There's a difference...or is there ?
Submitted: Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 22:05
Footloose
I knew I shouldn't have opened my mouth! Mate in NZ who runs 4wd tours and training etc is coming to Oz next winter. I offered to show him
Birdsville and surrounds, so that he can get a handle on the difference in 4wd touring between the two countries (and I figure we won't see too many sheep around :)
His tours stay in pubs and motels at night, and stop at the
shop for morning tea etc. Yes there's mountain goat country and creeks, rivers and bridges but I told him that over here only our weekend warriers do that kind of stuff :))
I'm wondering what sort of problems he might have on the trip. If he's thinking comfort , forget it. If he's thinking yuppee coffee, morning and afternoon tea, forget it. I wonder just how tough he'll find
camping on the plains in winter, without a flushing loo. (and no I'm not wearing any wooly jumpers)
"THIS *said in loud voice and pointing* is a TENT. You will learn to love it, or else !"
Will he see a pub and refuse to go any further?
Yes I'm being silly, he'll cope easily. He'll have a ball.
But will I ?
Reply By: Willem - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 22:44
Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 22:44
Now I would have thought that a man of your stature and experience would be happy to make a yuppie coffee for your mate when you two are out and about.
Whilst you beat the flies to your tent at
Birdsville he may languidsh in the cool of the Pub...lol
You worry too much, Footy
Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 22:54
Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 22:54
Willem, have to say that I've never met too many kiwis straight off the plane. Me make a yuppie coffee ? Not likely, it's International roast. I've been accused to making coffee strong enough to kill a brown dog (with apologies to all brown dog owners). But in my drinking days a scotch and coke was made by waving the coke bottle over a bottle of scotch.
There are FLIES in
Birdsville in winter ? Never noticed em before. Do kiwis attract em or something ? :))
Yep, he's sure to book in at the pub. Anything to get away from me telling him that not everything worthwhile was invented by or owned by Kiwis :))
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 09:41
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 09:41
I had some Israelis on one of my photography tours.
They make the most wicked coffee.
They have a really strong roast ground coarsely.
They boil the
water and then ladle (or is it ladel) in heaps of it, then even more sugar and often cinnamon and other stufff. They boil it up until it forms are thick sludge on top and then pour out the stuff into (usually) glasses - not that I had glasses on my tour, but one of them did!
Was a great wake up call as we watched the sunrise -
well shot the sunrise.
There are flies in
Birdsville all year around - had one pommie girl got so paranoid she wouldn't get out the car (of course they all came in to join her in no time).
Andrew.
Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 23:48
Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 23:48
hahhaa, just remember he's a kiwi and isn't he from the west coast, aint nobody tougher than a west coaster, the only thing that will bother him are the flies and the lack of sheep.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:27
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:27
Hmm...yes he's a westcoaster. And while he's there, plenty of things seem to bother him. Tough eh ? Hmmm...
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:39
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:39
WE do have GOATS tho
Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:51
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:51
You can't insult me Bonz, I know I'm a silly old goat :))
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 09:02
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 09:02
Far from an insult its a term of endearment hahahaha
Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 10:54
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 10:54
I think you will find he is rather used to small biting flies from where he comes from.
Don't think he has ever seen more then three days in a row without rain !
Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 11:01
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 11:01
Sandflies are real mongrels..arhhgggg
Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 11:29
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 11:29
Hi Footloose,
Your Kiwi mate, are his initials ML ?
Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 11:34
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 11:34
Kia, they might be...but only if you don't mention this thread LOL
Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 13:14
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 13:14
It's ok I will not be seeing him anytime soon,
His humour is about as dry as the weather at
Birdsville :-))
He has an absolutely fabulous back yard for 4wd adventures. Have you managed a trip with him?
Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 14:02
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 14:02
No, he's always asking me to go over and I will one day. Dry sense of humour eh ? Hmm...it will fit the country here :)
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 01:36
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 01:36
Footl.
. Yes mate. You CAN survive a Woolly Fleece.(You're a crunt, & thus an honorary member) of the disparate mob from Aust. who helped train P.I. troops and green Kiwis
And in return, as I listen to Eva Cassidy in the background, I'm searching for "Cosmosis", the throat singer, (Dean Frenkel).Can you assist?
.Two things;
. A. JOIN Exploroz, so's I may enjoy abusing/praising you away from the public gaze,
.B.Second (a poor second, may I add),Talk to me Buddy; we may be grafted from similar stock.
