Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:10
Member - Axle
Hi.
Every time i go to Bunnings and that staff member they plant out the front, greets you with, " How are you today sir". , And when you go out its , " Good bye or have a nice day ", It dosen"t feel Right in a hardware
shop!. I think if they concentrated on their service up and down their isles would be more beneficial to everyone. Being polite to customers is a major issue but when they get to the point of being sickening, its something that needs to be considered. And if you forget something and go back two mins later, You get the same line all over again!!. One " Gday Mate" a day keeps me happy.
Reply By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:19
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:19
Well I've got to say the dear old girl who fronts Bunnings, Fountain
Gate, is a gem.
She knows her stuff. I no longer bother wandering about looking and trying to find staff to help. Just yesterday I needed some Pop Rivets and on the way in asked her where they were. "Aisle 8" without hesitation was the reply.
I was in and out in five minutes. In and out of Bunnings that is. The other never takes me that long LOL.
Follow Up By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:29
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:29
mmm in
Brisbane has been advertising on the radio everymorning something that could help. Something about a nasel spray.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 22:25
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 22:25
yes apparantly it will get the wrinkles out of a sheet of aluminium that spray
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 07:48
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 07:48
"The other never takes me that long"...please explain
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 17:10
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 17:10
Mate my local bunnings (is quite a big one) is an absolute disgrace on customer service. You can never find anyone to help you, prices aren't on things it's a mess. I was in there the other day and after walking around for at LEAST 5 minutes trying to find someone I finally caught up with an employee. I said "Oh G'day mate, can you give me a ha...." he cut me off with "No I'm not in Timeber" and walked off!!
When ever you are trying to find someone to help out they look away when you walk toward them as if they are too busy to talk to you, you almost have to run after them (that's if you can find the bugger in the first place!).
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 17:22
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 17:22
yeah it does happen, but thank god not with all of there employees
same goes on at mitre 10 and just about every other type of store, coles woolies and the butcher at
supermarket complex....less than 1/2 hr ago, stood there eyeing over his meat telling myself some of them, them, oooh yes some of them too, them & them (cooks away, i'm batchin it) and that should do it...they stood at the prep table doing what they were doing...cutting up meat.looked at me and went back to talking...after spending 3 mins waiting, looking looking waiting i walked back into coles and got some of there meat!
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 17:48
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 17:48
hahahaha MN1. They could tell that you were'nt the 'power buyer' of the family and how could she let you out on your own unsupervised LOL Been there, done that :)))
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 20:15
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 20:15
yeah ...but how did the butcher know swmbo was away......
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 20:18
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 20:18
??? hey!!!!..... you dont think swmbo was practicing making a baby behind my back...eh ?
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 00:29
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 00:29
"how did the butcher know swmbo was away"
You obviously had a smile on your face hahahahahahaha
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 08:05
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 08:05
nah..i had a long face since the day she left...
honest...:)))))
Reply By: pojo - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:25
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:25
i went to woolworths the other day and had to wait for a chectout to get out 24 chectouts and only 4 were working left there and went to bunnings no checkouts working told to go to trade counter this was on friday afternno at approx 4.30 pm if this is surfacethey have a lot to learn as` the small induvadual trader are eaten up i suppose this is the surface we have to get used too NOT GOOD
Follow Up By: Old Nick - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:46
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:46
Yeh,when you are lucky enough to jag an open checkout, what really gives me the bleep esis the the little squeaker behind the counting house says "Do you want this in a bag TOODAY", or "Is this the lot for TOODAY", theres heaps more of the "TOODAYS" the kids use, and by cripes it gets up me snout. Must have got old!! Regards Nick
Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:28
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:28
Axle, when they ask me "How are you today" I always answer "You don't want to know." And guess what ?
They never do !
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:44
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:44
My favourite response to the "How are you today" is "Great, but i'm improving". LOL you should see the look on their faces hahahahahaha
Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:50
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:50
Gramps, that would be way over the head of those that "serve" me.
Todays checkout person introduced herself, told me where she hangs out and that she still lived with her mother.
Frankly I wasn't surprised :))))
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:52
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:52
LOL ya silly ole bugga !!! She was hitting on ya :))))))
Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:59
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:59
Gramps, oh nooooooooooooo !
