Roachies next mod? 6x6?

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 12:17
ThreadID: 38391 Views:3835 Replies:9 FollowUps:26
I think its photoshop, but dude swears its real....

So whens he bookin it in?

Reply By: Scoey (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 12:32

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 12:32
Funny you mention it coz I saw the exact same conversion on a white 80 Series yesterday arvo when I was driving home from work! Strange, but I like it!

Scoey!
AnswerID: 198534

Follow Up By: Redeye - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 12:39

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 12:39
Can not vouch for the photo but there one identical driving around just north of Brisbane. (Caboolture)

I have seen them a number of times. Even when sober :)

Redeye
FollowupID: 457226

Follow Up By: Nick R - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 12:57

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 12:57
If it were photoshop, damn good job, shadows and everything line up but why 2 fuel doors?

NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 457227

Follow Up By: JJ - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 13:17

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 13:17
Could two fuel doors be gas/diesed (petrol)? or 'cos that's the way the panel is made.
Not photoshop. I took a (film) pic of one (silver) that was for sale in Coober Pedy years ago!
FollowupID: 457230

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:41

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:41
I saw that one up around Caboolture too Redeye, but I also saw the same setup in a GU around Dalby just last week also. So they are around, I would guess Creative Conversions at Brendale would do a few up around here.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 457293

Follow Up By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 18:52

Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 18:52
as a 6x4 owner of a 94 & 2004 patrol it looks similar to what 6 wheeler conversion do/make at Dalby Qld
FollowupID: 457812

Reply By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 13:16

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 13:16
Just as well that Roachie is away and missed it. LOL
then again, maybe he had it done last week
AnswerID: 198543

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 15:49

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 15:49
maybe thats where he is?!
FollowupID: 457269

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:42

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:42
He's taken Lucy overseas until Sat.
FollowupID: 457294

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:54

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:54
such a lovely couple..
FollowupID: 457300

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 18:32

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 18:32
and their children are gorgeous!

FollowupID: 457312

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:42

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:42
hes back now
FollowupID: 459454

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 22:26

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 22:26
Probably a 6x4 (not 6x6).

I've been saying for ages that this is the sort of thing I want to do to my trol, but would make it into a dual cab with a full-size tray/lock-up box with vertical sides.

I have even considered doing it in 2 stages.........get a cut and shut done without altering the chassis/wheelbase initially. Would be a shorter box (obviously), but even that would hold more krap than the wagon section I currently have to carry gear for 6 people in.....(note in SA it is legal to carry 4 kids in the back seat, so long as only 3 of them are "belted-up").
FollowupID: 459482

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 22:33

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 22:33
Nope dude said it was a genuine 6x6....
FollowupID: 459487

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 13:25

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 13:25
Yeah but do they run any better then the four wheel version? I have heard both good and bad comments.
AnswerID: 198549

Follow Up By: kev.h - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:05

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:05
6WD might be O.K. but if its a lazy axle it may not be as good as 4WD in the bush
Regards Kev
FollowupID: 457282

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 22:28

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 22:28
Vincent AM (see his response above) has previously advised that he has owned a couple of 6x6's and now his rig is a 6x4 GU.......He is much happier with the overall 6x4 package.
FollowupID: 459483

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 06:17

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 06:17
Thanks for the comment Roachie. I had a chat with a guy up at Daly River last year with a 6x4 and he said that he did it for weight carrying/distribution but it was not as good a performer as he thought it would be. He seemed reluctant to go into detail but I got the impression that he could lose some rear traction rather easy when one axle suspension kept the driving axle off the ground.
FollowupID: 459509

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 13:30

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 13:30
Geelong Differentials can do that conversion Bruce. Done a few 5 tonne cruisers for mining companies. It was the guy there who told me he worked on 10 cruiser axles to every Patrol one.

Geelong Differential Services
83 Douro Street
GEELONG NORTH VIC 3215
03 5278 2059
AnswerID: 198552

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 16:31

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 16:31
Nah, that'd be a bit passe' for Roachie. He'd be looking at 8x8 just to be different and accomodate his latest toys hahahahahahahahaha
AnswerID: 198587

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 16:54

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 16:54
Twin Steer instead!!!!
FollowupID: 457276

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 16:59

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 16:59
Hahahaha now you're talking :)))))
FollowupID: 457278

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:29

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:29
"Twin Steer instead!!!!"

Lady Penelope style - also order the amphibious version with a Browning .50cal in the grille.

Speaking of Lady Penelope, is it OK to get the horn for a puppet?
FollowupID: 457289

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 13:33

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 13:33
HAH! you're secret is safe with us mate.....

you don't collect Barbies though do you......do you?

yeah poor old Alan, Tintin must have driven him crazy with desire.....but she treated him mostly like a brother.....damn

now I'm thinking of that scene in "Team America" - cinema history!
FollowupID: 457440

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 14:19

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 14:19
The inscrutable Tintin and her mysteries of the orient. uhhhhhhhhhhhuuuhhhhhhhhh..........

Team America - hahahahahaah......now that is one brilliant film on so many different levels. The 'secret' signal of the hero in the back of the terrorist's jeep was the funniest thing I've seen since Monty Python's Mr Creosote.

I wonder what old Kim Jong Il would have to say to Missa Hans Brix today? The movie wasn't too far off the mark I reckon.
FollowupID: 457448

Reply By: Member - John - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:03

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:03
G'day all, can any one explain why I can only get the top half of the picture? :-(

AnswerID: 198594

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:53

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:53
http://img242.imageshack.us/img242/1921/6x6cc0.jpg

paste that into a broswer window.
When it opens if its only 1/2 the image, hold the SHIFT key down and click REFRESH while holding shift key
FollowupID: 457298

Reply By: Member - John - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 18:02

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 18:02
Did as you said, still only half a pic, no probs, will try again tomorrow night.....

AnswerID: 198602

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:31

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:31
Looks very much like the carpark where Ads works...lol

Wonder what its like off road :-) Probably a dog.....lol
AnswerID: 198644

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 10:03

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 10:03
I'd reckon once you set off on your lap of Oz you would have to keep going. The GQ turning circle was always large, that has got to be.......................well.......................big!

Still plenty of leg room for the kids in the rear row of seats.

AnswerID: 198699

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 13:35

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 13:35
so you'd recommend going around Oz clockwise then...:)
FollowupID: 457441

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 13:56

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 13:56
Anti-clockwise. You are travelling with the prevailing winds and it is 77km shorter, you are on the inside of the curve.

You will save a heap of fuel and at least 1 hour. (Working on average speed of 77km/h). :-))

FollowupID: 457444

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 13:58

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 13:58
yeah I agree but I thought the turning circle might be an issue...
FollowupID: 457445

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 19:03

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 19:03
I know it may be tight but with a three point turn here and there you should be able to get around.

FollowupID: 457482

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 22:32

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 22:32
Turning circle wouldn't be an issue.......suspension would be by way of airbags and if wanting to turn a tight circle, you'd simply lift the rear axle using the bags, so the rear wheels were off the ground (just like the semi's do)....too easy ;-)))
FollowupID: 459485