NM/NP Pajero owners - dummy tail lights
Submitted: Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 11:14
Scubaroo
It looks like the new short-body 3 door NS Pajero is going to have the same size/shape tail lights as the NM/NPs - but this time they meet ADR requirements because of the centrally mounted spare and will be active - so they are a possible replacement part for NM/NP owners wanting to upgrade their dummy plastic tail lights with working ones.
MMA should offer them at bloody cost to NM/NP owners - I think it's a travesty that *any* vehicle on Australian roads has "dummy" lights in place of real ones. The design rules should change to ensure that manufacturers can't sell vehicles with dummy or fake tail lights even if other ADR compliant lights are added to meet requirements e.g. in the bumper.
Reply By: Notso - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 11:38
Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 11:38
Aside from the fact that you get the odd person saying "your tail lights aren't working" Does it really matter as long as the vehicle is legal?
Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 11:39
Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 11:39
Well having the tail lights at eye level actually work helps with clowns who tail
gate in traffic.
Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 12:04
Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 12:04
It would be interesting to put forward to a court that "the tail lights were not where they 'should' have been, in the second or two I had to avoid a tailender".
Most people look at the vertcal middle third of the rear of a vehicle for stop/tail lights, regardless of whether there is a tyre in the way of one of them regardless of the size of the vehicle. We do that qiute simply because we are used to looking for the lights in that position, and it really doesnt matter about the size of the vehicle up to about the 4.5 toone truck limit. You change the lights position from the "normal" location, you change the reaction time to "find" them. It is more to do with the proportions of what we see rather than the actual sizes (compare an old BMC Mini to a Land Cruiser).
All the ADR Bulls**t about having the stop/tailights at a certain height maximum, certain maximum distance from the outside of the vehicle, and what do they find???? A centrally located high mounted stop light saves lives and prevents tailenders....Go figure. The problem is the ADR's are based on historical precedents, that on todays roads aren't really valid. The data on which the original ADR's is based I'm geuessing has never been questioned since the 1950's when most of them were first drawn up.
Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 13:04
Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 13:04
Not to mention that the dummy tail lights have about 4-5 times the surface area of the actual ones in the bumper - in daylight a driver not familiar with the Pajero wouldn't know which ones were going to light up.
Reply By: Dean (SA) - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 13:45
Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 13:45
What a fuss over nothing. Any mitsi dealer or auto elec I suppose will wire them. The sparkie at my local dealer quoted about 30mins work.
I do agree they could be wired during manufacture.
Dean
Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 15:22
Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 15:22
Dean, this isn't a fuss over nothing - a lot of Pajero owners would like their lights to work properly as per the overseas models. There's plenty of posts on the Pajero club of Vic website about where to source the lights etc. This is an informational thread for Paj owners who may not frequent that
forum.
Interested in knowing how they could be wired up when they don't even come with the necessary reflectors.
Reply By: gottabjoaken - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 17:08
Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 17:08
I don't dispute the stupidity of the rules that force Mitsubishi to go to the lengths of install dummy lights and alternatives on the bumper.
Nor do I disagree that the lights where they originally were supposed to be would be much better, safer, clearer, stay clean better, etc, etc
After all, that is what car designers do for a job.
What I don't quite understand is how, if Mitsubishi cannot get ADR approval for the lights, then an individual owner would think that it is ok to use them????
Why does anyone waste their breath / brain power / money to try to change it.
Rather like why on earth do people use illegal registration plates?? (in SA they have to be the officially issued pressed metal plates. Plastic, painted, adhesive plates are all not allowed)
It is easier to comply with the law than break it but some people go to all sorts of lengths to do just that.
And then they will bitch and moan if they are defected on it.
There is no constitutional right to be an induhvidual.
And of course we can now let the thread head off down the debate on wanker lights, and spotties, and then bullbars....
Oh what have I done......
Ken
Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 17:14
Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 17:14
It's not illegal to make these lights active.
The ADR force *additional* lights in the bumper because of the offset spare tyre. Current model Prados have the same issue - but Toyota chose to leave the original body lights in place and working. MMA chose to cut costs and leave out a few wires and reflectors.
Some of us owners would like the original lights to work for enhanced safety. Stick a baby
seat in your vehicle and see how it changes your attitude about getting rear-ended.
Reply By: Doggy Tease - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 17:38
Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 17:38
It is the same for the Patrol. The rear lights in the bumper are the ADR approved lights and MUST continue to be fully operational. However, if you wish to activate the Dummy lights in the body panels, then proper overseas ones are sourced, with the proper reflectors in them and these can be wired into the vehicle, as long as the original ones are still fully operational.
meow.
rick.
Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 18:25
Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 18:25
Still begs the question that if it OK for the rest of the world, why should our situation and regulations be any different?
Reply By: RustyHelen - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 22:01
Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 22:01
Won't get into the rights and wrongs of whether they should work but our local auto elec easily retro activated the middle level tail and brake lights for us as
well as leaving the originals in the bumper so I am legal. He reckoned I could do it but 12volt power ???? Black magic I reckon at times. And now we do feel a bit safer.
Rusty