey Dude

Didn't ya have a screen over the grille or even the bullbar?

Or did the radiator come like that?...LOL
AnswerID: 197407

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 22:20

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 22:20
factory accessory...

think its a TJM one...

:P
FollowupID: 455899

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 22:47

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 22:47
what p'ed me off even more, it was supposed to be a 20 min job, new coolant etc....

turned out to be an all dayer
FollowupID: 455903

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 22:54

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 22:54
Yeah I started to do the clean up ans then the radiator sprung a leak and so I put a new one in 3 weeks ago. One thing about the GQ is that the radiator is so easy to remove. Is the GU the same?
FollowupID: 455904

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 23:11

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 23:11
GU is actually easier.... once you realise that the cowling DOES have a lower section that unclips...
2 screws on top holding on a bracket that holds it in...
3 hoses
unclip lower and out it comes.

GQ wasnt exactly hard either :D
FollowupID: 455905

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 06:00

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 06:00
Just did mine while we were away Bruce, about 1 hour, stopping for a Rum on the way.

the first time I did it a few years ago, mine had more bleep in it than your pic does, thought I might have to whipper-snipper it to get it clean!
LOL....
AnswerID: 197415

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 09:49

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 09:49
Sadly most of the bleep fell off/out when I lifted it up, adn then dropped it back in...

But, I have no idea how Roachies thing overeheats.. probably 1/2 of mine was totally blocked... and the other 1/2 was 99/100ths blocked.. You could see thru about 1 in 10 fins... and theres still chit in there!!! I ran out of daylight.. and compressor.
FollowupID: 455926

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 09:02

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 09:02
Should have left it. Now it will run hot LOL. (I hope not obviously) Least one thing, you know the vehicle has come from inland somewhere and not been rented to go up and down Fraser Is. all day every day.

Trevor.

PS day temps over about 32c seem to get mine going up the temp scale so 27 should not effect it IMO.
AnswerID: 197424

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 09:52

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 09:52
>> Should have left it. Now it will run hot LOL.
I had that thought too!

Hasnt been rented, but I think its been used more than the Gov Dept that owned it.. red dust in it galore.

Yea, 27 isnt really a good indicator, but its the hottest Its been since I got the car in June.
FollowupID: 455928

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 14:02

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 14:02
I'm 'hanging' for the first 28C or 32C + for your follow up feedback.
FollowupID: 455956

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 16:22

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 16:22
piece of P madam... its a nissan..
FollowupID: 455968

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:45

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:45
This weekend was 30+ out west, and gauge did not get over 1/2 on the way back thru the baccus marsh hills towing :) Im happy
FollowupID: 459457

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:50

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:50
That's a good sign Trucky. Maybe the changes Mr Nissan made to the radiator have made a difference to the TD6???

I hope you stay happy and your truck stays cool.

Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 459459

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 22:14

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 22:14
Okay, 20 days after the original post and I'm now back on line and see what you mean. My PWR has been in for over 2 years now and has not been out for a look-see as to what chit it has accumlated......might be time to have a little looky me thinks!!!!

Cheers blokes.......
FollowupID: 459478

Reply By: Old Scalyback & denny - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 17:05

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 17:05
dunno if mine is as dirty as yours but it doesnt get hot came back from yarram, hills and all air con running gauge didnt move
i reckon its all rumours and b/s started by jealous TOYOTA drivers

roachies only gets hot because of all the gear to make it a top nissan
AnswerID: 197473

Reply By: awill4x4 - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 19:34

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 19:34
I wonder if the orientation of the TD6 radiator is a factor in them running cooler than the previous TD42 turbo models Bruce?
Yours is deeper and narrower than the previous models so all the air coming through the grill should be directed through the core whereas the previous models had part of the core not in the air stream because they were so wide.
There's also the benefit the coolant is exposed to the airstream for a longer period because your radiator is deeper than the previous model as well.
Regards Andrew.
ps: see you on Wednesday for the club meeting?
AnswerID: 197491

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 21:37

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 21:37
Had a look at another GU Ute radiator, and its at least 4inches wider! I was sorta shocked when i saw it.

But yea mine is heaps longer, which makes ya wonder if travelling in 1 direction (down a long length) would cool better than up and down and around....

Wednesday night fer sure... :)
FollowupID: 456014