Lantana in QLD

Submitted: Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 08:50
ThreadID: 38540 Views:3363 Replies:10 FollowUps:7
What's happening in QLD, what's Qld National parks and State forests doing, are they blind or something.
On a recent trip to Maleny in the Hinterland we were amazed about how wide spread the Lantana is, is anyone doing anything about the problem, or does anyone care about it, after our trip i would say, NO.

Shame realy it's such a lovely part of the country.

Oh stopped off at Rover Park on the way, there are some great tracks in there, Mulletts, Slipway, just to name 2, it took us 4 hours to do 27k out of 300k of tracks.

Reply By: 4x4Mad - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 09:23

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 09:23
Lantana is all over south east queensland !! worked in the foresty dept (dpi) for 10 years and am currently a forestry contractor , We could spray lantana in a plantation of pine and 12 months later the plantations are thriving with lantana again . even found some old forestry roads we did,nt know were there covered in lantana through the back of the imbil and kenilworth area . And dont worry yes foresty workers are spraying it , contract crews constantly working just on spraying this dog of a weed
AnswerID: 199375

Reply By: ev700 - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 10:08

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 10:08
What about the Lantana bug?
AnswerID: 199379

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 10:13

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 10:13
Doesn't like high temperatures, therefore with our dry spells, i suspect the beast may be struggling more than normal...

FollowupID: 458218

Follow Up By: ev700 - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 10:43

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 10:43
Thank you for the info.
EV
FollowupID: 458223

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 10:39

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 10:39
G'day Baz,

yep that stuff is terrible. Needs a pretty hot fire to destroy it too. Another example would be blackberry in the Lidsdale State Forest area.
AnswerID: 199380

Reply By: Scoey (QLD) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 10:53

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 10:53
Another case of too much land to manage with the resources that they are given. Which is exactly why tracks are closed. Cheaper to let areas go wild and people not visit them then actually manage them! ;-)

Scoey!
AnswerID: 199383

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 11:43

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 11:43
That stuff is a dirt bike riders nemisis ! I hate it with a passion !
Not unusual to come back from a ride with the bridge of your nose cut and bleeding and red welts across your neck from having that crap stuff ripped across it at 40kph !
Still, it's got nothing on the 'wait-a-while' vine in central and western QLD, same as lantana but with small, hard rose thorns on it, OUCH !

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 199386

Reply By: Redback - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 12:23

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 12:23
4x4MAD, good to see someones trying to do something about it, and yes Bushfix the blackberry bushes at Lydsdale are pretty bad, not as bad as around Melany and Kilcoy, Kenilworth and Woodford, but still bad none the less.

We camped at the Neurum creek bush retreat for 2 days (boy does that place get crowded on the weekend or what !!) and just drove around the surrounding area, i must say it's a lovely area and bloody friendly people living there too, not alot offroading as you need to give your first born to get access to the forests, but we still had a good time there, maybe some local knoledge needed next time for access to some driving may help.

AnswerID: 199390

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 21:02

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 21:02
Hard to get "local knowledge" if you dont ask first and let us know you were up this way Baz, its a bl-ody big back yard ,,
FollowupID: 458320

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 07:57

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 07:57
I know a couple of local Landy owners from AULRO from around that area, but i wasn't there long enough to really do any offroading as such.

Just there for a mates wedding at Maleny on friday, arrived thursday arvo and we left for home saturday morning, we bush camped all the way (except Corrindi and Neurum) and took 2 weeks to get there stopping at Galargumbone, Nundle then Styx River, Corrindi beach, then Crooked Creek camping area, Girard state forest near Tenterfield (had a play at Rover Park) then on to Neurum Creek stopping for 2 and 3 days at each place a good fun trip.

FollowupID: 458391

Reply By: traveller2 - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 15:16

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 15:16
Get Qld NPWS to do as they do NSW NPWS, adopt the blackberry and lantana as their plant of the millenium and encourage their growth, makes it harder for the masses to enjoy the parks and keeps them out!!
AnswerID: 199408

Reply By: greydemon - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 18:07

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 18:07
Lantana is sold in garden centres here in WA. I have some in my garden and it has shown no signs over the last five or six years of uprooting itself and running off to colonise nearby bushland. Does anyone know why this is? Is it a different type of Lantana? I can't believe that the growing conditions in the South of WA are that much different from the East.

Bridal Creeper, Morning Glory,and blackberries are another matter, whoever imported those pests should be dug up, stood alongside the guys who imported rabbits and foxes and shot.
AnswerID: 199426

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 18:39

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 18:39
different type more than likely....the nasty one is called lantana camara.....they still sell varieties of lantana (yellow flowers mainly as opposed to the nasty pinky/purple one) in garden centres in Qld as a good cover for embankments etc. There are still concerns over cross-pollenisation into the wild varieties though.

Info on the declared weed in Qld here ==> http://www.nrm.qld.gov.au/factsheets/pdf/pest/pp34.pdf

FollowupID: 458280

Reply By: russ36 - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 04:00

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 04:00
had a fair bit of trouble getting thru some country a while back and staked my eye. couldnt see properly for a day or two....thought to myself..whoever brought this into the country needs a good kick in the backside....and then another.....people on community service should be forced to remove and burn it....40 hours of dealing with that horrible bleep would make anyone want to stick to the straight and narrow
AnswerID: 199508

Follow Up By: 4x4Mad - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 04:43

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 04:43
You really think anyone that is going to be doing community service is going to a good job of getting rid of lantana ? im 34 now and have worked in the forestry industry since i was 15 , seen some pretty wild bush fires go through places i have worked and the lantana just keeps coming back .
so many other factors involved now aswell > eg.. erosion so dry for spraying that they are worried about ground kill and then the summer storms and rain come and wash soil away . And what to use > currently roundup and brushhook job . Areas up in the bush when we decide its smoko or lunch that will take us 30-40 mins to get out to the vehicles , guys carrying the poison in to people cutting and spraying are the ones i feel for , as it gets pretty darn rough up in the hills around kenilworth , imbil , amamoor , blackbutt , yarraman ect.... had guys come out straight off the dole cue and say stuff this buy smoko . so really community service is a bit of a joke .. but who am i to complain about the lantana >> makes me $ and keeps me out of the local
FollowupID: 458377

Reply By: Joombi - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 07:04

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 07:04
Up here in the NP's, every one of them have a different weed that is slowly taking over.
One has rubbervine overtaking (Which I seen for sale in a nursery in Noosa while I was on holiday, along side Lantana) Parthinium weed is just overtaking the whole river system, parkinsonia, belly ache weed, chonkie apple, you name it & not one of these plants are native.
My missus works for QPWS and thats all she does is cut stump & basil bark weeds & she knows she's banging her head against a brick wall. all areas are badly under manned, there are 5 rangers here, 3 of them rarely leave the office to do any real hard yakka, my wife & the other 003 ranger (who is a temporary & also a female) are the only ones to do any serious manual labour on the 7 National & Conservation parks
I reckon the powers that be don't think its that big of a problem & need to cast a real good eye over the whole National parks system. but they won't!!
AnswerID: 199517

Follow Up By: 4x4Mad - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 07:37

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 07:37
yep rubbervine is another enemy of the foresty , another is Catsclaw >> have seen catsclaw actually take over whole blocks of pine , climb to the crown of the trees and just start to strangle the trees , have seen it actually bending trees and not just one whole plantations , thus making the pine unmillable
FollowupID: 458388