Question for Phone Techs

Submitted: Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 10:18
ThreadID: 38545 Views:2627 Replies:12 FollowUps:21
Thinking about putting a switch on my home phone line to disable it. Could put the switch where the line enters the outside wall, there is a connection there.

Would be useful when going away and for limiting kids accessing ADSL (Net) during late nite.

What problems?

Thanks in advance

EV

Reply By: TerraFirma - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 12:12

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 12:12
What is your motive..? There are easier ways to limit ADSL usage. Are you concerned with download bandwidth.? When going away why would you want to disable your phone line..? If you list your primary concerns we could suggest best practice to address them..
AnswerID: 199387

Follow Up By: ev700 - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 14:47

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 14:47
TerraFirma
Security when going away, we have an STD bar we can turn on and off but it is aesy to forget.
Re the ADSL the games and teens are proving to be a nuisance 'after hours' and although we could remove the PCs from bedrooms it does not suit living arrangements. Beter we thought to have it completely off o'nite.

EV
FollowupID: 458240

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 14:55

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 14:55
You can halt internet access with most anti-virus programs on the market today. You can also easily unplug the line into your ADSL modem. Also make sure you have a decent Anti-Spyware solution if the kids are downloading games. The free Anti-Spyware programs like Adaware and Spybot don't work anymore, best solution is Spyware Doctor by PC Tools, Australian too..

Lots of solutions, keep in touch..
FollowupID: 458245

Follow Up By: ev700 - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:34

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:34
TerraFirma
Thanks for the heads-up on asaware and spybot.
EV
FollowupID: 458286

Follow Up By: ev700 - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:35

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:35
'asawrae muct be the African version, I meant Adaware.
EV
FollowupID: 458287

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 12:27

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 12:27
G'day,

i think what you are suggesting may be illegal unless you hold a current austel license. fiddling with the line to the first socket (black cable) may earn you a $12,000 fine last time I checked. :)

AnswerID: 199393

Follow Up By: ev700 - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 14:48

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 14:48
No good.

EV
FollowupID: 458241

Follow Up By: ev700 - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:37

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:37
bushfix
Thank you for your advice. Good to know you could get bitten like that.
EV
FollowupID: 458288

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 08:47

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 08:47
no worries mate.
FollowupID: 458404

Reply By: Ken - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 13:03

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 13:03
Remember the line to the first point at your house belongs to the big T [Telstra] Beyond that point it is yours but as someone else points out you must be a licenced cable to legally play around with it.
Putting a switch in a telephone line, even by a licenced cable, isn't a good idea and will be bound to cause problems such as forgetting to reset it when you do want to get calls or make them. For these reasons it has never been communications practice to switch the line in this way.

Ken
AnswerID: 199399

Follow Up By: ev700 - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 14:49

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 14:49
Ken
Thanks.
EV
FollowupID: 458242

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 13:35

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 13:35
Do it the simple way, take the ADSL modem with you.
AnswerID: 199401

Follow Up By: ev700 - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 14:52

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 14:52
GaryInOz

It is a small network of four Pcs on a router. Cn remove when going away but a nuisance to remove to stop the games experts who do the night shift - not always obvious in a house with two levels.

EV
FollowupID: 458243

Follow Up By: Nick R - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 22:58

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 22:58
have the router feed to a network hub which connects to the computers. I assume the ADSL router has a power supply, put this on a timer which is in a lockable enclosure so it can't be tampered with.
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 458363

Reply By: BenSpoon - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 14:21

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 14:21
seems like youre going to get alot of help here on this one.

As mentioned, do not play with anything before the first socket- that is not your property, and you can be fined pretty heavily if you touch it.
ADSL signal is able to operate off a single wire, so if you do install your switch, get a double pole switch or something that with break both wires. The pairs in phone cabling are white (+) and blue line 1, red (+) and black line 2.
AnswerID: 199404

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 14:30

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 14:30
There is every chance it will compromise the quailty of the ADSL connection.
FollowupID: 458239

Follow Up By: ev700 - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 14:57

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 14:57
BenSpoon & Shaker

Thanks. Back at square 1 though.

A wireless router could make things easier to disconnect but we do internet banking and do not want tye security risk (of wireless).

There is money in it for the first techie to invent a key router/modem for parents, or preferably one with a clock and lock.

EV
FollowupID: 458247

Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 15:27

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 15:27
stick a timer switch on the modem instead- drops power at midnight, fires back up at 1am.

Wireless is safe- You just need to set it up right (access control and WPA security). It should walk you thru setting that up step by step in the manual of a wireless router.
FollowupID: 458251

Follow Up By: Tim@Stratford - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 16:51

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 16:51
On my ADSL wireless system if I didn't have line filters on each plug the ADSL would drop out and I couldn't connect.

Maybe as easy as unplugging a filter from the phone line - but I thought it was a good idea to put a plug in AC timer so it switches off your modem at the time you specify.

