HZJ75 Diesel Turbo- Recommended Servicing

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 15:53
ThreadID: 38403 Views:7037 Replies:3 FollowUps:0
What would be considered a good service schedule to keep a HZJ75 (after market turbo) 4.2 diesel in good knick?? Mainly engine service- intervals and lubricants??
Any other items that should be maintained regularly??
I realize that 'oils ain't oils' - but what is the good oil (and why)??
The vehicle's got about 200k on the clock- if that makes a difference.

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:38

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 17:38
I would be changing the oil and filter every 5k unless it is equipped with one of those fandangle filters but you dont mention that, every thing else, diff oils, gearbox, radiator etc I would be doing as per service book UNLESS you have submerged the alxes deep enough in water there fore I would be changing the diff oils ASAP after woods, air filter unless in extremly dusty conditions every 20k, I have left mine for 20k around town and reckon I could do another 20 but I dont I change it, but then you could be driving through the bull dust and block it in 1000k, alot depends on where and what you do with the vehicle, in regards to oil there is heaps on here about that, would be quicker to do a search than try and explain all the differances to you which I would be only telling you what I have read on here as I am no oil guru when it come to that. Service it well and it will last you, if you have only just purchased the vehicle I would be fitting an exhaust temperature guage so as to keep an eye on it as this would have major effects on the longitvity of your motor. Just what I think, Im sure some one will correct me if I'm wrong on any of this and no doubt will give you further valuble information Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 198598

Reply By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 18:41

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 18:41
Troop-a-dour,
I change engine oil and filter every 5K. At this time i also change the fuel filter and air cleaner. Some people say that the last two at 5K is a bit of overkill, but it's my vehicle, i can afford it, so i do it. I contacted Shell re oil to use in my HJ 75 2H(360,000K and does not use oil between changes-so far) and they advised me what to use. Contact your oil company to see what they specify for your vehicle. Every thing else goes on a two year rotational basis eg diffs, transfer, gearbox and radiator. Hope this has given you some ideas.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 198609

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:37

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:37
Troopie,

We change engine oil every 5K, oil filter every 10K. Used to use Shell Rimula X 15W/40, now use BP Global stuff, same viscosity.

Change primary fuel filter every 10K, and secondary every 60K. If you trust your fuel supplier, you can run the primary out to 20K.

Change air filter every 12 months, and blow it out, with a good compressor every service.

Replace g'box, t'case and diff oils every 40K, but after seeing oil in front diff of new 79 series with 20K on it recently, may go over to 20K oil changes for these components, in future. Many recommendations on here for Castrol g'box oil, to prevent notchy shifting, especially when cold.

Use a good radiator inhibitor, mixed with rainwater, and keep at recommended strength.

Grease everything every 5K, but only do the king-pin bearings every 10K. Regrease after fun in the water/mud.

Flush out the power steering oil every year or so, as well as changing brake fluid, every 12 months.

This system works for the toyotas we use, Troopie, but we turn them over every 3 years anyway.

Front wheel bearings, regrease every 40K, or not much more. Rear are a bit more forgiving, and can last out to 80K, but not recommended.

Hooroo...

AnswerID: 198647