And I thought she just had a kangaroo loose in the top paddock !
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:22
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:22
Gramps & Footloose shopping to-gether at bunnings , My god, HAHAHAHA.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:25
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:25
Oi !!! That's the problem with the world today. No respect for the befuddled and bewildered. Now, which one were you again Footy :)))))))
Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:36
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:36
Well I thought I was the good looking one. The James Blonde type, shaken but not slurred. Obviously not, as I was chatted up by a ...
well I simply can't say it old chap.
Bunnings ? Dear me no. Don't they have an upmarket store. David Bunnings perhaps ?
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 22:22
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 22:22
My fave..."How are you today"
"Physically, medically, psycologically, or philisophically? Or is that a rhetorical question?"
Works a treat for the shopping center marketers, shuts them up real quick. 3 mins for them to even comprehend what has been said.. They then totally loose the plot whith their "scripted' answer.
Or the all time classic.....
"I like eggs"
Follow Up By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:21
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:21
If i'm asked " can i help you sir " , the reply is allways " no , i'm beyond help " , it always gets them . Errol
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:37
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:37
I always respond with...Yes Please, the voices tell me to help myself and the Police keep telling me not to!............
Reply By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:51
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:51
Our Bunnings has a
young disabled girl out the front always smiling and happy and much to my four year olds delight always brandishing a smiley face stamp!!
Sandy
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:26
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:26
Nothing wrong with that Sandy, Thats great!!, but not every store the same!.
Reply By: South - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:01
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:01
I got told off by one of the ladies not just two weeks ago. I went in, bare feet, to get some cans of Australian Export degreaser that sit at the front door (bargain at $1.99, needed 6 to clean the undercarriage!!!)
Sir, it is the policy of the store that you do not enter without shoes on, if you choose to ignore this then you are at your own fault if anything happens...
Like derrr! We are not in America, I'm not going to sue your company if I drop something on my foot/feet.
I said yep, I'll be five seconds and I was, in and out in a jiffy, coins in hand ready to go...
Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:13
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:13
err, just doing her job?
Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 22:28
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 22:28
We are now more litigious than the Americans!
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 07:45
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 07:45
what if the bloody
fork lift ran over your toes?...bet it would be a different story.
if it were I on the
gate , you wouldnt get in. what if? ....what if one of bunnings staff left some broken glass on the floor? its a lot of what if's I know, and will finish off with one more....what if your intention was to sue!
Follow Up By: ImEasy - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 10:17
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 10:17
*if it were I on the
gate , you wouldnt get in.*
How would you stop them?
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 10:39
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 10:39
you'd be politely told to f*&%off...nah a dirtyharry gun...44magnum...nah lets be sensible, conditions of entry would be those that does jeopardise the safety of others and YOURSELF.....the
shop owner would not have to display these conditions
if you cant comply then you'd be asked to go elsewhere...should you barge passed and did some shopping do you think you'd get served after being told your entry is is invalid....legal action could be taken..its very simple...
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 13:25
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 13:25
but Nudie...I remember a hardware store in
Perth about 15 yrs ago that employed topless women to serve the customers etc.
do you see a problem there?
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 15:31
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 15:31
"what if the bloody fork lift ran over your toes?"
Moot point Nudie... they let you in in thongs just as good as bare feet if a forklift runs over them...
Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 16:22
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 16:22
It would obviously be their fault , if they have vehicles operating and dont make you wear a hi viz vest !
Saw an article in the paper the other day that rekoned that these didnt work any more cause there is so much flouro stuff around you just blend in .
Glenn.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 18:34
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 18:34
bushfix...i'd be the first to complain
if i didnt see them
and Blue...the fork lift bit was a stupid theoretical scenario but it was to assist in my explanation...i hope everyone saw that
Glen ..your probably right about fluro stuff blending in
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 19:36
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 19:36
Fair point Nudie... Was sheltering from a housefull of women talking about babies today... After making 98347252397659387532978 cups of coffee and politely tearing other peoples kids off my stuff, my outlook was a little jaded...
Finally at work and enjoying the solitude...
