2.8 GU should not go this good

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 21:32
ThreadID: 38338 Views:3319 Replies:8 FollowUps:17
As I have posted before I am a retard when it comes to anything with 4bys apart from driving and breaking them, I bought my Gu a couple of months ago and have being reading some past posts about them. Owners have mentioned about changing down gears when reaching hills ect, I have found I have not had to down change out of 5th when loaded with gear and people on trips, all the way up the F3 in 5th ect.......What I am getting to is if my car has had a performance chip installed where would I go about looking to confirm or deny this? Because I can honestly say I have never being wanting for more power up hills. Any help would be greatly appreciated

Stefan

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 22:12

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 22:12
"As I have posted before I am a retard "
How do you know that you're going to be a retard ?
AnswerID: 198248

Reply By: Stu050 - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 22:21

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 22:21
Stefan,
How is it that you don't want any more power? Whatever you have, it is usually never enough!!

Stu
AnswerID: 198250

Reply By: hl - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 22:32

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 22:32
It may not have a chip.
Mine was the same. When they are tuned well, they go much better than people think.
AnswerID: 198252

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 07:51

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 07:51
With all due respect I believe you will have 5th gear problems in the future.

If your talking about the F3 Sydney/Newcastle Freeway then that climb up fro Hawkesbury River definitely requires a down shift to 4th at least.

I'm sure you can do the trip in 5th as you state, however the load on 5th gear is really too much.

Check out the archives four items on 5th gear failure and the reasons.

Regards, Ian
AnswerID: 198264

Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 09:27

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 09:27
Hi Ian,
You make an Interesting point, The Hill in question is taken with no loss of speed and only moderate increase in pedal pressure. A 2.8 is pulling 3200 rpm at 120kmh So there is no labouring on the box. All the 5th gear problems I have read involved a camper ect. I would not dream of letting it get to 1500rpm ect in 5th up a hill.
Thanks for your input
Stefan
FollowupID: 456905

Follow Up By: hl - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 09:51

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 09:51
Those 5th gear issues were not on this box. The box in this truck is the same as the one in the z-car. It can handle all the torque the 2.8 is able to throw at it....
Sold mine at 140,000, often towed long distances in 5th and never had a problem.
FollowupID: 456906

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 09:56

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 09:56
O.K! I'll get back in my box.

Learn something everyday, I'm paranoid about loads on 5th gear (virtual overdrive), and my vehicle is not even a Patrol. Must admit that son's 3Ltr GU impresses the hell out of me.

FollowupID: 456908

Follow Up By: hl - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 13:09

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 13:09

Yes, 3.0 does go a bit better. Good enough to rip the splines off the 5th....
I think the boxes between 2000 and 2002 are the suspect ones. Mine was replaced at only 49,000k. It is a Feb 2001 GU.
FollowupID: 456920

Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 13:28

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 13:28
Well I guess my gear box is fine at the moment, back to the original question..I have found a black box under the dash which is held in place by a tex bolt in a non standard drilled hole, I opened the box and it contains a circut board with two computer chips, I cant find any brand name on it anywhere. But this box also contains two relays so me is stuffed as to what this could be. I would bet it is an aftermarket something just by the way it was placed and there was some tape holding the box closed as well... ?????? The questions continue
FollowupID: 456921

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 13:44

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 13:44
Why don't you remove/disconnect the mystery box and see what it does then.

If it's a performance chip and it is disconnected, then you would notice it, then re-connect and if the power comes back you know what it is.

If it makes no difference then you still won't know what it is.
FollowupID: 457061

Reply By: PatrolBen - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 13:41

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 13:41
My 2.8 Gu is the same as yours in regards to hill climbing on the highway. I believe that due to it's high gearing (4.7 ratio) it can maintain speed and even accelerate up hills whereas the 4.2 will need to change down due to its 3.9 ratio and actually get the turbo on boost to maintain speed. Also because of the high revs the 300ZX box will be fine in fifth as it will not be overloaded. On the highway i drop down to fourth once revs fall below about 2300 (80) and then it will easily accelerate to 90kmph in 4th doing approx 2800 rpm. It will easily go higher in fourth but when your still pulling 90 and everything else has dropped to 75-80 and your overtaking them why bother. The 2.8l is a dream on the highway (it still remains the quietest patrol ever built! - check NRMA reviews if you dont believe).

About the chip, I don't know where to look, but I would besurprised if it had one without the previous owner telling you as I would personally see it as a 'selling point'. Mine isn't chipped and has never exceded 3600 rpm ( NT highways he he) and the amount of times it has exceeded 3000rpm I could just about count on one hand. I have been looking at the chip though as a cure for its shortage in the lower range but am waiting to hear reports on the LPG injection a few members have planned for christmas.
It happiest rev range is from about 1800 to 2800 and this is where I try to keep it.

Keep on Keeping on ya little turbo battler!
AnswerID: 198284

Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 14:11

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 14:11
Thanks Ben, I got my car from a yard....The previous owner ran into legal problems and is in jail, His family had to sell the car to pay his legal bill, So apart from whats in the glove box I am unsure of its history, I have spoken to a family member about the car from a number on a service docket I found, They all said he looked after and loved the car more than anything so who knows??? Anything he did to the car was very professional so It would not surprise me if he did "chip" it but can't be sure.
FollowupID: 456922

Follow Up By: rolande- Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 12:18

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 12:18
G'Day Ben,
Go with the gas. From several reports of engine failure on this forum, the one thing I could see they had in common was that the engine was chipped.

