challenger ball weight

Submitted: Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 20:36
ThreadID: 38675 Views:2780 Replies:4 FollowUps:5
Hello, we are considering all types of 4wd to tow our Golf pop top, weighs about 1300kg loaded.
Does anyone know the ball weight on the Challenger?
and does the vehicle weigh enough to tow safely, without being tossed around?

Plan is to buy something like a 2nd hand challenger to tide us over, until we can afford what my husband wants, with all the bells and whistles.
We will update to Nissan, Prado or something in 2008 when we head off for 'our big trip'.
Freinds have a challenger, which they love, and we have read positive things too.
thanks, hope someone can enlighten us, because I think they could be the perfect vehicle, for the time being.
Andrea

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 20:50

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 20:50

If you go to www.haymanreese.com.au they have a lot of information on this.

They state that Challengers from 1998 on fitted with one of their heavy duty hitch receivers have a maximum ball weight of 227 kg.

My father in law has a 2004 Challenger with a heavy duty hitch and they travel a lot towing an approximately 16 foot Corromal pop top with no problems at all. he is really happy with his car.

AnswerID: 200103

Follow Up By: andreab63 - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 07:27

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 07:27
Hi Brian, I had a quick look at the website, and found tht info, thanks for the link.

I checked out the mitsubishi site, but they had no info on ball weights though.
Does your father in law find it has O.K power? We presently have a surf, which for such an inexpensive vehicle does a great job, especially switching on the electric suspension function for a better ride when towing.
However the ball weight is only to 120kg, not enough and
it's is over heating up the Toowoomba range. We don't want to flog it to death, as it has been a great reliable vehicle and taken us wherever we want to go.
So thanks about that Challenger info, shall go and check one out now for a test drive, 2nd hand 2001 model.
Andrea.
FollowupID: 459157

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:16

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:16
Hi Andrea,

He is very happy with his and it has been fully around Aus twice and since they retired to Rainbow Beach it is used in four wheel drive most days for fishing etc.

His only comment is that it is on the low side of what he wants in power but it meets his requirements for towing etc. I guess by that statement he would probably prefer it to have a bit more power.

As far as offroad ability goes it sure gets him to most places he tries and I think it is quite a capable vehicle.

People on here who know more about them than me will give the exact detail but I think in earlier Challengers they were all leaf suspension and in later models they changed to torsion bars up front and rear leaves.

Happy hunting.
FollowupID: 459164

Follow Up By: andreab63 - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:27

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:27
Hi Brian,
thanks for that . Thats the exact sort of info I was after. It sounds like a great fill in choice for us. They look good to. Just have to convince my Prado Grande loving husband. Thanks again. Andrea.
FollowupID: 459167

Reply By: Aandy(WA) - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 21:44

Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 21:44
Andrea, the first place to ask is the manufacturer. The Challenger is not the most popular vehicle in 4wd circles so don't expect great resale in 2008. On the other hand if you buy used now then expect to get it at a relatively good price. A golf pop top can easily be towed by any sedan other than the "small" cars so a Challenger will tow it easily. Friends towed a similar pop top for years with a Ford Telstar (2 litre sedan). You most likely won't want to update for your "big trip". After all a big trip is nothing more than a series of small trips linked together. People make such a fuss about "the big trip" and if you think about it it's all within the same land mass, same language, same laws, same currency, same people so why the worry and endless planning some people put into it. You'll find K Mart, Target, Bunnings, McDonalds etc etc every where you go and all the shopping malls, caravan parks, bush tracks, beaches will look familiar too - no big deal about the big trip. I did it many years ago in an HQ Holden, loved every minute, planned very little, had no hassles. Good luck.
PS Do you really think a Nissan is an "update"
AnswerID: 200113

Follow Up By: andreab63 - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:22

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:22
Thanks for that, but our trip [not til 2008],
is Bris - Quilpie way - Donohughe & Plenty HWY. Have a look around East and West McDonnalls. Up the Tanami and down to Pilbarra, up Ningaloo Coast then Gibb River and home down the bitumen to check out the dinosaurs [we have 2 kids].
So Nissan or cruiser will give leg room, space between the children [less poking and arguing], & plenty of power to tow through sand or mud across the Plenty.

I used to work on an aboriginal community in the Tanami, and during may - july you can get plenty of unexpected rain,water with deep mud as far as you can see. The work vehicle [L/C], got us through o.k, but I don't fancy the Challenger, when towing a van through lots of the sticky red stuff.

Also, We've never done it before so are lacking in knowledge & confidence ++.
It might be overkill, but I'll feel more relaxed.
Hopefully not to many Maccas out there. I hope the Pilbarra & Kimberley isn't too familar to us Easties otherwise it's not worth going.
Do you have any must sees for the Pilbarra region? cheers From andrea.
FollowupID: 459165

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:10

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:10
You should be able to look the towing weight on the " Net ", if you do not have the Owners Manual,, or check it out at your Local Mitshubitsi Dealer

When towing ,,,10 % overall weight on the ball.
And if the tow bar is an ARB or genuine ,, then it capacity will be stamped.
My Navara tows our fully loaded Trak Shak ( 1150 kg's ) easy ,,,Rated 3000kg braked,,

Cheers Bucky

AnswerID: 200157

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:21

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:21
In one of the posts I have also noticed that your vehicle gets a little hot, Towing uphill ,,, that can be normal

Check out your fan, and make sure that its engaging /disengaging properly,,

The other thing that you may consider is to let the engine rev a lot more (use gears) If the motor labours , the extra heat generated by the uphill drive, then the motor is not getting reved enuf, to be cooled, by the fan .
Sounds a little Irish dosen't it ,, but sometimes this works
That dosent read right ,, but use your gears a lot more uphill , and you may be surpised
Cheers Bucky

AnswerID: 200160

Follow Up By: andreab63 - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:31

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:31
Thanks Bucky, you might be onto something there.
We have had problems with the fan.
Also it's an auto, and I think my husband locks it in ?? not sure. So I'll get him to read this as, even though I'm an Irish thinking kinda girl, I don't speak a lot of car talk.
Cheers from andrea.
FollowupID: 459172