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:35
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:35
i dont believe you Blue
"8347252397659387532978 cups of coffee"...now it takes a lot of time to make that many...cups of cofffee..(.not the babies...(although i hear someone one here can do it quick...real quick))
its a lot more than 1000000 (1 million) seconds takes to go by...which is around 11 &1/4 days...... no man could put up women for that long
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 00:57
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 00:57
You got me there Nudie... 6 women from 9:30am until 3:15pm (thank god for school pick up)...
So I only made about 18 cups of coffee but that's a lot of frothing of milk damn it...
Reply By: revhead307 - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:33
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:33
They are there for a far more sinister purpose.
They are the ones who check your bags to make sure you are not walking out with stuff. The fact they are told to greet is a sideline.
Frankly I'd rather not be greeted each time i enter and exit...id rather just walk in and out being antisocial.
and im not even old and crotchety like you guys yet???
:-)
Jeff
Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 00:16
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 00:16
The main reason they greet you is so that there is no way you will not notice them there and then atempt to steal something.
And guess what? It works!
Follow Up By: Ray Bates - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 08:59
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 08:59
I get peed off with some of the stores. I hate being called Sir. If asked to look in my bags I ask "Are you accusing me of stealing" or I say "No, what are you going to do about it?" Both these answers usually shuts them up.
Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:55
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:55
wooooohhh ----- whats wrong with everyone here --- the company is trying to put on a friendly face and you're all being critical ---- and whats "sinister" about it ---- unless you have some illegal intent yourself ---- a friend of mine works for Bunnings and you would not believe what some people try to get away. The sad part is they only detect a small portion of those low life - who we end up paying for.
Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 22:30
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 22:30
I have never read so much cr@p!
If you don't like it get over it!
Surely you have more constructive contributions to this site.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 07:45
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 07:45
go outside and shake your self....:))))))
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 12:55
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 12:55
A. The comment wasn't directed at you, but as they say, if the cap fits ...wear it!
B. If I wanted your opinion ..... I would have rattled the chain!
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 18:30
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 18:30
hahaha...you got it whether you wanted it not!
Reply By: ozdragon - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 01:02
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 01:02
My wife works for Bunnings. Started out as a people greeter. One of the things a people greeter is supposed to learn is where EVERYTHING is in the store. The store here in Bunbury has 44,000 different items. As yet I have yet to trip my wife up. I ask and she can tell me where everything is. She is a bit Pi$$ed off though. They are about to add 14,000 new items and she has to learn where they will be lol.
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 02:41
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 02:41
That's a great service having P.R. people actually know what's going on. The problem is does anyone know that they know? I've never thought to ask the greeter a question and it certainly isn't marketed as a service.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 09:57
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 09:57
Im suprised people still go there.. the 10 yr old "EXPERTS" they have working there, are brilliant on $2.00 an hr...
Customer "hi I want to build a..."
Staff... *sound of someone running away screaming*
Customer service?? Long gone.
Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 10:31
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 10:31
Gooday,
been away O/seas for a few weeks.
When they ask me "How's your day been?" just about wherever you go, which really gives me a pain in the armpit as it is said with such plasticity & lack of meaning I reply-;; " Mate when you get to my age every day is a good day, some are just better than others!!!", this stuns 'em into silence ( 68 next month).
Also a happy story from Bunnings Mascot about a year ago. My Wife & Daughter bought some numbers to put on Unit doors after repaint, arrived home to find two of the same No stuck together. Wrote a note & posted the extra one back.
A few days later came a double pass to the Pictures with a very warm thankyou note for their honesty.
boroma 604
Reply By: disco driver - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 10:47
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 10:47
Hi All.
Coincidently, I went to my local Bunnings yesterday looking for stuff to make up a shower gadget for the caravan.
Spoke to the
young lady "Greeter" about what I had in mind and, Guess What, she knew what I was talking about and where to find it.
"You will find pvc fittings in aisle 12, shower heads in aisle 22, and if you still can't find what you are looking for go to the trade desk and ask for John, he's a keen camper and should be able to help"
As it happens, I didn't get the bits I needed but I did meet another enthusiastic camper and we "swapped lies" over a cup of coffee.
Made an otherwise ordinary day just a bit special.
Disco
Reply By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 13:27
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 13:27
Gordon Bennett.