Better performance through a chip usually means shorter engine life. Gas on the other hand is simply improving the quality of the fuel going in.

If you go with the gas let us know, would be interested

Rolande
FollowupID: 457041

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 13:33

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 13:33
What a crock !

Please lead me to one report of an engine failure of a 2.8 lt GU patrol that was chipped ?

Pezza
FollowupID: 457060

Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 14:04

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 14:04
More than likely they thought the chip turned the car into a WRX and drove it like one!! an failure would be a driver issue I'd say

Cheers stefan
FollowupID: 457066

Follow Up By: rolande- Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 07:30

Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 07:30
Check post 18113, had a Motson's fitted
FollowupID: 457903

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 11:24

Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 11:24
Yeah I would feel more comfortable changing down to 4th if it were my car, but in saying that my brother had a 300ZX with a 5 speed, twin turbo, custom blow off's exaust yada yada, it was dynoed at 260kw at the rear wheels and never had a daram with the 5 speed even with 265's and a good LSD in the rear. It would still light them up without even trying. Bloody well built machine those, took some punishment and the only thing that really went wrong with it was a blown heater hose. It's one of those cars you'll never forget driving... Take the roof out and go for a cruise. I remeber overtaking a semi that was doing about 70kmh, dropped it into second, gave it stick and was doing 140kph as I past the cab!! You felt like an you were in the discovery at takeoff as you tried to reach forward to grab 3rd and your hand was stuck to the chair! LOL Oh what fun, but scarey fun. 260kw at the rear in a two door saloon, those japs are crazy buggers.
FollowupID: 457932

Reply By: PatrolBen - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 14:14

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 14:14
Kewl, hope that it does have a chip then as it would just make a good car into a greeat one!

Good luck to mate.
PatrolBen
AnswerID: 198286

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 20:56

Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 20:56
Hi Stefan,

If you look under the drivers side footwell to the right of the clutch pedal, on top of the transmision tunnel and in front of the centre consol you will see a white plastic fitting in a half circle shape, about 10cm long and 3cm dia.ith about 20 or so wires coming out of it leading towards the firewall and dissapearing into the main wiring harness. This is the wiring harness that goes into the vehicles' computer.
The distance between the white plastic holder and where the bunch of wires go into the main harness is about 40 or so cm.
The box that consists of the 'chip' is about 15cm long X 10cm wide X 2cm thick and has about 8 or so wires coming out of it, these wires you will find will be tapped into this 40cm section of wires.
So if you find about 8 or so wires leading away from the main bunch and a box that size about 20-30cm away at the end of them, good chance that you have a 'chip'.
Keeping in mind that the one I am describing is where Motson's fit theirs and the box has 'Motsons' written on it, though I doubt that any of the other manufacturers were putting them in a different spot as this is the easiest spot to tap into the main computer harness.
I would also expect that the box would have something on it that advertises the manufacturers name, though if it was just a sticker, it could have come off after a few years.
The measurements I gave you above are approximate, so if you have something similar, but are still not sure, give me a yell and I will go and get some proper measurements and take a photo as best I can and post it here for you to compare.
It would be good if you did have one, they make a damn good car with one fitted, if you're still not sure, go take a 3lt Pootrol for a drive, if yours feels quicker ( which it should be with a chip ) then you've definately got one.

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 198329

Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 14:03

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 14:03
Thanks for that pezza, your discription was spot on!!....anyways it looks like it is not chipped....the box is a mystery still will disconect it today and see what happens...anyways thanks you were a great help.

Cheers Stefan

P.S nice bike in your pic.....I had to sell mine to get the GU had a TT600R you are right when you have quoted before that women dont understand that the bloke with the most toys wins!!
FollowupID: 457065

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 20:15

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 20:15
Haha, thanks for the comment on the KTM.
Shame you had to sell your TT, they were one of the best all round bullet proof bikes in the yamaha stable, mate of mine still has his 6 yr old Beldunga ( Belgarda ), thing has been to hell and back via more enduro's and trail rides than I can remember, ( looks like it too! ) he updated to a WR 400 a few years ago and also has an R1 but refuses to part with the trusty old Beldunga, still uses it on the odd trail ride and to work and back.
The cook has hinted a couple of times for me to part with my 02 Husky WR 250, just can't bring myself to do it, best single track and most fun bike ( on par with my '98 610 in the 'fun' stakes) I ever owned. It doesn't get much use nowadays and I reckon it'll be one of those bikes that I'll still own in about 20 yrs, lol.
My excuse is that I'm gonna need something to ride around on with my 2 boys when they get theirs, and it will save me buying something else then, thats my excuse and I'm sticking to it !

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 457142

Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 21:05

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 21:05
!!!!!!!!! I miss my 98 Belgarda rock solid old girl......maybe a newie after a few payments on the car??? here's hopen!!

Stefan
FollowupID: 457160

Reply By: Bold Jack - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 23:30

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 23:30
Hmmmm . Seems to me the last time I saw a 2.8 GU with the performance you say going up the F3 there was a Jackaroo in front , punching a hole in the wind for it . lol .
AnswerID: 198478

Follow Up By: hl - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 10:12

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 10:12
Them are fighting words.....
You've never driven one, eh?
Cheers ;-)
FollowupID: 457203

Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 13:24

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 13:24
No Bold Jack....that was the GU punching holes in the back of the jackapoo trying to get the elderly driver to observe the "KEEP LEFT UNLESS OVER TAKEING" Rule!!!! LOL

To HL its just my brother in law trying to give the soft roader some creed on the forum ignore him we do!!!! LOL
FollowupID: 457233