4.2 tdi Engine running on!
Submitted: Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 09:52
madcow
G'day folks, Recently I've had the engine run on when turned off. It has happened 3 times this year so far this year and had my local dealership take a look under warranty. It is a known issue it seems with quite a few people reporting it. I was shown the notices faxed to the dealerships regarding this issue and to date they do not have a fix it seems as it is only an intermittent problem and is not easy to track down the cause. Obvious
point of interest would be the solenoid valve. Not an easy thing to check for consistency. Has anyone else came across this problem? If so did you have a fix?The truck is a 12/03 model and 50,000kms on the clock and has been bulletproof so far.
Reply By: Chucky - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 11:03
Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 11:03
I was recently at a site and given the same GU ute and it had this problem whenever the A/C was on when shut down. I just had to stall it when it did it.
The problem was quite bad and it did it nearly every second time the engine was shut down. But it never did it if I shut down the a/c first.
Follow Up By: joc45 - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 14:14
Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 14:14
Probably coz the a/c steps up the idling speed a bit, so when shutting down, the throttle is held open a bit more than normal idle.
Gerry
Reply By: Redback - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 11:13
Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 11:13
Have you checked any of the sensors (ie) crank, heat, timing, fuel,
water and so.
Pre igniting is normally a timing or lean fuel problem from memory.
Follow Up By: madcow - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 11:19
Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 11:19
Thats another option I questioned ie: injector pump timing, lean mix etc. Once it's out of warranty turbo mods are on the cards so will be interesting to see if the problem persists. I dont use the aircon often ( i'm a fresh air man) but I haven't taken any notice to check if it does it in that scenario. We are at
Talbotville on cup weekend and I will spend the time trying a few different things to find any consistencies.
Thanks for the reply
Reply By: donks1 - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 12:12
Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 12:12
this is a known problem
tell the dealer to contact " fix " ( they will know who you mean )
fix will then send the dealer a modified wireing harnes for the pump
Follow Up By: madcow - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 12:18
Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 12:18
Ta I'll drop in this arvo and suggest it. Chances are they did not even look at it but you have to give them the benefit of the doubt! At least it is now reported as a problem and after warranty expires it should still be covered if a fix is found. (hopefully)
Reply By: joc45 - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 14:18
Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 14:18
Mine's done it since new, but is not a serious run-on, just occasionally it runs on with a shudder for several seconds before finally coming to a halt, then I put my fillings back in.
I put it down to the shut-off solenoid not shutting off properly. Had nissan look at it under warranty, but nothing really solved, but then, what else would you expect?
I just put up with it now.
Gerry
Follow Up By: madcow - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 14:35
Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 14:35
It's not really an issue as such more so it shouldn't happen.
Apart from that the vehicle is great!
Follow Up By: dj Patrol - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 10:53
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 10:53
Hi joc, My 4.2TD GU 99 has done this since new now has 107000 reported untold times lasting 3 years right through warranty to nissan but never fixed.
Mine dose when started up from cold an then turned off a few minutes later runs on shuddering thinkin its gonna blow up scary but have lived with it now until the pump and injectors need doing and will get specialist to fix. WONT BE NISSAN. so have fun and hold on when it rattles.
dj patrol
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 14:47
Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 14:47
Mine has done it a few times recently too. I have the AC on nearly all the time at the moment, fresh air or not it's just hot up here in the
Hill and even hotter at
Innamincka. I don't know if that is an influencing factor.
I wonder if it is to do with fuel quality and the solenoid not closing properly. Once that solenoid is shut there should be no fuel and the engine should stop. It could be the piston in the solenoid sticking as a result of poor quality fuel. That should not be hard for a dealer to check. Just pull it out and have a look at it any dirt should be visible. The other cause could be dirt getting caught under the seal stopping it from shutting down properly. I guess an electrical fault that resulted in the solenoid only partially closing could also be the problem.
Reply By: Chucky - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 18:22
Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 18:22
The site car I drive did it again this arvo.
I just floored the accel. and seen how long it rolled and rooled for before it stopped.
The volvo has been nothing but problems since they got it and we just want to get rid of it. We call it the volvo cause everyone hates the bloody thing around here and there can be full on barneys over who has to drive it.
Yet the Datsun dealer keeps telling us it's in perfect running order.
Reply By: acdc - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 20:25
Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 20:25
A common complaint with 4.2 patrols, no fix for it, just live with it.