GU Patrol 4.2td Where does your temp gage sit when towwing

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 19:42
ThreadID: 38644 Views:9577 Replies:10 FollowUps:18
In my GU 4.2 td

I only use 5th when towwing over speeds of 100klm and down hills when ther is not as mutch load on the car.

It drops the RPM from around 3000 RPM at 110klm to about 2500RPM at 110klm and will hold that speed comfortably.

How ever it does run hotter in 5th gear and we offen lose our air- con once the gage moves just past 1/2 way it may have something to do with the speed of the water pump and the syncer on the air-con.

Where does your temp gage sit when towwing and do you lose your air-con at the same point ?

BBB

Reply By: Batboy - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 20:32

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 20:32
Just below half (same as not towing) and not noticed loss of A/C
04 4.2 TD

Only tow camper under one Tonne though and have noticed on previous GQ that engine ran hotter when laboured a little seemed to like the revs better.
AnswerID: 199898

Follow Up By: madcow - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 07:21

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 07:21
Same with mine! 03 4.2 tdi
FollowupID: 458938

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 20:44

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 20:44
Sit on 100 km/h when I tow my camper trailer. 110 km/h when not towing.

On the flat use 5th gear

In hills use 4th gear

The temperature guage is always just under half way. Exactly the same position as when not towing.

I have never had any issues with the air conditioner

Have you a genuine Nissan bull-bar or aftermarket. I know of a case where an aftermarket bull-bar was used and it didn't have correct vents. Caused overheating.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 199901

Follow Up By: Member - BBB - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 06:02

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 06:02
Yes Genuine
FollowupID: 458934

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 09:49

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 09:49
Same here, just done 6500K with Jayco Swan Outback (1150kg Tare, fully loaded 13-1400?) Car new only had 2300k on it when we started. Gauge never moved. We went through Ayers Rock, Kings Canyon, Alice, Oodnadatta Track etc. No issues.

FollowupID: 458985

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 20:46

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 20:46
Hi BBB,

It is well documented (here and elsewhere) that the 4.2 temp moves a lot especially when they are working. Nissan bought out an update on the sensor in the bottom of the radiator that cuts your air con off to save the motor, the old one cut out at something like 115c the new one cuts out closer to 119c. So if you haven't had this replaced with the higher cut-out temp switch you could ask your local dealer for it to be done.
The gauge moves around like a worm on a hook in mine but I have just learned to get used to it and drive it hard until the needle gets beyond 3/4 then I will back off. This can be annoying and limit my speed to 80kph at times but if that is what it takes that's what I do. The trip you have just come back from (with your loads) would result in most 4.2 owners asking the same questions you are now. It is in high ambient temps that will bring out the worst in this engine. Just be assured that running at high temps (up to 3/4 on the Nissan gauge) for long periods has not adversely affected my engine and with 275000km on the dial I think problems should be starting to show by now if there was any??? Mine still pulls like a train and goes like a rocket (by 4.2 standards anyway LOL) .

If you follow it through and try to fix the temp rising, I hope you have patience and a few spare bob. If for some miracle you solve what causes this could you please inform me, as even if I have to buy the answer, you would stop my hair falling out of my skull and make me a happy man.

Best regards,
Trevor.
AnswerID: 199903

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 20:49

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 20:49
PS rarely use 5th gear even at 120kph when loaded and I have still gone through the hassle of having to rebuild my gearbox with a near stuffed 5th gear and mainshaft.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 458898

Follow Up By: Member - BBB - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 06:10

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 06:10
Trevor

Do you lose your air-con now wen your temp gage is over 1/2 way with the new synser ?

BBB
FollowupID: 458935

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 08:17

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 08:17
As said earlier, do a search on 4.2 overheating and see what comes up. That is actually how I found out about ExplorOz in the 1st place.......several years ago I googled that and it lead me here. They haven't been able to get rid of me ever since.

As far as the air-con cut-off is concerned, I've actually disabled that cut-off switch. This is simple to do, just unplug the cable joiner on the passenger's side bottom radiator tank. The swicth is in the bottom of the tank and has a short length of cable leading to a plug. Separate the 2 halves of the plug and no more air-con cut-out.

HOWEVER............. be aware that I have done a helluva-lot of work on my 4.2 Patrol to try to minimise the over-warming and also installed gauges to measure various temperatures.........water (in top radiator hose), oil (in sump) and exhaust gases (in both manifold AND dump pipe). So, at any given time, I can know exactly what temps my donk is being subjected to. Like Trevor said, you don't need to worry until the Nissan's gauge (horribly inaccurate once you fit a separate "proper" gauge) gets up to the extreme right-hand side "danger zone". Mine has never crossed over that final line into the danger zone. The highest actual temp I have noticed on the VDO gauge is around 118oC.

FollowupID: 458954

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 09:17

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 09:17
BBB,

Aircon rarely cuts out at all now with new sensor. The Nissan gauge needs to be right up the top right side of gauge (end of solid line) before the aircon cuts out. As Roachie has indicated this is about 118c on my VDO gauge also.

