ThreadID: 38320 Views:2676 Replies:11 FollowUps:14
G'day
when i arrived in queensland in 1956 from holland
i didn't know a word of english
i found the best way to learn the lingo was,to
1/ get a job in the bush
2/ listen to australian music
in those days slim dusty was huge,after the pub with no beer.
you say, what's that got to do with 4x4,
well,it's slim that got me interested in the outback.
i've got over a thousand slim dusty songs and most of them are
about a town,city or australian character.
any more fans out there.
skippie

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 00:35

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 00:35
Onya Skip. My Old Man helped out with some of your mob , - even scored a set of clogs as a show of thanks.
. Mate, (you bloody[where's me flamin book of derogatry terms when I need it] wop, greenie ,leso),
Thank you, and travel safe. JH.
ps. me spellin aint so good : send help. (or cleanskins). Ta.
AnswerID: 198162

Follow Up By: skippie - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 01:46

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 01:46
come on jeff you can do better than that,
what does leso mean???
there must be somebody out there that can do better than that!!
but is there still some slim dusty fans out there or what?
skippie
FollowupID: 456812

Follow Up By: skippie - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 19:18

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 19:18
G'day, again Jeff
I have to add that people like you're father and yourself
made things very easy for a young bloke like me to fit in
and exept this country as my own.
skippie
FollowupID: 456943

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 02:34

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 02:34
Skippie,
. I should know better than to eat the bait (1080 I guess), but you sound a tad , hmm, unrequited?
If only you were a member of this disfunctional mob; best $50 you'll spend since 1956, my love.
JH.
AnswerID: 198167

Follow Up By: skippie - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 19:28

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 19:28
that's only 25 QUID
no worries, it's only a matter of time
skippie
FollowupID: 456945

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 06:19

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 06:19
G/day Skippie,Slim was an icon & had many a Hit.Ihad a friend who loved him to death,hence he turned me off him to a certain extent,enough that i just could not stand to listen anymore.Yes i was a small fan & still enjoy some of his music.(moderately).
Cheer's Bob, :)
AnswerID: 198171

Reply By: troopyman - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 06:32

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 06:32
I dont mind any slim song except for the " I Love To Have A Beer With Duncan "song , thats woeful .
AnswerID: 198174

Follow Up By: skippie - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 09:10

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 09:10
i'm on you're side when it come's to beer
give me a glass of red any day
come to think of it i don't think he sings about wine
wonder why not?

skip
FollowupID: 456832

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 08:08

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 08:08
Hmmm, can I make a guess that "Skippie" has something to do with herrings and does not have anything to do with rock hoppers?
AnswerID: 198177

Follow Up By: skippie - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 09:13

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 09:13
you're right mate
they have to be salted tho
skippie
FollowupID: 456833

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 10:09

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 10:09
Hey tulip muncher, you want the salt on the herring or the liquorice? :-))
FollowupID: 456844

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 08:15

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 08:15
Gday Skippie
The big question is " have you learnt to speek English yet?" or just to talk like Slim Dusty.

AnswerID: 198178

Reply By: kangas - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 09:01

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 09:01
I am also a clogwog, but came a bit later.

Can you sing pub with no beer in dutch?
AnswerID: 198186

Follow Up By: skippie - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 09:21

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 09:21
i've got it on disk
unfortunately i can't sing
(how come we think along the same lines? -- KANGA AND SKIPPIE)
that's got a ring to it

skippie
FollowupID: 456835

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 10:01

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 10:01
I once (or twice:) worked at a country radio station in western Qld where his songs were mandatory. Years later I was camped on Coopers Creek and could hear the din from the pub...I still can't believe it as the pubs many km away. But I could hear one drunken bloke shouting "put the song about the dawg back on". And then he did the dog barking bit. The RAAF were in town at the time. Not sure if it was one of them (I hope not).
Ah, yes, I remember Slim.
But I also remember another icon, slightly less well known. Chad Morgan, who visited the station at one time. Dunno if he could sing, but he was a one man riot.
AnswerID: 198195

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 20:15

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 20:15
Ah Chad Morgan,
now there was a "shiek" if ever there was one.

It was "Scruby Creek" if my memory serves me. What a buck toothed wonder was Chad!!!! Fathers, lock up your daughters when Chad's around.

Is he still kicking????
FollowupID: 456883

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 11:48

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 11:48
You got a head start Skip, IMHO the Dutch and Aussies have exactly the same sense of humour!!
AnswerID: 198201

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 20:23

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 20:23
Hi Skip
According to the Dept of immigration, the Dutch migrants settled in Australia better than ALL other ethnic groups, they did not gather in ethnic enclaves like many others, they just got on with the job at hand, becoming Aussies. Yes the Dutch have a similar sense of humor, SICK!!!

Some ethnic groups today could learn a lot from the Dutch.
FollowupID: 456884

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 22:45

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 22:45
Yes one more Slim Dusty fan here

D&B

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 198254

Follow Up By: skippie - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 19:39

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 19:39
goodonya Dunworking
if i can help you with a few more dusty's
let me know.
skippieatmsn.com
FollowupID: 456948

Follow Up By: skippie - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 23:43

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 23:43
sorry mate
thats skippie2094
FollowupID: 456996

Reply By: ImEasy - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 09:38

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 09:38
skippie,

Slim Dusty and Heintje should of done a duo, would of been good!
AnswerID: 198378

Follow Up By: skippie - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 17:17

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 17:17
g'day i'm easy
i think heintje is german
got a good voice tho even now
skippie
FollowupID: 457098

Follow Up By: ImEasy - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 11:01

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 11:01
He was born in Holland, but sung in Germany because apparently in those days you could not sing in Holland for money, so his family moved to Germany where he sung and made lots of money, and yes he had a great voice until it broke.
FollowupID: 457211

Follow Up By: skippie - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 16:03

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 16:03
there was also jantje.
skippie
FollowupID: 457271