PDA's.

Submitted: Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 17:40
ThreadID: 38312 Views:3155 Replies:7 FollowUps:18
Which PDA would be best to run Ozzi through, hooked up to my little Garmin Gecko 201?
I would like to fit as much of Australia on it as possible, and then which if any "card" would suit to get the rest on.

meow.

rick.

Reply By: Nick R - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 19:50

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 19:50
mind if I piggyback on your thread????
what would the minimum spec PDA to run ozzi?
apart from bluetooth
keen to get one but concious of $$$
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 198132

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 20:02

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 20:02
piggy away all you like Nick. Hoipefully someone will have the answers to these most importatnt questions....lol

meow.

rick.
FollowupID: 456758

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:00

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:00
Doggy I had a 206mHz Tshiba that was OK with Ozi, but when I got a 1gig card it was very slow reading it, the Ipaq HX4700 I have now does much better.

A Ipaq 5550 will do the job fine, saw them for $200 last week

FollowupID: 456770

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:07

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:07
Gday Bonz. Tandy have a HP Ipaq rx1950 for $348.
300mhz processor
96mb internal memory
sd/mmc memory type
wi-fi 802.11b,mp3 player,voice recorder.
Do you think this will do the trick?
If i get a extra sd card for Ozzi, what size would i need to fit it all on, or would i need two cards?
then there is the question of ....will the Garmin plug into it? Can these be run off 12v from the ciggie lighter plug? Where do i find a power cord for the Garmin and PDA that will also have a lead going from Garmin to PDA so that i can run moving maps?

meow.

rick.
FollowupID: 456774

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:31

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:31
thatd do OK i reckon Doggy, get them to demonstrate it reading the 1gig card for you but mine ran Ozi fine just struggled with a 1gig sd card

FollowupID: 456781

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:33

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:33
oh and get a combo lead from GPSOz that'll run the GPS and the PDA and will aloow the comms between them and you should be sweet, doe the Geko 201 have a serial com port?

FollowupID: 456784

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 10:13

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 10:13
Nick,
Hint Hint Hint It would make an ideal Xmas present from Moses' dad.
Do you want me to tell him or do you want to do it. LOL
FollowupID: 457022

Reply By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 20:59

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 20:59

I can't say what the minimum PDA will run maps etc, but I can tell you about the PDA I purchased and what I run on it.

I purchased a Dell x51v 624 Mhz from ebay for about $5oo delivered

I found that pda's sold in OZ were too expensive & screens were too small & speed was too slow.

Never get a Imate with phone & PDA, as processor is too slow.

My PDA has a SD memory slot & CF Memory slot.

I run a 2Gig SD card for games & music & work stuff, and 4Gid CF Card for Oziexplorer, maps & Copilot software.

Screen size is just big enought to view while driving.

If you require any other info, please ask

TonyG
AnswerID: 198141

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:02

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:02
whatd the 4 gig card cost Tony and does it runs faster or slower than the SD?

FollowupID: 456771

Follow Up By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:02

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:02
Hi Again,

Below is a link to the USA Dell site.

link Dell Website

They are currently selling units for US$299

TonyG
FollowupID: 456772

Follow Up By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:12

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:12

The current cost of a 4GIG CF card from ebay as per link below

CF Card Purchase Cost on Ebay

The current cost of a 2GIG SD card from ebay as per link below

Card Purchase Cost on Ebay

For me at least, it made the total purchase affordable, with bluetooth gps, and the ozi explorer software & maps I already had.

TonyG
FollowupID: 456776

Follow Up By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:26

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:26
Hi Bonz,

Forgot to answer your other question,

Spped is fine with CF card, and size of card allows me to have larger maps that I can enlarge and still have clear maps.

I did a lot of testing when convertin natmaps to ozfx3 format to read on pda.

I found that if you shrink to maps to much, you loose too much clarity.

I found that when using natmap mapsheet ecw files, a 2meg file should only be shrunk to about 1meg in ozfx3 format to retain clarity.

With 4gig CF card I am running the following with room to spare

- Ozi CE edition software
- all natmap mapsheet for australia
- all stateview maps of nsw
- all sunmaps QLD
- all great desert tracks
- Copilot navigation software

That is why I think it is a must have to get a pda with 2 card slots

I also purchased the following to get the total system working

- bluetooth gps from ebay @ about $90
- plastic windscreen holder for pda @ about $15 from ebay
- power cable for pda to plug into 12 volt socket from ebay @ about $10
- 3 x 12 volt holder to power pda & gps from supercheap auto @ about $5

TonyG
FollowupID: 456778

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:30

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:30
yer thanx Tony I read up on the CF card the faster ones transfer rates are 20mb/sec, about twice that of a sd card, theyre the 150x ones, around $200 here, i have the 4700 vga screen and lots of grunt 624 mhz so a 4 gig card would be great I have a 1 gig sd at the mo and its full

FollowupID: 456780

Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 06:31

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 06:31
I run a Dell Axim X50V which is the previous model and BT338 GPS reciever. I also have a 4gb CF card and 1gb SD card loaded. I run both Ozi and Tom Tom on it.
FollowupID: 456815

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 14:00

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 14:00
Richard, have an X50v too but have only a 1gig SD card so far. I found it interesting that on the OziExplorer site they refer to some problems with CF cards except where an SD card was fitted as well, where the problem seemed to be overcome. The designations we are talking about makes htem more powerful than the earlier laptop I had!

Tony, my PDA holder has a data port in the side to direct connect a "normal" GPS but the data acquisition capabilities of the Sirf Bluetooth one is far superior to my Meridian Colour.
FollowupID: 457063

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:06

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:06
Rick
I run a Garmen etrex hooked up to a Ipaq 2210
run ozie ce fine I use two 256 MB SD card for all my natmap covering the hole os OZ plus more.

AnswerID: 198145

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:08

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:08
get back to the TellY!

FollowupID: 456775

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 17:10

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 17:10
GO FORD Ha Ha
FollowupID: 456928

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 17:40

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 17:40
Richard, Your assertion is not unpalatable to myself at this juncture

FollowupID: 456929

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:09

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:09
Keep the info comming guys and gals.....the more the merrier...:)

meow.

rick.
AnswerID: 198146

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 22:00

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 22:00
try this one its a bargain

FollowupID: 456794

Reply By: Emo - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:18

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:18
I have an Ipaq HX4700 and it's great. Big clear screen and lots of processing grunt.
I run a couple of 4gb sd cards. It runs Oziexplorer, Destinator, GPSDash, movies, music, diary, etc etc etc.
AnswerID: 198148

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:31

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:31
4gb SD whered ya get them

FollowupID: 456782

Reply By: Member No 1- Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 09:05

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 09:05
O2XDAII...useless heap of junk....I know...oh and its overpriced....those ending in "mate" are same unit
AnswerID: 198187

Reply By: Peter 2 - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 09:23

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 09:23
I run an older Ipaq 3630, only 200mhz cpu and 32mb ram, has a back pack plinth with a CF slot. A power/data cord from GPSOZ to connect both power and the Garmin 12XL completes the setup. I mount the Ipaq to an old mobile phone mount with a flat board on the end with velcro.
Runs all the maps ok and a whole trip (1/250's, 1/25's and the Hema maps) from sydney to the Plenty hwy, Hay river, simpson, Birdsville and back through western NSW can be loaded on a 1gig card.
AnswerID: 198511