Which is the best buy?

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 20:36
ThreadID: 38269 Views:2453 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
Ok I have decided on the type of vehicle ( Nissan Patrol cc) and sorted out warrenty issues as per post ID 38233 (thanks for the info) now I have two vehicles I am looking at

1, White June 2003 4.2 26000klms One owner, a building company. Standard execpt for 3 inch exhaust $38990

2, Gold June 2004 4.2 46000klms One owner, A builder Ths one has tool boxs built into the tray with gull wings and are quite suitable for what I need. Also has ladder racks. $38990

Any thoughts on which is the better buy?

Cheers Jim

Reply By: kookaburra - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 21:06

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 21:06
hi batboy, go to red book to check prices, coil springs to leaf springs also efect price, id prefer the coloured one on looks, make them a offer , every body dose it to me when iam selling something, also consider supply and demand, check service historys, ive had one, you wont be dissapointed ,mine had coil springs.cheers kookaburra
AnswerID: 197858

Reply By: Grunt Oxn - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 22:26

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 22:26
Depend on how much you want those tool boxes, I'd be checking the service histories of both vehicles and then get a good mechanic to go over it with a fine tooth comb. Good motor and running gear etc are much more important than colour and sexy tool boxes....................then again if you want sexy.....80 SERIES FOREVER...........sorry couldn't help myself.

Have a good one
Joe

AnswerID: 197878

Follow Up By: Batboy - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 06:22

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 06:22
I guess at least the 2004 model comes with about ten months New car warranty

I actually drove an 80 series..... ONCE! :) Just kidding my mate has one and its a lot more comfy than an another mates GU. Then again 80 is running Old Man Emu and the other TJM....

cheers Jim
FollowupID: 456628

Reply By: disco driver - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 23:46

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 23:46
Hi Jim,
The advice given in the previous replies is well worth considering but................
in the end you have to make the decision as it's your money that you're spending.

You should get the two vehicles independently inspected in regard to all things mechanical and factor those results into your decision making process.

Sorry if I sound a bit pedantic, but Ive just had a hard day.

Good luck with your choice

Disco

PS: Obviously with a name like mine, I'd buy a Land Rover Defender TD5 (either 110 or 130)
AnswerID: 197885

Follow Up By: Batboy - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 06:25

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 06:25
I would be looking at a dual cab Defender but unfortunately the missus thinks they are ugly Go figure.... Then again she wants to buy the 2004 vehicle.... why???
Cause the gold looks better!

FollowupID: 456630

Follow Up By: disco driver - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 12:01

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 12:01
Hi Jim,
Here is a not so silly suggestion if you can talk her into it
:
Blindfold SWMBO and then drive all three vehicles cross country with her in each in turn.

See if it makes any difference to her opinion after the "blind Trial".

Disco.
FollowupID: 456670

Reply By: Barnesy - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 02:59

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 02:59
Good advice. Another thing to think about is the one owned by a building company may have had many different drivers, meaning thrashed. Whereas the builder may have taken more care with is only ute.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 197895

Follow Up By: Batboy - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 06:12

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 06:12
True
FollowupID: 456626

Reply By: dj Patrol - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 20:11

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 20:11
Go get a independent report NRMA or a qualifyed mechanic be sensible if you dont know anything about them why do you ask on the forum which no one can see or help you with so good luck a big investment requires some homework.

dj patrol
AnswerID: 197995

Follow Up By: Batboy - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 06:12

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 06:12
I am asking for peoples opinions on the value of a 2003 vehicle with 26000 klms as opposed to a 2004 vehicle with 46000klms
I am not asking about the mechanical condition as I can see that for myself Sensible?

Jim
FollowupID: 456625

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 21:16

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 21:16
Hi Jim,

Start by buying each vehicle for the vehicles value and not it's accessories.

If one of the accessories is not important to you the other vehicle will seem better value. If you intend to put both accessories on your own truck anyway, price how much the toolbox will be to put on the 2003 model and the 3" exhaust on the 2004 model and this will give you a more "Apples for Apples" price except one is 12 months older obviously.

I suspect the 2004 model will work out cheaper as toolboxes and bar work could work out to be more expensive than a 3" exhaust if you had to put it on your truck yourself, when you eventually buy one.

Trevor.
AnswerID: 198007

Follow Up By: Batboy - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 06:16

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 06:16
Good advice Trev and thats the thing, neither the tool boxes nor the 3" exhaust hold much value to me so it comes down to older vehicle with less klms or newer vehicle with more klms. Somewhere the must be point where one becomes better value than the other. I reckon the yard has it right pricing them at the same price because i'll be buggered if I can pick the difference.

Cheers jim
FollowupID: 456627

Reply By: Pavo - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 12:57

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 12:57
I'd be getting the 2004 (all other things being equal). I don't think 20,000kms extra is a concern, but then I don't do big kms, so I wouldn't be adding a huge amount to them either.

Without knowing the warranty details, I assume the 2004 will have more warranty left (factory warranty), wouldn't it? This should be thrown into the value equation too, just like the tool boxes etc. as warranty can be worth a lot.

But this all just my opinion and speculation...
AnswerID: 198078