What toy to buy with a 4X4 voucher....?

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 15:55
ThreadID: 38634 Views:3495 Replies:9 FollowUps:22
I have been given a $100 gift voucher for my birthday to spend at my local 4X4 shop and I was wondering what people recomend I spend it on? You know, those great little gadgets that seem silly when you get them but you now can't live without!! I don't have a lot of $$$ to add to it so I'm fairly restricted - if I can't come up with something I'll just save it to add to my impending suspension work! ;-)

Oh and btw - I already have a set of Staun tyre deflators! ;-)

Scoey!

Reply By: Scoey (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 16:33

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 16:33
Maybe I should've added also, that I drive a '94 Petrol Auto GXL 80 Series with about the only mods being a UHF and 285/75-16 MT/R's. The truck gets used mainly for short trips (no where remote) with generally moderate 4X4ing in places like Cruiser park etc. I also do a little bit of beach work.

Does that help get an idea of what it's used for and hence the cheap gadgets that might be useful???

Scoey!
AnswerID: 199853

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 17:10

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 17:10
Put it towards basic recovery gear if you don't already own it - you should be able to pick up a basic kit with shackles, snatch strap and gloves for not much more than $100.

Otherwise put it towards a compressor if you already own the Stauns!
FollowupID: 458866

Reply By: spliney - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 16:37

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 16:37
12V air compressor??
snatch strap??
trolley jack??
ramps??
Tools??

Spliney
AnswerID: 199855

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 16:40

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 16:40
Hmmm thanks Spliney! I like the compressor idea! Or the trolley jack! Cheers for the ideas - keep em coming people! :-))

Ah forgot to mention that I have a good snatch strap and a coupla rated shackles!

Scoey!
FollowupID: 458860

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 17:16

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 17:16
If you dont have a copressor then that would be top of the list. Bare minimum you should go out with is a shovel, snatch strap 2 shackles and a compressor
FollowupID: 458867

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 16:39

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 16:39
What about a Shentai impact wrench.....gr8 bit of kit.

Or a "Safety Seal" tyre repair kit (ARB have recently been selling them for $88- in Adelaide).

Or a quality flouro camping light....

Other than that, there aren't too many worthwhile accessories for a ton.
AnswerID: 199856

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 16:42

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 16:42
Hey Roachie,

Cheers for the ideas! I never would've thought of this stuff by myself! hehe! I would've trotted my guts down to the shop and ended up coming out with a DVD and a new shirt or something equally useless! ;-)

Scoey!
FollowupID: 458861

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 17:18

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 17:18
88 dollars for a seal kit?? cant remember how much mine was but it would have been less than 20 bucks pluss the cost of some more worms and more glue. used it at least 3 times in anger and it works
FollowupID: 458868

Follow Up By: Mark - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 21:19

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 21:19
Good choice Roachie. My safety seal has helped me & a mate out a few times, on one occasion in Werrikimbee NP, Mate was stranded with 2 flats in 10 minutes & I had to drive from Port Mac with the safety seal to help him out, had to put 5 plugs in the hole but it got him out of there. Iv'e seen the $20 kits mentioned but I'd leave them on the shelf as I would certainly not rely on them to repair a 4X4 tyre.
FollowupID: 458905

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 08:11

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 08:11
I have just bought the ARB branded safety seal kit from their new shop on South Road. Nice orange box you can't loose (well loose easily!) 30 worms and robust, solid, metal handled tools. It was $59.95 and has already been used twice.

Highly recommended.

Pete
FollowupID: 458951

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 08:11

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 08:11
For loose read lose!
FollowupID: 458952

Reply By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 17:51

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 17:51
Hey Scoey,
This may be a bit left field but if you want to keep the little missus happy, like I did mine, I bought her (and me) a Hot2Go. It is a gas powered kettle which is fantstaic to boil a cuppa whilst on the road. Makes a Thermos obsolete and very second rate.
Boils 3-4 cups in about 3 mins and cheap to run.
AnswerID: 199867

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 18:02

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 18:02
Can you use those during a total fire ban?
FollowupID: 458875

Follow Up By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 18:27

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 18:27
Yes Scubaroo,
It takes those small blue gas cartridges internally and is about the same size as your kitchen kettle.
FollowupID: 458877

Follow Up By: silkwood - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 19:01

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 19:01
You can't use these during a total fire ban.

Cheesrs,

FollowupID: 459083

Follow Up By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 19:57

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 19:57
Hi Mark,
Are you intimating that you can't use any sort of gas appliance in a fire ban?
I would think not but I may be wrong. We still use our gas 2 burner stove wherever we want and this Hot2Go is a lot safer than that.
FollowupID: 459093

Follow Up By: silkwood - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 20:22

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 20:22
From discussions with Victorian Park Ranger recently, and experience with the regulations in the past no, sorry Steve, you can't use your Hot2go or your gas stove on a Total Fire Ban Day. At least not unless you have an approved area (usually in a public park, eg. the coin operated units you see everywhere except out bush) and a ready supply of available running water (a river nearby doesn't cut it) or are in an appropriate permanent building. You may want to check exactly on the Hot2go (it was an item mentioned in conversation which the ranger was certain of) but I'm certain about your gas stove (or petrol stove, or Trangia etc.). Using the gas unit in a tent, camper trailer or caravan isn't allowed either in most states (has to be a permanent dwelling and a caravan doesn't count).

