Expensive Mistake - or a cheap lesson!
Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 13:56
Member - Captain (WA)
I was taking some long fibre cement sheets in my garden trailer yesterday when I had the hitch pop off the towball and make a nice big dent in my Patrol's back door.
I had loaded the long sheets such that they overhung the rear of the trailer and I probably had -60kg of ball weight (i.e. the hitch was trying to lift up). But as I was only "going around the corner" I didn't think much of it. But within 100m of pulling out, the hitch had popped off and done the damage. The hitch handle was properly down, but I hadn't used a "R" clip to lock it down (who does???).
On closer inspection, all that holds the hitch on to the ball is a spring loaded wedge that sits under the ball. Normaly this would stop the hitch lifting but as I had negative ball weight, only the strength of the spring was actually holding the wedge in. There is provision for a "R" clip to lock the handle in place and stop it lifting, but in all my years of towing, I have never actually done this.
I only got a dent in my back door, but if this had happened at speed, who knows! While this was caused by incorrect loading, it wouldn't be that hard to hit the right combination of bumps and/or braking to cause negative ball weight on the hitch. Perhaps a good reason to use a treg type hitch - positively locked with no chance of disconnecting.
So, my warning to others is make sure you use the "R" clip to lock your hitch to the ball, otherwise its all too easy for the hitch to pop off the ball and do some damage.
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 14:10
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 14:10
doing a midnight run to dump the asbestos sheets were we LOL :-)))))
seroiusly i have never liked the basic clip style hitch, much prefer the old threaded nut/handle style.
Dont get me started on those crazy flimsy pressed sheetmetal hitches....
Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 14:35
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 14:35
Hi Mark,
Sorry to read of your misfortune but as you said, it could've been a lot worse.
A few years ago (when I had a Pajero), we had borrowed a work trailer (covered in 6x4) for a
camping w/e down south. Had used it before with no incident but on this trip had a similar thing happen just south of Crossman on the
Albany hwy. Was travelling at 100 kph and went through some undulations in the road. Next thing I know the trailers popped off the ball - scared the crap out of me (and the family). Thankfully the chains held and no damage to car or trailer. There was positive weight on the ball but not a lot as we managed to lift it by hand to re-attach. No problem after that - I figured just a combination of unique events but I'd hate to think of what could have happened.
I always use this as an example of why to attach the chains. It amazes me when you see idiots towing trailers with the chains dragging on the ground - a really bad accident waiting to happen.
Hugh
Follow Up By: disco driver - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 15:52
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 15:52
Hi Hugh et al,
Have you noticed where the chain connection lugs/holes are on modern towing hitches?
Most that I've seen (my genuine Ford and LandRover ones included) are at least 150-200mm in front of the actual tow ball. The chain therefore has to be so long to connect to these lugs/holes that the drawbar will still hit the ground (with correct ball weight) or destroy the arse end of the vehicle as in Marks case if somehow the trailer does come un attached in some way.
Currently in WA at least, ordinary trailers, the ones used to cart stuff from the hardware
shop to home or from home to
the tip, are only required to have one chain.
Doesn't sound too safe does it??
Disco
Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 17:12
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 17:12
Gday Disco
Had noticed the leangth of chain required for my Shockstop hitch, the chain points are on the vehicle and the hitch is a bit longer than std. The good thing is there are chain points virtually under the towball, so a long chain can be shackled virtually under the ball and to the points on the vehicle, chaining the trailer, hitch and vehicle together. Also it pays to be wary of extendable drawbars like I made for the boat - if you chain to the wrong bit and the locking mechanism for the extention fails, you could be towing a drawbar and nothing else!
Cheers Andrew
Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 15:33
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 15:33
Slightly off topic ........... went fishing with a mate my tow vehicle his rig it was a 6 metre thing anyway on the way home I noticed the rig seemed funny ........ did not give much thought other than that ............ a long bit further and it acted funny again so decided to pull into the servo about a 1klm down the hwy. As I slowed and turned in, the boat drove into the back of my vehicle (scared the bleep out of us) on looking it had snapped the draw bar and only held in place by the brake line and chain. The bar looked fine on the outside but all rusted from the inside.
I ALWAY now double check my trailers and don't tow anyone elses stuff unless I really have to.
What could have been 6 metre rig cut loose on hwy at 100klms kinda gives yeah a chill up the spine.
Reply By: Off-track - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 15:47
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 15:47
Reminded me of my Grandfather who was towing a horse float when it became unhitched. The chains pulled the hitch under the car and speared into the fuel
tank. Lost the car, float and two horses in flames.
I now make sure my chains are as short as possible.
Reply By: Rod E B - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 16:41
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 16:41
I always use a padlock on the hitch of both my trailer and the caravan .
has a dual effect , safety and thift proof as
well
you also are forced into making sure the hitch is on correct
Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 19:54
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 19:54
Safety??? A padlock has no safety rating at all !!
I hope you never try to snatch a vehicle out of a bog using a padlock.
Use a shackle
Follow Up By: On Patrol - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 06:57
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 06:57
Doh!!! He is using the padlock on the safety latch Kiwi Kia. Not not to pull the trailer.
Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 07:02
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 07:02
Hi On Patrol, Are you sure?
I have seen safety chains connected to the tow vehicle by using a padlock instead of a shackle!
My apologies if I am wrong.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 10:51
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 10:51
Yep I did the same thing few years ago, paddlock on the safety chain so no scum bag would flog my trailer from car and was actually pulled up by the cops and informed that it was totally ilegal as it was not rated didnt fine me luckily but pulled it off there and then and put back on the d shackle. I take it that Rod eb is using it at the hitch to stop it from lifting up not at the safety chain attachment. I hope !!. Regards Steve M
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 17:01
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 17:01
Know your problem Captain, I had three cows years ago trying to take control of the Rangie I was driving, by getting the trailer off the ball and swinging it on the chains, fortunately they weren't able to, but it did give me a fright at the time.
