landcruiser v prado
Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 16:31
dornbus
Hi, Whats the main differences (aside from $$$$) between a diesel auto 100 series landcruiser and the same in a prado?
Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 17:07
Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 17:07
None, if you believe that size doesn't matter :))))
Reply By: Davo_60 - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 17:08
Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 17:08
100 series is bigger, heavier and more powerful and has a far better auto trans, the prado is a little more economical. IFS in cruiser has history of problems as does the front diff off road. Both are great on the HWY.
Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 20:11
Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 20:11
Hi Davo - not sure if you're saying there are a 'history of problems' as
well as the diff, or that the 'front diff has a history of problems'
At any rate, the 105 (ie, live axle) is no better in the front diff than the 100 (IFS)
Follow Up By: Davo_60 - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 20:57
Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 20:57
I mean't IFS has weak points, but can be improved with aftermarket gear. The front diff not really strong enough but can be helped with diff lock. I think they make a great touring vehicle for those not into 'hard core' stuff.
Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:01
Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:01
No dramas mate - I wasn't being defensive - just wasn't sure what you meant.
Front diff the main prob, followed by cracks in A-Arms - but they can be easily fixed - after that you're pretty right - obviously the 100 doesn't quite have the wheel travel of the 105
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 02:14
Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 02:14
A-frame problems was only previous to the upgrade in sept 02, and due to welds being too short. If it has a 5 sp auto it isnt a worry.
100 series TD is a ripper with the 5sp auto. really good on juice to.
Reply By: AJs Prado - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 17:56
Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 17:56
Prado is same length from windscreen back as LC100 but about 2 inches narrower. 180L
tank in the prado v 150 in LC and a couple of cylinders short in the grunt dept.
Prado actually can handle more kg load in car plus the on roof than an LC100 according to GVM. Both are rated to 100kgs including roof rack but GVM means prado can technically carry more but practically it effects ride and handling.
Diesel LC has dual batteries as standard and more room for another and will out torque and perfrom the prado in towing.
Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 19:37
Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 19:37
The Prado has a different IFS configuration, the LC still uses the older type Torsion bar setup, which has some weak points in it.
Reply By: Steve - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 20:11
Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 20:11
they have their reputation for dependability but their body build is dire. Talk about lightweight. A while ago we were on
Stockton Beach and I checked one of the guys' tyre pressure specs on the inside of his door. When I closed it, I thought I'd swung it off it's hinges it was so lightweight. And that was in comparison to the Disco I used to drive. Obviusly built to a price. Like i say, their reliability and capability is renowned, but talk about basic.......
Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 20:13
Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 20:13
Back
seat is 4cm lower to the ground in the 120, than the 100
Boot area is 12cm shorter in depth in the 120, and I think from memory 8cm narrower...
Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:06
Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:06
100 Series got better brakes ;)
Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 06:27
Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 06:27
Prado already has spare wheel on the back door - LC has it underneath which both restricts adding a long
ranger tank (which the Prado doesn't need), but also exposes your spare to ground - especially if you put 285/75s on - ie, your spare becomes a boat anchor.
It's an easy (but costly) fix to put a Kaymar bar on, Long
Ranger tank underneath, and spare on the back. Prado is good to go from the factory.
If I were buying for my wife and I, it would be the Prado hands down - but because I have three growing kids (see my post above about
seat height and widths) I went for the 100. It also has the larger boot - once again, needed with a family of five - not needed if just the two of you (not sure who you are buying for!!
Another interesting one is cost - at the moment a diesel Prado is the same cost as a petrol Prado (last time I looked, just short of $50k), a petrol (V8) is around $55k, and a diesel is almost $15k more than that.. You can go second hand, but the same variances still apply.
Lastly, the common rail Prado is expected out within the next 12 months - more powerful and more economical than the current 3l - expect their prices to be more than 50k though (I'd reckon)
Follow Up By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 09:37
Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 09:37
New diesel Prado is out before end of this year Ivan :)
Current model diesel prado gxl (new) can be bought for about $47K onroad as
they are trying to get rid of stock...
Follow Up By: PatrolBen - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 20:00
Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 20:00
Line up
Line up
Come and you can get one of the last 'real' diesels before ultra high tech rubbish commonrail comes in.