Rooftop campers

Submitted: Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 20:33
ThreadID: 38378 Views:8743 Replies:9 FollowUps:7
Rooftop campers looking at buying as we are sick of camping on the ground.
I have looked at the ARB Simpson as it still gives you plenty of room for gear on roof rack if you have one or something close would love to here from you.

Paul.

Reply By: Member - Garth J (NSW) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 20:57

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 20:57
Kaos,

Good article in this months 4*4 Australia on rooftop tents (Nov 2006)

Garth
AnswerID: 198447

Follow Up By: Kaos - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:04

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:04
cheers Garth i will purchase a copy this may help.

Paul.
FollowupID: 457517

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 21:13

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 21:13
There's a mob called shippshape campers as well apparently very good quality. Pretty certain they have a web site as well.Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 198454

Follow Up By: disco driver - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 23:22

Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 23:22
Yeah,
I found out why they are called shippshape.
Unless everything is tied down all shipshape you would reckon that you are on a ship if there is a cross wind at night.
Will admit to it being a good few years ago and the roof topper was on the canopy/rack of an old (even then) FJ ute.

Seriously they were quite good quality and a well designed unit even then, but a bit of a bugger to get out of in a hurry (ie, a belly full of beer).

Pommy 4wd mags (Land Rover International etc) often carry pretty thorough write ups on roof toppers and I'm aware that there are some available from South Africa as well.
Might be worth a google

Disco
FollowupID: 457177

Reply By: kjd - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 08:14

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 08:14
Hi Paul, I noticed some roof top tents being auctioned on 'Grays on line'. Auction expires 6pm 13/10/06, Auction No 19907, current price around 300, may be worth a look. Regards Kevin
AnswerID: 198503

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 08:48

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 08:48
We have had a Howling Moon for six years now, it has been everywhere both on top of the vehicle and was on a trailer for a while. The up top concept is a winner for all kinds of reasons. You should take a look at the bigger of the Mognolinia (sp?) clam shell types that somehow escaped the 4x4 Australia article. If there is a negative to the Howling Moon/Ezi Awn/Shippe Shape type it is the fold up process in the morning gets you dirty if you are off road and particulaly in muddy conditions. The hard top "clamshell" type may avoid this (I'm yet to check them out in detail) but you lose a little of the area inside when set up and also they take up more roof real estate since they are not of the folding type. Then again, they cut the breeze better too.

AFAIK up top us the only way to go but various models do have definite advantages and disadvantages and it is not a case of one size fits all.

OT
AnswerID: 198507

Follow Up By: Kaos - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:11

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:11
OT

Thanks for the info our friends have a magi works well for them as there is only 2 of them they can put all there gear in the car as we have a child makes it a bit hard we need a bit of room up on top.

There is a few options to think about.

Regards Paul.
FollowupID: 457519

Reply By: harryopal - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 11:23

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 11:23
Paul, You might consider making your own. I made a fold up sleeper on top of a short wheel based Landrover many years ago with ply board sides and a pull over canvas top with a zip for getting in and out of the back. Quick to put up but I found the canvas got rather warm. Later bought a little Lada with a roof rack and made a totally plywood fold up. A little ladder to get up and down through the door I made in the side.
Now have a Toyota HJ Landcruiser and have built a ply wood fold out and push up camper on the back. Custom made and beautifully finished Landcruiser campers can be up around $15,000. My home made camper cost about $1200.
Just a thought. If you have the time and inclination.
Harry
AnswerID: 198528

Follow Up By: revhead307 - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:08

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:08
Sounds interesting. Do you have any photos?

Jeff
FollowupID: 457283

Follow Up By: harryopal - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:33

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:33
Sorry, Jeff. No pics of the roofrack handy. Basically it was a shallow box and, as it was only about four feet long the floor was hinged and folded out to make it about 6 feet six. (A lot simpler if you have a larger vehicle which will take a six foot plus roof rack.) Sides were hinged and folded down on the floor. When lifted up these sides were hinged in the middle to open out to be the same length as the fold out floor. A panel which sat on top of the rear wall sides and floor was loose and slid over the lower part of the box which sloped towards the feet. That section of the lower roof had edges so that the rear floor and sides fitted inside that and held in place with simple ties. The roof of the box became the roof of the fold up. This was also edged to hold the sides and back in place and also held with simple ties. It had perspex windows either side with a door to get out onto the ladder. One could kneel up inside with a bit of extra head space. Bedding could be left in side. Anyway, it worked quite well even in strong winds or rain and I had it for some years until the Lada rusted out. It meants I could stop at night without being concerned about rocks or ant nests and it didn't matter if the ground were muddy. Get a shoe box and play around and maybe make something out of cardboard. That is if the idea interests you. As you work out each bit you can visualise the methods for keeping the bits in place.
Harry
FollowupID: 457290

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 11:36

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 11:36
I've still got one of my EezyAwns on sale in the trader section here. Down to $1,200 to make it move out the door if you are interested.
AnswerID: 198529

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 11:55

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 11:55
G'day,

never had the desire to be camping "up top" in Australia. (did these things originate in Africa?)

I guess it allows you to "camp" in places where as long as you can park your car you're set, but I love being on the ground and often shift the car about for various reasons, which would disturb somone having a siesta, going to bed early etc. Seems a bit restrictive to my gig but that's my gig anyway :)

nothing like a swag next to a fire.....

anyway Kaos, seems to be heaps of second hand ones to choose from, good luck.

AnswerID: 198530

Reply By: ACDC - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 19:38

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 19:38
Kaos,
Have a look here they do a great roof top tent also.

www.hannibal.com.au
AnswerID: 198623

Follow Up By: ACDC - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 19:41

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 19:41
Ooops!! make that www.hannibalsafari.com.au
FollowupID: 457326

Reply By: Kaos - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:15

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:15
Thanks guys for all the info and replying.
AnswerID: 198816

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 23:52

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 23:52
Hiya Kaos,,
I have a Simpson rooftop tent and the jury is still out on what i think...
The first time i used it was in the rain,,,, and trying to pack it up wet was a pain.... You need to throw a tarp over the mattress because it seems to soak the water through once it has been folded wet all day...
If you try and fold up extra bedding in there it doesnt fold well,,,(sleeping bag and quilt)....
Bonuses are,, up away from creepys.....can camp next to croc waters...
They are on special at arb at the mo for about $1800....
FollowupID: 457557