Roachie,

That's how I found this site too!! Bloody Nissans, see what they do, buy a car and get hooked on the net!!! Before this car I never used a computer.

Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 458967

Follow Up By: DMH122 - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 13:38

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 13:38
Just unplug the sensor, but if temp goes to high u got a problem.
FollowupID: 459014

Reply By: Patdog - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 20:50

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 20:50
I tow a horse float, 2 small horses, summer in QLD at 100 kmh in 4th and flat out up hills (to help motor run in), never moved gauge above normal position and air-con never cuts out. Car built Dec 05. I often wonder if they have fixed the "problem" now.
AnswerID: 199907

Reply By: chips59 - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 21:30

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 21:30
memberBBB, those revs are very high. mine are 4th gear 110km 2400 rpm 5th gear 110km 2000 rpm +/- 100rpm
AnswerID: 199920

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 09:38

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 09:38
What diff ratio you running?
My revs are similar to BBB's.
FollowupID: 458979

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 22:17

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 22:17
1999 GU Patrol, temp guage sits just below 1/2 no matter what we tow or don't tow or what speed we do or don't do. We tow a full 18ft van and in the heat the temp guage still stayed the same.
We have just changed our radiator (the old one packed up whilst we were in Coral Bay) and the temp guage is still stayed just below 1/2 way, (didn't even move going up Bindoon Hill.

D&B

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 199928

Reply By: downtools - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 22:31

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 22:31
BBB,
We had a GQ 4.2 with a water cooled turbo.
The temp guage used to rise and fall depending on the hills or lack of. when towing the boat, I would back off and drop it into 4th to keep the temp down.
I was told that some of the early GU 4.2 Patrols had water cooled turbos. We have had a 2004 GU 4.2 (not water cooled) for a few mnths and the temp guage dose'nt move.
So, I'm thinking it could have a lot to do with the heat put into the radiator from the water line running through the turbo!
Wadaya think?
Niufty
AnswerID: 199930

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 08:25

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 08:25
I used to think the same thing too. My 2000 GU had a standard water-cooled turbo and I thought that it might be contributing to the heat issue. That was part of the reason I decided to do a Denco turbo upgrade. This involved replacing the Nissan turbo with a Schwitzer "dry" turbo about 1.5 times the size of the original turbo. The engine develops more power now and the boost has been cranked up to max of 15psi. However, the water temp issue hasn't really changed very much, so I've had to concede that the water-cooling of the old turbo didn't have a lot to do with the issue.

The TDi6 has a deeper radiator than the earlier models and maybe this has been a contributing factor, as I have yet to read of a TDi6 owner reporting any movement in the temp gauge. I fitted a huge PWR alloy radiator a couple of years ago and this didn't seem to help much either, although in fitting it I had to remove most of the shroud so I probably defeated the purpose to a large extent.
FollowupID: 458956

Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 08:55

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 08:55
Hi Roachie et al,

When the TD6 (TD42Ti engine) came out, as well as the addition of the interooler, Nissan changed from a water-cooled turbo to an oil-cooled one and fitted the larger radiator from the 4.8 Petrol engine.

Not sure about the argument about water-coooled turbos adding to the cooling load. The water/oil-cooled bit refers to the coolng of the turbo bearing housing. Now for similar sized and loaded turbos, it seems to me you have the same amount of heat to get out of the bearing housing. So whether it's taken away by a conbination of water flow and oil flow, or just oil flow alone, the heat still ends up in the engine cooling system (either directly via the water flow or via the engine oil cooler).

By the way, Mr Roachie, I've been meaning to ask you for ages: What's the maximum difference between upstream and downstream EGT you've measured n yor hot(?) Nissan? [15psig boost - that's cookin' for a 4.2, isn't it]? I've measured almost 190C on my Land Rover 300Tdi (1.0 bar (~15psig) boost as standard) when working hard.

Re. your PWR radiator - thought of having a new shroud made up to suit? An unshrouded fan is far less efficient than one in a well-designed shroud.
FollowupID: 458961

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 09:21

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 09:21
G'day Ian,
You've raised a couple of interesting points........
1) The maximum difference between the 2 thermo-couples has been around 130oC

2) I take your point about the turbo heat needing to be funnelled to "somewhere". I guess my point is that the water cooling system seems to struggle and any reduction on the demands asked of it are to be welcomed. The oil cooling system on the other hand, seems to cope very well; it has only been under the most adverse conditions that I have seen the oil temp go above 90oC.

3) I agree with you that the lack of a shroud is less than ideal. I have countered this situation to a certain extent by fitting a front-mounted 14" Davies Craig fan (which I can switch on/off whenever I want to) and I have also unplugged the Nissan standard air con condenser fan (also in front of the radiator) and have rewired it parrallel with the Davies Craig unit. As a consequence, I have 2 large electric fans pushing air through from the front as well as the (less effecient due to no shroud) inner fan doing 'some' work. I have thought of possibly removing the inner fan altogether and fitting a pair of thermo fans from (say) an AU Falcon. These have their own integrated shroud and the overall size is reasonably close to the GU's radiator size.
FollowupID: 458971

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 09:59

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 09:59
Ian,

I knew there was one point you raised which I forgot to cover!!!!! (old age setting in).........

