Submitted: Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 06:28
lifeguardsam
I want to go to the kimberlys and was wondering if you can get a offroad corrimal caravan into most of the areas
is the corrigation bad or whats the roads like
is there alot of offroad traks to remote parts where you can go fishing and a camper trailer would be better
thanks for your help
sam
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 07:43
Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 07:43
The
Kimberley (no s) is a massive area. We recently spent about 10 weeks of a 16 week trip in the area and there is heaps we didn't do.
You can see a lot of it with a good van, but a lot you can not (or probably should not).
Vans are prohibited in the Bungle Bungles. We saw a couple of vans (Bushtracker type) on the GRR and even one on the
Kalumburu Road, but the reports we got were that some of them have serious problems with dust and the inside shaking apart. But I don't have a van, so have no personal experience.
Road conditions vary dramatically, from horrendous to very good. Most dirt roads will have corrugations. It's just a matter of how bad they are at the time.
For fishing in the
Kimberley you need a boat to get to the good spots and to keep away from the crocs.
Do a search of this site and spend a couple of hours with Google. You will find heaps of info.
Reply By: Member - Ric K (WA) - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 11:00
Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 11:00
g'day mate,
we have a coromal 5.49 dual axle corvair pop top off road version, went along the whole length of the
Gibb River Rd in Autumn 2005 and no probs at all. all I can say is drive to the conditions and you should be right, we had a jayco outback camper trailer the year before and wellll I could swear but the rivets on the door popped out, cupboards started falling apart, and the shockies weren't happy
.... regards Ric
Reply By: Kumunara (SA) - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 12:59
Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 12:59
Most areas of the
Kimberley's are accessible with a caravan.
I would definitely not recommend going into
Mitchell Falls with a caravan. You can leave your caravan at Drysdale Station and head off from there. Take a tent as
well for that purpose.
Drive to the conditions - plenty of people have driven standard caravans across the GRR without any problems by driving slowly.
Reply By: silkwood - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 13:49
Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 13:49
If you don't have a boat there's still some good fishing to be had, just be croc-aware, as has already been said. The Chamberlain holds good fish, from small Tarpon to Barra (depending upon the time of the year) and is easily accesses from within
El Questro, if you want to go there. That's not too far along the GRR though I'm not sure I saw any caravans there?
If you are heading out to
Lake Argyle Tourist
Park (carefull of SWMBO, they sell nice diamonds around there!) as you are heading back out there is a dirt road going left which follows the release channel. Great fishing at a number of points along here, look for the (huge) eddy pools. Options are endless but a boat makes them even endlesser!
Watch for crocs (not kidding now).
Reply By: Anne from Drysdale River Station - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 20:08
Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 20:08
Hi Sam,
As to suitable for vans or not depends totally upon road conditions at the time of travel.
Go to our web site, check out road etc page and see why conditions can vary so very much !
www.drysdaleriver.com.au
If roads in the North
Kimberley have been recently graded you will have no problems at all BUT they may also be pretty shocking just at the time you chose to do the trip, then it's a different story.
cheers, Anne