GU Fuel economy

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 21:02
ThreadID: 38594 Views:2820 Replies:11 FollowUps:3
GU Fuel economy

After completing over 5000klm towing a van that weighs 2583kg I averaged 5.2klm per litre of diesel. The Tow vehicle is 2000 GU patrol 4.2 diesel with after market Turbo and 145000klm on the clock.

I would be interested to here what sort of fuel consummation other people get with a similar package.

Hope to get some thing to compare.

BBB

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 21:05

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 21:05
Hi BBB, a mate is in the Noosa area at present on hol's total weight is 4500kg including CT, he has factory turbo and getting 16l/100 k's. 4.2 diesel.
AnswerID: 199618

Follow Up By: Member - BBB - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 21:14

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 21:14
My total weight is 5600kg and 19.23 per 100km so an extra 3.2litres per 100km and 1100kg heaver may not be that bad.

BBB
FollowupID: 458525

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 21:14

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 21:14
Similar to you BBB,

regardless of weight (within reason) I tend to get 20lt per 100km which is 5k/lt. Take it easy??? Nah not me.

Trevor.
AnswerID: 199621

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 21:23

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 21:23
I would be p-ssed as nute on thos figures.Lol
AnswerID: 199624

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 22:08

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 22:08
Our van would weigh more than your loaded, and we get 5 kms/ltr towing with 3 ltr, so you are doing OK. I have compared notes with stronger tow vehicles like F250s and the end result is not a lot different - towing a heavy van chews up the juice.

AnswerID: 199633

Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 00:26

Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 00:26
1999 GU Patrol, fully loaded in the back (no back seats at all), prospecting gear, with an extra 100 litres of fuel and an extra 80 litres of water in the back, towing a 2 tonne van.

The consumption varies between 5.5 and 6.2 kms/litre. I tow between 85 and 100 kmh - with the odd excursion to 120kmh ;)

The engine is 6.5 litre Chev V8 diesel and it doesn't seem to matter if yer towing, loaded or empty - it does the same mileage.

It's a typical truck engine.

The thing about small high revving diesels is that to get the power and torque to tow a largish van, you have to get the engine up the rev range. That's what chews up the juice. That's why there's a big difference between consumption towing and empty.

The old Chev truck engine just pulls loaded like it does empty. Same same.

My old TD42 Ford Maverick ute did about 24 MPG when empty and about 18 MPG towing a camper and fully loaded.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 199647

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 01:34

Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 01:34
We have a 1999 GU Patrol 4.2 turbo diesel and towing the van got about 5klm per litre, we were travelling about 95/100 kph. Looks like yours is about right.

D&B

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 199652

Reply By: Member - BBB - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 06:39

Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 06:39
Thanks for the feed back.

BBB
AnswerID: 199661

Follow Up By: dj Patrol - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 08:55

Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 08:55
Tow a 2300kg van dont flog it and we get 6.25 or dont go much beyond 85 as I am not in that much of a hurry I am happy with mine.
dj patrol
FollowupID: 458586

Reply By: chips59 - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 20:44

Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 20:44
you blokes with the 4.2 turbo's are you towing in 5th gear? I have done about 40000 ks this year towing about 2.5 tonne and the patrol loaded using 5th gear and with what ive been reading am getting a bit worried.
AnswerID: 199736

Follow Up By: Member - BBB - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 06:05

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 06:05
Chips59

I only use 5th when towwing over speeds of 100klm and down hills when ther is not as mutch load on the car.

It drops the RPM from around 3000 RPM at 110klm to about 2500RPM at 110klm and will hold that speed comfortably.

How ever it does run hotter in 5th gear and we offen lose our air- con may have something to do with the speed of the water pump and the syncer on the air-con.

Where dose your temp gage sit when towwing and do you lose your air-con ?

BBB
FollowupID: 458753

Reply By: Member - John C (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 21:09

Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 21:09
With a non-turbo 4.2 Diesel I get between 17 - 18 litre per 100Km. Tried using 5th gear one trip and found it worse for economy and not supposed to be real good for the transmission.
AnswerID: 199740

Reply By: chips59 - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 21:42

Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 21:42
i'm going to melbourne next wednesday so i might try just using 4th there and 5th back and do a check fuel usage.
AnswerID: 199745

Reply By: chips59 - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 21:10

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 21:10
member BBB, my temp sits about half way towing or not. those revs you quoting are really high, my revs at 110k are 2400 in 4th and 110 in 5th is 2000 +/- 100rpm
AnswerID: 199914