The maximum boost of 15psi is rarely utilised by me........and when I do, it is only for short periods of time (eg: hard acceleration during an overtaking manouvre).

I am a great advocate of fitting sensors and gauges (as you well-know!!!!!! lololol) and the boost gauge was a necessity as far as I am concerned, once I started moving away from a standard set-up. Indeed, all the gauges I have are 'needed' in my eyes. I now feel uncomfortable when I drive a vehicle which doesn't have all these gauges.....you're sort of left wondering "what's going on under the bonnet?" and keeping fingers crossed that you haven't lost a radiator/heater hose, fan belt etc.

FollowupID: 458988

Reply By: Gmouse - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 09:17

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 09:17
Well folks we just got back from Coffin Bay, 1st long ish trip with the new pop-top van

All was great towing until the weather warmed up had one day of 41.2 and I had a bugger of a time keeping the temp down in the GU 4.2 TD

So now I will be looking for a bigger radiator (any ideas welcome) and anything else that will help and we also lost the A/C

AnswerID: 199977

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 09:51

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 09:51
Gmouse,

sorry mate but my best advise would be to save your dollars, relax when it's hot and drive a bit slower. Even with all the mods on mine (and a few other blokes on here) when the going gets hot, so does my Nissan no way to avoid it other than slow down IMO. I tried to work out as a percentage how often this is and it worked out negligible so that's why I have just thrown my hands in the air and said too hard basket, for the comparatively small amount of time I will just drive a bit slower (and when it's possible....hook right in to make up lost time LOL!!!).

Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 458986

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 09:59

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 09:59
This topic is really interesting and keeps popping up. I've been thinking (dangerous I know). People are putting in bigger radiators etc and not really solving the problem. The basics of heating and cooling is heat transfer, so if the waterways throughout the engine block, heads, manifolds etc aren't big enough to allow the water to flow through and remove the heat it doesn't matter what size radiator or water pump you have, the engine is still going to overheat. There is obviously a relationship between the speed of the water through the engine block and the amount of heat it can remove in a given time.

Could be bunckum but maybe another angle?

FollowupID: 458989

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 10:13

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 10:13
Exactly!!!!

Like Trevor says, save your bucks. My huge PWR radiator cost $1100- 2 years ago and was, in hindsight, a waste of money. It's a great radiator, but like Grizzle says, if the water galleries are too small for the mass of the block, all the cooling in the world won't help.

Gmouse, you say your Patrol got warm on a really hot day. As has been said before, you don't need to worry until the needle goes right over into the last bit of it's travel. In deed, I reckon it's good to see the gauge displaying some change as the temp goes up. The blokes who say their gauge never moves no matter how hot the ambient is or how hard they push their vehicle, are kidding themselves if they think their engine's coolant is staying at exactly the same temp all the time. There are large variations in water temp in all vehicles, it's just that the factory gauges are designed to sit in one spot 99% of the time so as not to 'worry' the driver with fluctuations.

As Trevor has said above, you could replace the switch in the bottom of the radiator with the newer model (I didn't know about this until I read it a few minutes ago).....or, you could simply disconnect it like I have (but then need to keep an eye on the temp gauge and be prepared to switch the air con off if the temp gauge goes ballistic.

One other thing I haven't mentioned in this thread before is that the integrity of the cooling system can be checked by taking note of how quickly the temp gauge reverts back to the "normal" position once the difficult condition (eg: climbing the long hill etc) has passed. In my case, within 30 seconds of cresting a long hill and with the temp having peaked at say 115oC, the temp reduces back to under 105oC (at which point the Nissan gauge is back to the 'normal' position). The Nissan gauge sits on the 'normal' position during fluctations of the water temp (as measured by the VDO gauge sender in the top hose) from 55oC to 105oC.
FollowupID: 458991

Follow Up By: Gmouse - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 10:51

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 10:51
Thanks for your input much appreciated, so sounds like it’s not just me then
now I’m thinking about de pressurising the radiator this I did on a 351 XY
many years ago and had good success

But only in the hotter weather and back on with the old rad cap as the cooler months came by

Again, many thanks

FollowupID: 458993

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 12:16

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 12:16
Yeah Gmouse, that is something Nissan had thought of and there is another cap out there. If you have not got the 1.1 cap (I think .9 was the old one??) then that is an off the shelf item at Nissan. There is also a lower temp thermostat but I don't think this did much but it is info for you if you want it.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 459003

Reply By: Gmouse - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 13:57

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 13:57
thanks for the tip mate will try Nissan Monday

AnswerID: 200023

Reply By: Member - BBB - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 19:12

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 19:12
I will have my syncer looked at and I will fit a accurate temp gage that reads the temp in degrees.

Thanks for all the detailed advice.

BBB
AnswerID: 200071