Tim - Stratford.
FollowupID: 458258

Reply By: Rokkitt - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 15:10

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 15:10

I assume you connect through a broadband router? these are often configurable to the point that what you suggest could be totally automated...the internet may be made unavailable before 9am and again after 5:30pm. You could also make this managed By the PC'S themselves if they are all W2k or XP - otherwise many third party apps allow you to configure this simply and easily...one of many I would recommend is Net Nanny (probably be easier and more secure than a physical switch).

This will only stop use of the PC's - not the overuse of the phone line....consider VOIP to drastically reduce your call costs.

Rod
AnswerID: 199407

Follow Up By: ev700 - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 15:18

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 15:18
Rod

We would be happy enough at this stage to get sleep at night without having to ride herd on the games. I assume some have teenage boys and can empthise with this.

The boys arte theior own administrators on XP (the mistakes we make) but do you by any chance know if it is possible to set availability on a DLink DSL 504T?

thanks
EV
FollowupID: 458250

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 15:25

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 15:25
How about several ideas:

- get some Bandwidth sharing software and limit the speed at which they can access the net to under, say, 5kbps (good old dialup speed). This gives them some limited access for basic email, assignment searching, and stops the games (due to being way too slow for any real action).

- sneak in a line filter on the adsl modem when you go out and they are not watching. May take them some time hopefully to work out the problems as it blends in with the rest of the system.

- tell them not to use it ;-)

AnswerID: 199410

Follow Up By: ev700 - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:48

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:48

Thank you.

These kids are a bit older and more tech aware. One is a gaming nut.

They access the school's intranet.

Your last metiuoned suggestion worked for some years but now they find it hard to leave the games MSN chat etc alone

EV

FollowupID: 458291

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:38

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:38
At least you can say that have normal teenagers :-)

FollowupID: 458310

Reply By: T.C - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 15:26

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 15:26
What you want to do is legal but most do it within the confines of the house.

Find where the black cable terminates and if you have a phone line in your bedroom you can get what they call a cut/over switch, people use these to toggle back and forth from answer phone to normal fone.

You could put it in the garage or your bedroom but rember the line must come to the Cutover switch first and redirected back to the other sockets second. You could wire it up a number of ways as Off would mean maybe only fone in your room works in case of emergencies and toggle the other way and the intire house plus ADL comes back into play. You would need help of a comms tech who can do it for you.
It can be done but you will only know if it is worth it.

AnswerID: 199411

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 16:36

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 16:36
my understanding was that you cannot interfere with any part of the fixed line system, even in the home, unless you were austel licensed?

Unless it is a plug-in, austel approved device, you cannot do it legally.

FollowupID: 458254

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 16:48

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 16:48
You are not supposed to connect any device to the Telstra phone system which has not received an Austel approval. But I know of two major products being sold in Oz which are not in the design state as the samples which underwent Austel testing :)

Just _NEVER_ connect anything with a 240V mains supply unless it has Austel approval.

Personally I'd tell the kids if I find them with their computers on after midnight (whatever) I'l disconnect their internet connection for one week the first time, two weeks the second time....

FollowupID: 458257

Follow Up By: kev.h - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 17:30

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 17:30
Come on Mike poor bugger would have to put up with the kids annoying him for one or two weeks non stop could drive a man to drink
Kev
FollowupID: 458264

Follow Up By: ev700 - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:56

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:56

kev.h is right in that my wife would drive me to drink after they have worn her down.

"No' worked for some years however the games and chat etc are insidious and are designed to really suck boys in.

EV
FollowupID: 458294

Reply By: ev700 - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 09:13

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 09:13
Thanks to everyone for the helpful suggestions.

The powersupply for the ADSL router will be living in a locked, ventilated box along with a 240V timer.

I can already hear the screams of anguish. One small step for a man, one giant leap for family's sanity. ;-)

EV
AnswerID: 199538

Reply By: Rokkitt - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 09:21

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 09:21
Good thinking...I would have said use the manual connect/disconnect function in the router and don't tell anyone...:) - but this is a better way to go!
AnswerID: 199540

Reply By: jayswan - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 23:52

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 23:52
You could always get them to pay for the upgrade to umlimited broadband while your away, depending on your plan, they would only have to cough up about 30 dollars max for a month.

You then don't have to worry about usage, and they get internet, everyones happy.
AnswerID: 199643

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 00:44

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 00:44
I'd be looking into some of the common routers that have the facility to lockout internet access at preset times.

Netgear have several. They aren't expensive.

You can configure them easily and password protect it.

Locked boxes are less secure than good passwords.

Of course they only have to borrow a modem or router off a mate for while you are away in either circumstance and they are up and running.

I'd not be playing with switches and wires. You also restrict their ability to make a "000" call which would not be good in the event that they burn the place down or one of their mates has an asthma attack or worse.

Murphy loves a player, and when he challenges he often wins...

But I do like him, he keeps me in a job!

AnswerID: 200417