4WD going soft.

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 19:32
ThreadID: 38534 Views:2925 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
You wonder why 4WD are turning soft.

I was having a brief discussion on another Non 4WD forum.

As it turns out the majority of people would rather buy a Duel cab territory Ute>

Hardly something that has much use apart from looking good when mum takes the kids to the beach or sitting in the Bunnings car park

Than an a Sport Trac ( Duel cab Explorer Ute)>

Now obviously I wouldn’t get much support for ether on a Nissan/ Toyota biased forum but you can see my point, If you had the option between the 2 what would you go for, I know what one I would take.

Reply By: Scubaroo - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 19:42

Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 19:42
Discussion aside, that Territory "ute" is a photoshop job...
AnswerID: 199318

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 19:45

Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 19:45
typical explorer, the bluddy rear wheel has come off :)
AnswerID: 199321

Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 19:51

Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 19:51
American build quality for ya LOL
FollowupID: 458147

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 19:58

Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 19:58
Most of my Landrover friends thought I went soft when I bought a Landcruiser 30 years ago. Now I look at the newer models and think they're a bit soft with all the plastic and puter stuff. Must be secret lust. LOL
AnswerID: 199322

Reply By: navaraman - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 20:02

Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 20:02
I couldn't care less what other people prefer to buy, each to their own.

Pat
AnswerID: 199325

Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 20:17

Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 20:17
Yes I agree, what I was saying is we often wonder why 4WD are getting less 4WD like (Loosing solid axles in favour of IFS/IRS, less ride height and articulation more plastic I.E more city SUV like, well it sounds as if it’s because that is what the majority of people want and the manufactures relies this and are building them as such
FollowupID: 458160

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 20:54

Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 20:54
yes more profit in SUV type vehicles,,,wanna buy my old real 4x4 Lux :)
FollowupID: 458169

Reply By: Old Scalyback & denny - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 20:48

Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 20:48
i like the red 1 cause they go faster !!!! especially with a red P plate lolololol

AnswerID: 199338

Follow Up By: Ray Bates - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 08:16

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 08:16
Black ones as well
FollowupID: 458206

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 20:50

Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 20:50
"well it sounds as if it’s because that is what the majority of people want and the manufactures relies this and are building them as such"

Got it in one Sherlock!!

Geoff.

AnswerID: 199339

Reply By: ross - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 22:31

Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 22:31
Simple fact is they build and sell the cars that people want to buy.

Once upon a time all 4wd were heavy duty work/military vehicles and they began to add extras like comfortable seats,padded interiors and aircon ect
The more comfortable they became ,the more acceptable they became and the more they sold.
The car makers got to a point where they could not make them more comfortable and easier to drive without ditching some of the things that made older style 4wds tough ,eg solid axles and full chassis

If consumers began buying solid axles vehicles in ever increasing numbers,then more models would appear.

Lets face it ,most owners dont go offroad in a serious way so why buy something that is truck like.
AnswerID: 199352

Reply By: Ole Grizzly - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 10:02

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 10:02
Struth...doesn't anyone remember the days of the 'Redex' round Australia car trials....back in 1953,54 and 55...all street cars..Ahh..memmories.
AnswerID: 199377

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 10:56

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 10:56
Made a trailer one time to cart sand out of a creek bed, the axle was out of the front end of a VW beetle. There must have been 4-5 ton on that thing & nothing ever broke!!.
FollowupID: 458226

Follow Up By: Exploder - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 18:22

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 18:22
No wasn’t born yet LOL, but have heard storeys about it from my Grandfarther.
FollowupID: 458278