Trip Report Millmerran Camp Oven Festival

Submitted: Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 22:10
ThreadID: 38384 Views:4713 Replies:3 FollowUps:0
My planned departure was shot to bits having to get a vehicle ready for my brother to take to tassie (did not know he was coming :( anyway instead of leaving around 9am I left about 1.30 / 2.00 pm.

Wednesday: left Brisbane and no drama's on the road, a few radars about the only thing to be aware off, I arrived around 5 / 5.30 after a quick stop off at the butcher to grab some meat for dinner. I made the show grounds to meet up with Gary and Nan whom arrived a couple of hours earlier. A couple of beers and up went my camp.

Gary and Nan have a great set up and I checked that out (and was pleased my wife was not on this trip, would have cost me heaps :)) Dinner was welcomed and an early night was had.

Thursday: We decide to do one of the trips reccommended by the locals and we even got written directions (I think thats what they called them) Gary and Nan left before me, as it turned out, we ended up in two different directions all ended well of course. I decided to go to Inglewood (70klms south) for lunch and Gary and Nan in the Rams head Hotel in Millmerran. While on the way down to Inglewood I checked out Stonehedge which turned out to be a private place not a town (opps) Funny signs out there. Leaving Ingalwood checked out Coolmunda Dam (spelling?) Nice place, can camp there right on the water or back near the entrance.

Brad and his family arrived nearing the end of a 5 week trip. A few more beers and a chat and we all had an early night. I'm sure Brad will tell you about his fun on his trip.

Friday: We checked out what was being set up for the festival including the indivdual groups for the competition cooking for the weekend. I then ended up roaming around Millmerran and checked out the Museum and it was full of history and very interesting well worth it if your into old machinery. Brad and family also checked out the town,while Gary headed to Cecil Plains I had lunch at Mills Tavern (very nice meal), Bill arrived later that afternoon a few more beers, wines and dinner and we ended up watching the evening entertainment. Forget what time we all to bed but I know I needed a sleep.

Saturday: Well we all just milled around the festival as it had plenty to see and do not to mention talking to the cooks and learning how to season / cook and maintain your camp oven. There were heaps off stalls and plenty of old machinery (going) to look around. I grabbed some ribs that had been smoked for 15 hours and they were GREAT to say the least. Patrick and Jane arrived around 9.30 and ventured around the show. Both Bill and Gary fired up the webbers and we feasted on lamb and beef roast with heaps of veg with beer and wine (YUM). That was followed up with the nights entertainment (fantastic singers) not to forget the floor show (now that was funny) I'm not real sure how to describe it, you really had to be there LOL suffice to say two horny teenages his intentions VERY clear hers not, his mate trying to win her by playing air gutar and singing to her.

Anyway around 11.00 pm we all crashed again.

Sunday: I stired early and packed up camp Brad and Bill once again put on a feast. Gary and Nan watched the bush breakfast show which from all accounts was "great". Patrick and Jane did what I should have done, sleep in. Once again we all roamed the festival and found a few other attractions we had missed the day before. I never stayed to find out whom won what and opted for a departure around 11.00 as did bill and Brad who was heading to Crows nest for a few days. Gary was leaving Monday. Partick was leaving later in the day.

I can reccommend The Mills Tavern in Millmerran and the second pub in Inglewood (forget the name) for a feed and the meat from the Millmerran butcher is very nice indeed. Gary and Nan say the Rams head Hotel has a great lunch feed as well. Fuel I think was 1.08 a litre. The area has no water restrictions and while some areas a dry looking other are very green.

All in all 5 groups turned up, it was great to meet you all and I know I had a fun time and look forward to our next trip. Patrick and Jane sorry I missed you on the Sunday but thanks for coming out.

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 09:24

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 09:24
Hi Brian,

Sounds like I missed a good weekend. The stage show sounds like it would have been very funny. Shame my Nissan has been in the mechanics more than out of it lately or I may have been able to talk SWMBO into coming out.

Regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 198512

Reply By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 15:53

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 15:53
Firstly, thanks to Brian for organising a top weekend with other like minded people. Sorry that we missed you on Sunday morning as we thought that you were leaving at 2pm not earlier as it turned out. We went to the staging area to listen to the story telling competition which was very entertaining. When we got back to the camping site, Brad was just leaving and yours and Bill's sites were just wide expanses of space. Gary & Nan joined us for a drink later in the day as we both were staying until the Monday morning.

So where do I begin....

What a fabulous weekend away we had. Jane and I shared the company of a few members of ExplorOz web site at the Australian Camp Oven Festival. We arrived on Saturday morning to an absolute sea of caravans, camping trailers, tents. motor homes, five wheelers and a couple of swags at the Millmerran Show Ground.

We found out from the local butcher on Monday morning that there were some 1300 caravans + hundreds of day trippers taking advantage of great country hospitality and friendship. This was double the attendance from the 2004 show and was totally unexpected by the organisers. Food and beverages stalls were overwhelmed by the sheer mass of humanity present. This did not put a 'dampener' on the fun as there was so much to see and do over the weekend.

Events included billy boiling competitions for all ages, letter-box making (some were very imaginative, fence painting, a horse whisperer, chain saw caving and of course, lots and lots of camp oven cooking. All the was interspersed with entertainers on the main stage, a bit of bush dancing and lots of local eating of the good food on sale.

Apart from the awards for all the cooking held on Saturday, Sunday morning offered bush poets and story telling competitions plus many auctions raising funds for the RFDS which must have made a killing over the weekend. People were very generous with their wallets and purses and many thousands of $$$$'s were raised for this worthy organisation.

We ventured home on Monday morning with what seemed a river of vans heading back towards Brisbane. Listening to UHF channel 40, the truckies were not happy with having to share the road with so many travellers. They were all very good natured and gave as well as they received in the two way banter.

The 2007 event will be held at the Casino RV motor home grounds over the first weekend in October. Based upon the success of this year's gathering, Casino will be in for a big crowd.

WE will be back in 2008 to Millmerran and again enjoy their warm hospitality and friendship.

Patrick & Jane
AnswerID: 198578

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 19:07

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 19:07
You were right I was going around 2pm however I opted to leave earlier as I figured if I get home in daylight hours I could at least unpack ready for work on Monday.

As it turned out I had a fantastic run home. I am keen for the next festival so will look out for it.

AnswerID: 198616