Submitted: Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 09:51
Kumunara (SA)
I am looking at buying a new GPS.
Can anyone give me feedback on the Garmin nuvi 310.
Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 15:03
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 15:03
Nope,just bought a garmin Quest a couple of weeks ago at the recomendation of Doug T of this site fame & quite happy with it so far as compared with my Navman 630.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 22:40
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 22:40
ZUKSCOOTERX90
G'day mate
good to see you got a Quest. I'm sure as you get to use it more and learn what it can do you will love it as i love
mine, Just today [21st Oct] I ask the Truckie where do we deliver the D9N Dozer I escorted from Pt Hedland to
Eneabba which is 144klm south of
Geraldton and he said about 12ks from town , I ask him did he know the name of the road and he says Rocky Spring Rd ,
well I was most surprised to see this dotted line on the Quest called Rocky Spring so as you can see it is damn good and was about 30 meters out at the
intersection,
Doug
Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 15:50
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 15:50
remember that most navigators are just that...if you need to reference yourself against topo maps then you will need one that has ideally has at utm or degrees minutes secs etc the latter of which are to darn hard to work out.
The quest I believe does utm
Reply By: Blaze - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 17:39
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 17:39
Des Lexic just bought a N35 CoPilot PDA which also runs TomTom and Oziexplorer Software, which is what I use on my PDA. This is by far the best setup I have seen so far. Has all your turn left turn right yakking going on if you are using the TomTom or CoPilot and then if you have a Mitsubishi or a Tojo (or so Des says) you can go off the black top. If your just doing black top like most Neeeeessssan owners then buy a 310 :-)
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 21:29
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 21:29
I thought he had moved up to
Katherine so he can't be continually humiliated by his choice of transport. I mean Horse drawn is still a mode of transport isn't it.
I hope he is OK as he hasn't responded yet. How ya goin Stevie.
Follow Up By: Blaze - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 23:05
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 23:05
Hey Des,
He is probably down fishing, I got a call from
Borroloola and they are catching heaps of Barra. By the way, I used your PDA Unit on the weekend and
mine also. I think you will change the software to TomTom... :-)
Reply By: Fusion - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 23:06
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 23:06
Got my Nuvi 310 2 days ago, and am in love. I also have a magellan meridian platinum which is a great unit, but not for simple voice navigation etc which is what the nuvi is for.
In addition I have a 2gb Sd card with hundreds of songs on it, the nuvi plays them on my sound system (via a tape adaptor - or you could use an FM transmitter) & pauses the song when it want to tell me where to go ;)
In addition it is a bluetooth receiver so my bluetooth phone talks to the nuvi & it pauses the music & the voice instructions if a call comes through. On the Nuvi touch screen I just click 'answer' and start talking on speakerphone through the nuvi. My phone can stay in the glovebox etc.
I'd go on, but it's starting to sound like an ad.
Oh, one more thing, I bought some offroad maps with contours which I can run (supposedly - cause I haven't tried it yet) on the Nuvi as
well, but without directions etc, I'd just have the roads/contours maked on the screen with my position.
And there's more, but you should do some research yourself ;)
So in conclusion - if you are after, GPS references & waypoints & straight lines, and all sorts of technical data the Nuvi is not for you. If you are after very good simple maps, routing, spoken directions for city & major country roads (with options for more) + heaps of other functions, but no techy stuff, then the Nuvi might be for you.
Aaron.
Follow Up By: Blaze - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 00:13
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 00:13
Fusion, I think if you check your instruction book you can do waypoints and GPS reference points with the 310, this is one of the improvements over the Nuvi 300 which does have the facility but you have to do a download from the net first.
Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:53
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:53
Aaron
Thanks for the info.
I wanted a unit with voice direction plus the ability to interface with oziexplorer on my laptop.
The 310 unfortunately will not interface with oziexplorer so at this stage it doesn't look like the unit for me.