Telstra Next G

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 13:40
ThreadID: 38450 Views:4615 Replies:7 FollowUps:11
Anyone switched across to Next G with Telstra?

My CDMA (nokia 6225) needs a new battery and I am toying with the idea of switching and getting a Samsung 701 (big letters).

Am told that the coverage of Next G is now 96% of population , but there maybe some places that CDMA is best for coverage.
Apparently coverage is up to150km from Base Station, up from 90km for present digital coverage.

Interested to hear from anyone who has switched, or any ideas from others.

Pedro

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 14:35

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 14:35
G'day Pedro, give 125 111 a call, be prepared to say Next G please on the phone to be directed. I have found coverage to be already good according to the Victorian map but look here Site Link for whichever state.

I am currently on the phone trying to access knowledge for wireless broadband over the network which is supposed to be the future for those of us outside the current broadband reach.
AnswerID: 198870

Follow Up By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 17:37

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 17:37
Thanks John. tried that site all afternoon and its "server busy".

Hopefully will get to view it later.

What brand of phone did you get?

Pedrfo
FollowupID: 457633

Reply By: phillip owen - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 18:34

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 18:34

Will be interesting to see how this next G system goes.

As for reaching 96% of the Austrailian population - when I went to update my phone and plan a couple of years ago, the Austrailan population apparently occupied about 4% of the country.

So if the coverage is 96% of the population, it won't necessarily be 96% of the country. :)
AnswerID: 198889

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 23:22

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 23:22
Actually Phillip, it is advertised to be 98% of the population
FollowupID: 457718

Follow Up By: phillip owen - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 11:30

Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 11:30
No worries. Only using figures given.
But same logic.
FollowupID: 457765

Reply By: marq - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 18:35

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 18:35
Seen the price - $0.55/kb - what the!!!!!!
(I believe minimum packet size is 1kb)

GPRS is around $0.05/kb - which still $$$$
AnswerID: 198891

Follow Up By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 19:19

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 19:19
Marq,
I only use the mobile when on trips and then for contact with family and the occasional check of the sharemarket.

Am on a $40 plan and i am told whatever i am on now with CDMA it will transfer across to Next G.

If I want PAYG access to internet it will cost 22c connection and 1.5c per kb, otherwise a subscription is $49pm with a lower per kb fee. (I think)
Dear yes but if I am only using it infrequently it is acceptable on the PAYG basis.

Can anyone else confirm above?

Pedro
FollowupID: 457647

Reply By: Shaka_Dog - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 20:36

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 20:36
CDMA is going to be tunred off in the future, a couple of years from memory. The speeds on Next G will be far superior for data and the coverage willb ebetter for both than any otehr existing network.

Saw it deomed on tuesday and they were watchign Foxtel on the phone and getting 1.5MB with 3.8MB burst on a wireless card in the PC.

As fopr coverage it willbe bigger than any of the exisitng Telstra networks but if you want full coverage everywhere a satelitte will stillb e the only option.

And NO i dont work for Telstra. Pricing of plans no idea yet waiting for information.

Also waiting to get a 3G Imate KJam in a few weeks as a lot of the hardware and features cant be accessed yet as many of the full devices are not yet released, at least that is what Telstra told me this week.

So if i was looking at swapping anyway i would see what they could do to entice me over to the full 3G network.

HTH
AnswerID: 198912

Follow Up By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 21:02

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 21:02
Pardon my ignorance.
What is the full 3G , and what does it offer that Next G doesn't?

A link to info would be appreciated.

Pedro
FollowupID: 457675

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 22:21

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 22:21
... and while CDMA still works for a "few more yrs", I'll stick with it.. I know where it works and doesnt work.

Plenty of lines on that map from above link in suburbia where it wont work!
FollowupID: 457695

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 23:27

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 23:27
Peter, Next G gives the prospect of faster data transfer than 3G and also a wider reach than CDMA and 3G. CDMA phones will work until 2008 and I guess they will bring down the cost of phones to get people to migrate. Our CDMA phone is still on it's first battery and looks steam driven.

Bruce according to the maps I saw, we should be able to stream video so we are covered already. Data card would take 10 days though to arrive if it was to be ordered accoding to the Bigpond page. Sales girl said 2 days.
FollowupID: 457719

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 07:31

Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 07:31
G'day,

We've got the Next G people in our building today for hands on experience and discussion. Some of the people who designed the product and service will be there. I will be giong down to show them my old CDMA phone and ask them a few questions. Yep, NEXT G has a bunch of fancy features (which you will pay throught the nose for) but I just want

a good (long lasting) battery
best coverage possible in the bush
large phonebook memory
vibrate alert
durable build
sms

If anyone has any questions they would like me to ask these people, pls feel free to put them up in this post or mm. Will do my best to get answers for you.
AnswerID: 198956

Follow Up By: Lachie - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 17:03

Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 17:03
Yes I am like you. I just want a phone that works out in the bush. If I want to do emails or watch things I will use my computer !
I have noticed that the CDMA phone I have has already got less reception in my area. I used talk on it in the house before and now I have to walk around the outside of house till the reception is clear.
What ever one does don't buy an LG . Most useless phone I have ever had.
Has been back 3 times for repairs and I can still only get 10 min talk time out of it. It also turns it self off through out the day. I have talked to others in the mile long cue's at telstra who have had similar troubles with LG.
Lachie
FollowupID: 457800

Reply By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 14:05

Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 14:05
John R,
Thanks for that. It appears that the 3G is overkill for what I want .

This is exactly what bushfix wanted
a good (long lasting) battery
best coverage possible in the bush
large phonebook memory
vibrate alert
durable build
sms

What did you learn from your meeting?

Lachie, interesting about the CDMA and changed reception.
Point taken about the LG. I was looking at the Samsung 701 which looks pretty good to me (BIG PRINT)

Pedro

AnswerID: 199143

Reply By: Joombi - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 17:00

Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 17:00
Peter, I have the 6225 as well, just bought a new battery $15 off e-bay landed at my door, It'll do me until they turn off the cdma in 2008...
AnswerID: 199151

Follow Up By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 17:13

Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 17:13
Joombi,
I take it you are happy with the battery.

Who was the seller. just in case he has another one?

Pedro
FollowupID: 457962

Follow Up By: Joombi - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 21:41

Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 21:41
Pedro,
yeah mate, all is good, I have his e-mail address, he is in brisbane, the battery cost me $4.95 + $10 postage to NQ.
peter@am2marketing.com
hope he can help you out
Rick...
FollowupID: 457992

Follow Up By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 17:50

Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 17:50
Thanks Rick,
Sent off an email today

Pedro
FollowupID: 458119