. Quote:
'I knew I shouldn't have opened my mouth'
. Oh dear, maybe , wrong again. JH.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:30
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:30
Jeff, that sounds interesteing. Yes I should have joined ages ago, but because of certain tribes and their hidden agendas I've desisted.
Common stock ? Sounds like a soup ! LOL
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 09:34
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 09:34
It's simple Footloose. Start up our own tribe, the Old Floozies :) We can have our own hidden agenda, to have fun. But don't tell anyone sshhhhh
Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 06:29
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 06:29
The answer to your question, yes you will have a ball. New Zealanders are usually house trained, laid back and don't whine to much.
Now if he was a certain other nationality !
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 06:47
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 06:47
"don't whine to much"
Unless you remind them of their abysmal record in the World Cup hahahahahaha
Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 10:55
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 10:55
What world cup is that one Al, seem to be a few these days.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 10:58
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 10:58
Ray,
I thought there was only one that mattered for Kiwis. Something to do with their national religion :))))
Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 07:42
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 07:42
......."If he's thinking yuppee coffee, morning and afternoon tea, forget it......"
C'mon Footie..... this is the 21st century matey!!!! LOL..... We took packs of Instant Latte's on our trip last month! Different flavours, oh the decisions!!!!!!
And damn not too bad either!!!!!!
Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:25
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:25
Brian, OMG. Instant Lattes ! I'm gobsmacked. :))
Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:28
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:28
ROTFLMAO!!!!
Verrrry nice they are!!
Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:30
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:30
"Fancy a Latte Dear?"
"Of course!"
"What flavour today Hon???...."
"Oohhhh lets see..... Cinnamin? Hazlenut? Caramel?? Vanilla??? Oh the decisions!!!! "
Welcome to My World!!
LOL......
Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:37
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:37
Brian, I'm going to have to give up the goods and admit I've never had a latte ! My daughter lives on em. She especially enjoyed the ones in NZ.
But being an old guy I'll admit that I still get my hair cut by a barber ! (they don't charge me a search fee...yet :).
I still cut grass instead of smoking it, ice comes from the freezer and extacy is a feeling not a pill.
I give way to traffic, I open doors for others. I've even been known to smile occasionally.
I guess I'm old fashioned and proud of it.
Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:46
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:46
Footie.... we are greeing on a lot here...
I go to a Barber in Nerang.... her name is Monique! And she is a top barber!! And doesn't laugh at me for wanting a mullet....
well not while I'm there anyway. LOL..
I too cut grass not smoke it...... agree with the ice and extasy and the doors and the smiles!!
But.......
Love the Lattes!!!
The instant ones are good.... Nescafe I think, some of our BP's here on the Coast have Wild Bean Cafes inside them and their Lattes are great, Zarrafas Coffee and Gloria Jeans are top notch!!
Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:56
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:56
Brian, until I was about 45 a woman had never cut my hair. When one did, I found out what I'd been missing. But I draw the line at going into one of those secret womens business
places to get my hair cut by anyone ! They probably serve lattes in there :))
Mullet ? As in sideways ? I always thought that was a fish eaten mostly by those over 80. LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 09:06
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 09:06
No No No No No!!! Not one of THOSE businesses.... LOL..... this is a real barber
shop! With the candy striped pole and all! Just that the barber is a woman. But she really cuts hair
well!! Always very busy as
well..... always a good
sign!
Reply By: Member - Karl - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:38
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:38
Distance would be an issue - I bet he has never driven in a straight line for more than an hour!!
Karl
Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:48
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:48
Yep, our engines are just warming up a bit by then :)
Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 10:57
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 10:57
lol, how about 15 minutes Karl
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 15:57
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 15:57
Geeeeeezzzz I hope you don't get a dust storm.
'Bet he 'aint seen one of them...... hang on there was that one back in Oct 2002 which they reckon got to Uhn Zuhd. Still he won't have seen one up close.
Reply By: Stu050 - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 19:10
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 19:10
Footy,
If you are going to poke out to
Birdsville, you might as well slip up to
Jundah, and show him around the central west..you know ,
Barcaldine,
Longreach,
Winton etc.
That is starting to get into sheep country too, in case he is feeling homesick.
Then go back to Anakie and Rubyvale, have a fossick for some sapphires, take a tour around the
Gregory Coal Mine, and then back to the coast via Rolleston and
Taroom.
Depends how much time you have, but it would be a good trip. Most of it will be bitumen driving, so it may get boring.
Stu