It's nice to see

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 09:24
ThreadID: 38389 Views:2379 Replies:6 FollowUps:19
It's nice to see recent, well informed debate on some issues that confront those who travel this continent.
Thirty years ago I might have been told "if you don't like it, go back to where you were born !"
Others might have said "who cares, pass me another beer."
Ten years ago I might have been called a racist, no matter what I said.
Today I see signs of enagagement. I see signs of people openly discussing their opinions and perhaps examining policies and practises from many viewpoints.

There is a downside of course.
How is any Government going to survive a well informed public that actually cares ?
Scary stuff :))

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 09:50

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 09:50
It's a worry isn't it. The good old Aussie true blue bloke has long gone down the gurgler. No wonder the country is slowly going to the dogs. The place aint what it used to be.
AnswerID: 198521

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 11:41

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 11:41
I suspect what's really going is our indifference.
The good old aussie bloke will be around for a bit yet, despite what Mark Latham wrote.
I can see politically correct becoming incorrect not far down the track.
FollowupID: 457214

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 13:01

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 13:01
"There is a downside of course.
How is any Government going to survive a well informed public that actually cares ?
Scary stuff :))"

They'll just do what they always do - whatever it takes to be relected, they are a resilient bunch.................
AnswerID: 198540

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 14:51

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 14:51
Well its pretty easy to see how an incumberant can be re elected. There's that 120K in electoral allowances for a start.
That means that you have to be rich or bent before you even start thinking of getting elected.
So much for democracy.
FollowupID: 457253

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 13:28

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 13:28
Another scary thing is your comment could apply to almost any country that you are in at the time you make it !
AnswerID: 198551

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 14:58

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 14:58
Yes. Things are very different in many countries. One to the north of us would have my ba^^s for breakfast if they saw me posting stuff like this :))))
FollowupID: 457255

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 15:00

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 15:00
Actually F'loosie, I have found a lot of very nice people at this site, most of whom seem to enjoy others company very easily. Not only that, if they don't particularly agree with your point of view are easy with it.

Found I can enjoy the company of quite a lot of them............
AnswerID: 198570

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 15:07

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 15:07
John, hmm. I have obviously given the wrong impression. I THOUGHT I said that.
FollowupID: 457258

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 15:32

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 15:32
Perhaps you did mate. LOL, I have a habit of not translating all the messsages......

Actually I think I said it a couple of years back too.

Don't worry I support you. Vote 1 F'loosie. Which party again and seat? Better not be Greens as they are trying to get contraceptives fed to wild dogs and foxes in Victoria rather than deal with the current problem.
FollowupID: 457261

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 15:40

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 15:40
John, ahh your post makes me feel better. Taa.

Me ? A polly ? Sorry mate, I have an dreadful character flaw which rules me out of public office. I suffer from a rare and frequently painful disease.

It's called "honesty" !
FollowupID: 457263

Follow Up By: kev.h - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:21

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:21
Hey Footy
A bit of graft & corruption usually overcomes honesty at least in polly's, when the stakes are high enough they turn a blind eye
Kev
FollowupID: 457285

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:36

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:36
Kev, yes you're right. And of course it goes back to pre selection etc.
I've always thought that the expression "for the good of the party" meant that it was time for me to go home ! :))))))
FollowupID: 457291

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 19:40

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 19:40
F'loosie and Kev, I don't know any of whom you speak, perhaps some wannabees may be.........
FollowupID: 457325

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:56

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:56
John, I'm leaning towards the theory that you're secretly the member for ...umm...... :))))))))
FollowupID: 457351

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:49

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:49
Maaate, sorry to dissapoint you. I may know him though and he probably supports the rights of 4by drivers.......

He would get my vote then.
FollowupID: 457366

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:53

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:53
Is there something you're not telling us John ? A close relative perhaps ? LOL
FollowupID: 457368

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:56

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:56
Whoops, voting for 4by driver rights is my graft, methinks.....
FollowupID: 457370

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 23:03

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 23:03
In Victoria, i know one party has give ear to the Victorian Four Wheel Drive Association and has included a lot of 4by rights in the party platform. The news is I guess it isn't Bracksie.

No relos mate in to ranks of politicians, close or distant that I know of. Come to think of it, the close ones live within a rifle shot distance or on the Gold Coast, son's FIL near you.
FollowupID: 457379

Reply By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:45

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:45
Footie, I think the insidious cancer of political correctness, the thinly veiled repression bordering on MacCarthyism that we as a nation have endured over the last decade or so is beginning to lose its clout (and thank f@ck for that!)

The stifling of reason, common sense and open discussion by smarmy members of the academia and general rod wallopers in the media has run its course and hopefully the concept of democracy will once again be the norm.
AnswerID: 198599

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 18:39

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 18:39
I think it reflects our similar approach to life Footie. One thing that ties us to this place is a love of the outdoors and you have to be a certain type to have that. And those certain types are generally easy-going, great to get on with, takes things in their strides and so on.

Some have a bee in their bonnet from time to time, and some heckle to troll, but generally, get a mob of EO'ers together and you get that many and more views on life and a willingness to share - everything.

I love this place, it is the source of many many close friends and I would be a different person for not knowing EO and EO people. Even Willem is nice in Victoria, hahahahaha

AnswerID: 198608

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:50

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:50
Willem may be difficult though if PSI gets to him.
FollowupID: 457367

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 10:13

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 10:13
Willem? Nice in Victoria.......he was nice in SA when I met him and some of his posts while travelling the countryside have been nice too.

Just don't let your cat wander around his kitchen :0))))

Can I say that, it's not politically incorrect or offensive is it???????

Next time I'm in Peterborough I know where I'm going for coffee.

FollowupID: 457419

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 11:05

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 11:05
Me too Duncs. I agree he is nice at Peterbprough. He actually enjoyed a tea here too rather than a coffee, and a cognac too, but I don't know if Bonz has seen him at Peterborough.
FollowupID: 457424

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 17:31

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 17:31
Ahh ya bunch of wet blankets, I do believe tha Willem himself coined the phrase: "Willem - Nice in Victoria"

Me, I just reckon he's a legend and Imogen adores him too, dunno why, I reckon he'd belt me if I called him a legend..........

FollowupID: 457468

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 19:20

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 19:20
Why are you calling WIllem a foot, that's what a leg end is aftrer all.

He has got a foot, one at each leg end but there is more to Willem than that.

Whoops!!! Should read more carefully you said legend, not leg end, sorry.

FollowupID: 457491