Bridgestone desert dueller 31x10.5x15
Submitted: Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 23:23
ozyoyo
Are that the tyres Good enough ?, anyone knows about this tyres if any problems ?
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 23:25
Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 23:25
Good for what?
Soft walls.
Good in sand.
Follow Up By: ozyoyo - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 23:28
Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 23:28
are that good for 4wd bush tracks, beach sands etc something like that ..
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 00:41
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 00:41
G'day Brew
How are ya?
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:47
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:47
Yeah good mate. Just back for a week and a bit on KI with the yp club. Fantastic place to visit although we didn't use the little stick over there. Are you finished touring for the year?
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 09:07
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 09:07
Mate....yes pretty much so....although I will be out at Warraweena for the whole of next week doing some mapping. After that I am staying home until the July National EO get together. After that event I will be heading back into the nothern Simpson one more time. Going to Tassie in November 07 and then will be doing a 3 month trek to extreme remote areas of North West WA in 08.
One has to plan in advance...lol
Have all my rims tyres set up now and wont need to buy any for years to come
Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 00:38
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 00:38
In the scheme of things they are average tyres.
They are not good and they are not bad. Just average.
Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 01:46
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 01:46
I got them on a 95 HZJ75
Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 01:51
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 01:51
I got them on a 95 HZJ75 I just bought. They are quiet on road and do a good job in the sand and beach.
I havent tried them on wet roads yet.
Im not sure what they cost but they are not expensive from memory. A good basic tyre used within its limitations.
They sold a lot of them; )
Reply By: Member - BBB - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 07:43
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 07:43
Good on Sand
Hopeless if towing heavy wieghts I had 3 of
mine blow out on my last trip the side walls just blow out and 2 of them where on tared roads.
I had to by 5 new tyres in Clairmont. I put cooper tyres on as they where the only tyre they had 5 of and cost me $1700 for the 5 tyres and $2500 for the damage to the car from the blown out Bridgestones.
Not Happy
BBB
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:45
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:45
Must be a trend. My DD blew out and caused a couple of grands damage too.
Reply By: Member - Karl - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:35
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 08:35
Got the 604s on my Cruiser and never had any issues with as long as you look after them - i.e. correct tyre pressures etc. They have worked
well for me in the sand, on gravel, on bitumen and in wet conditions.
They are a middle of the market tyre and I like them.
Karl
Reply By: PatrolBen - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 16:17
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 16:17
Who cares?
Buy BFGoodies and you wont regret it. A guy I know (has a 1998 GU 2.8TD like me, but
mine goes faster!) has them on his truck and to date on the trips I been with him on (Tasmania, Outback QLD, Cape ect.) he has so had 5 tyres go ( two blowouts and three flats) where as my almost identical patrol has had a single flat over exactly the same km's. Also has had bad pitting on his after only 25,000 km. However they are very quiet on road and I belive his truck does handle slighty better to
mine (same size as
mine, I know you want 15" though!) due to the slightly more road orientated pattern.
I have 265/75/R16 BFG AT's though when I was buying the truck and had the choice of either these or Cooper ST's for $10 a tyre less; I chose BFG. I did this because I beleive that BFGs are better onroad than Coopers although they may, I stress MAY, be more susceptibel to damage offroad (8ply Vs 3ply sidewalls). Yes Coopers does have that warranty but to ever keep it intact you will have to have service/alignments every 10000km (?); too complicated and costly for me.
My advice is next time your around the shopping centres have a look over all the city bound 4X4's and have a look at tread patterns/wear ect. If the owners come up and enquire about what the hell your doing looking at thier tyres explain; anyone worth thier weight will be happy to talk and explain thier experiances (most will talk thier teeth out given the opportunity).
Hope this makes sense as now it is getting to be that time of the hour; pshht glug, glug, glug ........
Aaaah Weekends!
Reply By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 16:40
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 16:40
You talking the 693s or the 694s ?? two very different species of rubber ,
Follow Up By: Exploder - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 16:49
Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 16:49
I think they are talking the 604’s the original dueller.
My mate calls em Super slippers, as they are fairly average in the wet.
Saying that compare a set of 31 DD to a set of 31 Cooper or BFG’s
What say 240-250 a tyre for the Coopers/BFG Vs 160 for the DD so price to Pro-Formance not a bad tyre, and they have been around since what like the 80’s
Reply By: Member - mikeyandmary (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 21:32
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 21:32
We have Desert Duelers on the ute. I've gotten us into plenty of sticky spots and they've gotten us out every time. Like ANY tyre use the right pressure for the conditions and they do the job.
We bought them because we couldn't justify the extra expense of BFGs. Before people start sprouting the wonders of BFGs at me,
the Desert Duelers replaced a set of BFGs and they were great tyres too.
Reply By: c j - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 14:21
Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 14:21
The newer D694's seem to work pretty good for an A/T.