Reply By: Old Scalyback & denny - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 18:36
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 18:36
evening gents
as long as the chains are crossed the tow hitch should just drop into the crossover and hold steady until you pull up if the chains are not croseed the hitch can drop straight to the road and dig in
Follow Up By: Old Scalyback & denny - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 18:37
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 18:37
ps even 1 chain going across can help to stop it hitting the ground
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 19:29
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 19:29
It happened to me too but I fixed it.
It's now called a treg.
Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 19:50
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 19:50
Saw a poor bugger with a fully loaded trailer at the
intersection of Tonkin Hwy and Horrie Miller/Kewdale Rd lights he'd lost the pin through his Reese hitch and the trailer was hanging by the chains. I'm from the old school were we cross chains these days most seem to just parallel join or even run a single chain.
Cheers Dunc
Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 01:00
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 01:00
A few years back in WA a bloke was convicted and jailed for not securing his trailer properly. It came off the tow hitch [no chains!] whilst driving down greenmount
hill and killed, or seriously maimed, [bad memory here] a fella coming the other way.
Reply By: ellmcg - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 08:47
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 08:47
We always put the trailer lock back on once our horse float and vehicle are connected. That way there's no chance of the hitch 'popping' off.
Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 10:55
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 10:55
Yeah, got to be careful. I loaded
mine up once years ago with fresh cut wood, and didn't realise how back heavy it was. It didn't come off during travel, but when I unhooked the hitch (unloading later) it flew up and collected me into the air.
Another related thing, your car insurance only covers damage by a trailer while it is attached to the vehicle. Need separate trailer insurance to cover it, contents & damage if it is not attached. eg. If it comes detached and runs away into a house (selecting a non-fatal incident here) then your car insurance won't cover damage.
Tone
Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 12:56
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 12:56
Hi Tonester,
I am going to check with my insurance, but surely if the trailer was connected, in accordance to all rules and regs, and something broke causing the trailer to separate from the car and damage property/persons..how would that be different to a wheel coming off a car and damaging property/persons.
Recent threads have shown that
wheels do come off cars and I would like to think that the vehicle insurance would cover any accident caused by the wheel on its own.
Don't know that much about insurance but you raise an interesting point.
Michael
Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 13:04
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 13:04
Hi Michael. Its just what I remember being told by RACV when I went to insure the CT last year. I remember thinking yikes... Who ever insures a plain simple 6x4 trailer which might be worth $200 on a good day.,
Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 13:24
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 13:24
Tone,
I have just spoken to my insurance broker who is checking, read double checking, for me.
At first glance says that all 'should' be OK, however same breath says that "a lot of people do have their trailers covered by comprehensive insurance" !!??
Did say that
camping gear would be covered by
my home insurance though.
Will let you know what she eventually comes up with.
May be a big difference between a box trailer and a CT ??
Michael
Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 14:50
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 14:50
Welllll, what a can of worms.
In essence Tone you are correct. I have just been told the same thing, whilst your trailer is "attached" to your car it is covered under your car policy.
If the trailer comes "unattached" then any resultant damaged caused by the trailer to third party property is your own problem.
But if you loose a wheel off the trailer, while it is attached to the car, and the wheel trots off on its own and does heaps of damage you are covered by your car insurance, 'cos the trailer was "attached" to the car.
Phew....did say that there was a lot
grey areas where this was involved and it 'may' need a court to decide, depending on circumstances.
Don't think I need to go there so I am getting a quote for comp insurance for my trailer.
Thanks for that,
Michael
Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 15:03
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 15:03
No probs. It suprised me too when I was told. My old caged trailer is held together by rust, I haven't insured it since finding out - but I haven't made any wood runs of 700+kg either since then either. 3rd party insurance would interest me on the thing.
Insurance is all
grey. I just sent my wife's new mobile phone in for repair cause it stopped working, it came back 4 days later with a "sorry, no can do - there's moisture on the circuitry". Basically, Nokia will not repair it (damn thing is new too!!). No idea how
water got there. Ok, my point was that when I enquired, my house insurance doesn't cover the damage. But they would cover someone stealing it. But if a mate of
mine damaged it - no cover. If a burgular broke into the house, beat us over the head with a pipe, broke the phone but DIDNT steal it - technically no cover but they would consider it. The car - if someone steals stuff from it when parked in the driveway, it covered. If that happens at a shopping centre - no cover.
Its prompting a re-think of insurance options.
Reply By: Rod E B - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 14:15
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 14:15
In my comment about the padlock I said nothing about chains
The padlock goes on the thingo that you lift and or turn that holds the ball to the trailer
most have a small hole below the handle , the lock really has no part in the load just stops the handle from coming up , you could use an R clip.
Reply By: Wisey (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 21:46
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 21:46
Only yesterday.
Arrived back at the depot and about to unhitch the trailer, new guy (apprentice1) that was following from the same job arrives without his trailer on. He says, " Can you give me a hand, the trailer come off back down the road" W T F, where, how???
Had just come over a speed hump and she popped off 100m back. 20 Q's from me re any damage or injuries. No, but it's half on the side of the road.
As it turned out it was the other bloke (apprentice 2) who hitched it up had not released the handle to couple the ball, so the R clip was still in place but nothing was locked in except the chain which probably stopped a runaway. It was only the ballweight which got him that far.
Team meeting called there and then. Trailer Basics, Driver is responsible to check all blah blah
Andy