Submitted: Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 20:21
Bill13
I am in the market for a pair of sheep skin
seat covers to fit my 4wd. It is the first time I have bought such an item but I assume there is a big difference in quality and price. Price is not a real issue as long as the product is of good quality. Can anyone reccomend a good brand or a good supplier. I live in Qld but that is not an issue with good freight and good delivery nowdays.
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 20:55
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 20:55
Hi Bill,
There is a bit of info in the archives on this subject if you put in the keyword "sheepskin" but the one thread I remember giving info on suppliers in
Brisbane is HERE
Trevor.
Reply By: Fusion - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 22:53
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 22:53
Just had my Patrol check measured today for a new set of genuine 1inch think merino wool custom made sheep skin covers. (Black and silver (
grey) to match the interior)
I previously had this company make
seat covers for my X-Trail & they were brilliant.
www.autofleece.com.au - in
Brisbane.
But beware, quality costs :)
About $650 for the front seats including headrests, and that's not the most expensive option either.
Aaron.
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 10:20
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 10:20
I'll give a second vote for these guys. I couldn't be happier with
mine after heaps of km's travelled on them.
Trevor.
Reply By: dieselup - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 07:57
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 07:57
Mortels in the Hunter Valley .They have a web site
Good Luck!
Reply By: Member - Big Al. Gold Coast - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 09:42
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 09:42
We just fitted a new set of sheepskin covers, very happy with them.
Had them fitted here on the coast. (West Burleigh)
Last set lasted 14 years on our old Maverick.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 09:46
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 09:46
I agree the prices are stoopid....
But I scored a COMPLETE set of RAMS covers for $400 off ebay for the GU..
Now, when I called RAMS, they quoted me $800 for the FRONT PAIR ALONE!!! and same for the center seats...
Someone tell me theres no such thing as a rip off.
Dont discount some Canvas covers either.
Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 09:47
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 09:47
When I was in the motor trade we threw heaps of the rotten stinking things in the bin, just make sure you put a set of very cheap covers underneath to stop the raw leather (suede) sticking to your seats, it is almost impossible to remove later.
Follow Up By: ev700 - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 11:30
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 11:30
Being from the trade are there any covers that seemed to work OK to preserve the seats and not cause a sweaty back?
EV
Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 12:38
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 12:38
Most
seat covers seemed to do more damage than they saved, some let fine sand thorough that just grinds away at the fabric & stitching, others let spillages through that just badly stain the seats underneath.
To be quite honest, I hate permanent
seat covers, I think the temporary throw over style to protect the seats off road are best, unless you like the 'impervious' canvas style.
You say to "preserve the seats", why hide what you liked when you purchased the vehicle, only to let the next owner get the benefit, you can just about get the seats retrimmed for the cost of some after market
seat covers.
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 09:54
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 09:54
I got a great pair that fitted the Patrol from SuperCheap for around $200 maybe less, used one every day int he work car till I got rid of that 3 yrs ago and then put it into the Patrol so I have two in the front, theyre still great
Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 10:31
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 10:31
Hi there Bill, I have two I just took off my lux and will be on ebay really soon, cost me $500 for the pair but I dont like the feel of them they take the feeling out of the
seat. I feel like I'm sitting on top of the
seat not in it. As mentioned above if you do buy a set make sure you put some thing under them or they will leave the hide on the original
seat covering and is a bastard to get off. I just had some old bed sheets so cut them to size and put them under first. There a nice feel to sit in but just to thick for me. Maybe its just the hilux seats arent as good as say the cruisers or patrols as far as depth goes. Regards Steve M
Reply By: Member - Peter H (NT) - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 15:08
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 15:08
G'day mate,
We just had our 100 series decked out with sheepskin covers for $600 including fitting from a bloke at the Fairfield markets(NSW). He was so impressed with the job he asked if he could photograph his work and use it as part of his promotion at the market.
Reply By: Bill13 - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 18:43
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 18:43
Thanks for all the replies, it was great to get such a positive response. I had a look at the web site of Auto fleece and they appear to have good quality
seat covers. A bit dear but that is the price of a quality australian product as against a imported one.
I shall give them a call on Monday.
Thanks again,