I'll look up the exact regs and get back to you. The ruling on caravans etc. shows that most campers technically break the law in this regard.

Cheers, (or is that cheesrs?)

FollowupID: 459097

Follow Up By: silkwood - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 21:00

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 21:00
The info was mostly right. Try:
http://www.cfa.vic.gov.au/restrictions/can.htm#cancant1
Site Link

So unless your wilderness camping is next to a permanent dwelling, enjoy the muesli!

PS: gas is considered a liquid fuel.

FollowupID: 459112

Follow Up By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 21:05

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 21:05
Mark, You have aroused my curiousity now. I am in WA which means it could be completely different.
I will check tomorrow and report back.
FollowupID: 459115

Follow Up By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 21:22

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 21:22
Mark, I just found this on the WA CALM website. I think i was right and we are different in WA.

"Fires should be restricted to the areas provided, or visitors should bring their own gas barbecue or stove. No open fires are allowed on total fire ban days."

Regards, Steve
FollowupID: 459117

Follow Up By: silkwood - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 21:46

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 21:46
Thanks, Steve. Interesting. Can you post the link?

FollowupID: 459125

Follow Up By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 22:22

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 22:22
Now Mark, I could tell you that but then I'd have to kill you. Otherwise all you foreigners would want to come over here.
Seriously, I would like to check with the authorities first and get something factual. Just remembered it is Saturday tomorrow and WA shuts til Monday.
I have been her 25 years and I guess that sometimes we do what we think is Ok (legal!) until we get caught.
Just google CALM (Conservation & Land Management).... OK I'll try!!

Site Link

FollowupID: 459135

Follow Up By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 10:36

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 10:36
Hi Mark,
THis has been a challenge to say the least. I have contacted CALM (Conservation & Land Management); FESA (Fire & Emergency Services) and eventually the local Shire.
It appears that each Shire is responsible for their own area and initiate Fire Bans as required. Overall, the State is guided by the Bush Fires Act 1954. Following is a quote from that Act which is about as close as I get get to anything sensible.
From my knowledge, I don't think I have ever seen a Total Fire Ban in place. We have signs in each Shire indicating Fire risk from low to extreme, which is just a warning to be careful.

Bush Fires ACt 1954
Section 25(1aa) For the purposes of this section a gas appliance, comprising a fire the flame of which is encapsulated by the appliance and which does not consume solid fuel, shall not be taken to be a fire in the open air and may be used at any time for the purpose of camping or cooking if that gas appliance is used —

(a) at a person’s home; or
(b) in an area which —
(i) is set aside for that purpose by the State Authority or local government responsible for the care, control or management of the land; and
(ii) bears the State Authority’s or local government’s sign denoting that purpose,
and all combustible material is cleared from within a 5 metre radius of the appliance.

FollowupID: 459759

Follow Up By: silkwood - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 15:43

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 15:43
Thanks Steve. I tend to read it as acceptable to use in a camping area with a designated fire place/pit/spot(?) which would rule out use during general camping without such a fire place on site? Does this sound about right? Or would it mean the park/forest is designated for camping, therefore acceptable? How would you read it?

It's interesting the different regulations for different areas.

FollowupID: 460239

Follow Up By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 18:40

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 18:40
Hi Mark,
I agree with your interpretation other than, for instance a free camping spot designated as such by the local authority/shire (as are all over WA), that it would be OK to use your gas cooker at these spots. The other point that I mentioned before is that I have never seen a Total Fire Ban in WA in my 25 years here.
Your right about the variations between states. It reminds me of road rules; towing regs; annual vehicle checks; etc etc. It would be nice if one day we could become one country instead of 5 or 6 states and territories.
Best regards,
FollowupID: 460276

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 11:16

Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 11:16
Victoria has plenty of Total Fire Ban days - sounds like the use of this device is more restricted in Vic because of it's gas nature. WA obviously has a different set of rules.
FollowupID: 460438

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 21:04

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 21:04
I use the head torch I have heaps and you can get these for about that price, you know the ones that have led's and a small bulb light to choose from. I find it handy when turning snags on the barbie at night, to leave it with the youngen to send himself off to sleep in a tent when I have a few beers around the fire along with the usual night time walks to the john ect ect. well worth the spend IMO.

Have fun shopping, just don't tell her you bought something on your first visit and the missus won't mind you going back and back and back LOL!!!
Trevor.
AnswerID: 199912

Reply By: troopyman - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 21:06

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 21:06
I bought one of those good american made tyre plug kits from arb . There just over $100 .
AnswerID: 199913

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 00:09

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 00:09
If not a compressor then maybe a quality headlamp. Both very useful and sometime essential.

One gizmo I nearly bought last week is a compass to mount on the dash with internal light.
AnswerID: 199934

Reply By: Scoey (QLD) - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 06:20

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 06:20

Cheers for the great advice! :-)) I think the best suggestion is Trev's about not telling the missus that I got something first trip! LOL!! Nice one! ;-)

Right time to put the noggin into gear and start thinking what I want most!

Thanks again! Cheers
Scoey!
AnswerID: 199951

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 08:34

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 08:34
If you buy something for a dollar, will they give you change in cash? then you can go and get some digestive aid...just a thought....
AnswerID: 199964