towing capacity

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 12:30
ThreadID: 38691 Views:6802 Replies:9 FollowUps:24
We're finally going to do it! Have been researching towing capacities and find many inconsistencies. We have just bought a 20ft van( tare 1950kg) and are now looking for a suitable tow vehicle. We are very interested in the new ML Triton GLXR (3.2 litre common rail turbo diesel). It has a towing capacity of 2300kg, a kerb mass of 1920kg, gross vehicle mass of 2930kg and a gross combination mass of 5000kg.At $43,500 we think it is good value but will it fit the legal requirements if we load it correctly?
Interestingly, the new Navara stacks up about the same but has a towing capacity of 3000kg.
I would appreciate any feedback.

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 13:01

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 13:01
Be careful with towing capacities. Two years ago I found that the Navara had the 3000kg with 100kg of load (fuel, passengers etc) where as Mitsubitsi capacity was at full load.
At 695kg load in the tow vehicles the Mitsubtitsi remained at 2500kg and the Nissan came back to 2200kg.
I found stated towing capacities to be quite deceptive with some vehicles along with the ball weight. One make had a 3500kg towing capacity with a 50kg ball weight.
AnswerID: 200201

Follow Up By: mickeyboy52 - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 14:55

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 14:55
Thank you.You're right. Looking at the specs Nissan's towball download is dependant on reducing the gvm whereas the triton still keeps the payload up there.
FollowupID: 459240

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 13:15

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 13:15
I would say by your question you are looking at getting a new vehicle but have you thought about a micky mouse second hand turbo 100 series cruiser for the same money. I think would be a better tow vehicle brakes etc and also by the time you load her up I think you will be over the legal limit with a triton. Also I am quit sure that the new navara have actually dropped there towing capacity. Have no doubt the Triton would be capable but think it will be working fairly hard lugging a 20 foot van, but if you are looking for a ute style of vehicle then that might be your only option in the case of a dual cab. Either way I hope you make the write choice of vehicle and enjoy that and the new van. Happy touring.. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 200203

Follow Up By: mickeyboy52 - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 15:07

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 15:07
Thank you Steven.We have looked at cruisers,but went back to the triton for sheer value for money. we would prefer to buy new and know that the toyotas are a great vehicle but a 4.2l turbo wagon would be about 75k on road and 30grand would buy us a lot of leisure time
FollowupID: 459244

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 23:12

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 23:12
Hi there mickeyboy, yes fully understand where your coming from as wanting a new vehicle and yes 30k is whole heap of leisure time and some extra goodies for yourself and wife.If you go the triton then I hope all works out for you and you enjoy your travelling. Take Care Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 459316

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 18:44

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 18:44
Unless they have improved the new triton markedly over the old I would say cheap and nasty rather than value for money
FollowupID: 459429

Follow Up By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 21:47

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 21:47
I agree wish Davoe i had a v6 triton as a work vehicle for one of my staff & had to through it away, gear box & transfer case etc etc it was just not up to it ,had the same with a ford courier, had no problems from narvara or rodeo
FollowupID: 459474

Reply By: Member - Charlie M (SA) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 13:28

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 13:28
If your tare is at 1950kg unladen your gross loaded weight would most likely be around 2300 to 2400kg on a tandem van. Ball weight would need to be in the figure of 200 to 250kg. Van needs to go onto a weigh bridge to get accurate figures, you might bee surprised what it actually weighs.
Charlie
AnswerID: 200206

Follow Up By: Member - Charlie M (SA) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 13:29

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 13:29
Should be be not bee
Charlie
FollowupID: 459237

Follow Up By: mickeyboy52 - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 14:59

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 14:59
Thanks Charlie. Towball weight of the triton is 230kg. We would look at using the tub of the triton to carry extra weight so as to distribute the weight more evenly.
FollowupID: 459241

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 15:02

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 15:02
I think Charlie is right. With a 1950 tare, you will easily get to 2400 gross weight, perhaps more. I reckon you would be at or over the Triton's towing capacity most of the time.

For long trips I always try to keep the trailer weight to no more than 70% of the vehicle towing capacity, certainly not more than 80%. This may be very conservative, but it is how I am comfortable.

For that sort of weight, I'd be looking at a 4.2 TD, either Nissan Patrol or Landcruiser in wagon or ute, whichever best suits your needs. But that's just my view.

I guess it depends on how far you will travel, what sort of terrain and how easily you want to do it.
AnswerID: 200213

Follow Up By: mickeyboy52 - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 15:14

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 15:14
Thanks Norm. I am new at this and need all the advice I can get. Do you think I would be right if I minimised the weight of the van by storing more stuff in tray of the ute and thereby achieving improved weight distribution?
FollowupID: 459247

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 15:41

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 15:41
Mickeyboy, I'm not claiming to be an expert. Just sharing my experience and views.

While weight distribution within the vehicle and van and between them is important, it is generally easier on the vehicle to tow weight than to carry it. Tow capacity, ball weight and other practical considerations notwithstanding.

My Hilux has a load capacity of 915 KG and a tow capacity of 2250 KG, but not both. If I did both at the same time, I would exceed the Gross Combined Mass by about 450 KG. If I tow at the vehicle capacity, my vehicle load capacity reduces to about 500 KG; a big reduction.

None of this is as simple as it first seems. You need to get the full specs of potential vehicles. The key ones are kerb weight, GVM (the difference is the load capacity often including fuel, passengers etc depending on how kerb weight has been defined), GCM (gross combined weight of the fully loaded vehicle and the fully loaded trailer), tow capacity and ball weight capacity.

To complicate things, you can often not rely on the tare weight and ball weight specified by caravan and CT manufacturers. You probably should check these at a weigh bridge.

All of this is why I try to maintain a reasonable margin of error. My Hilux, when fully loaded for a trip including boat, motor, trailer ball weight and all our stuff is right on it's 915 KG load capacity (might even be 50 KG over with extra beer and wine sometimes). But because the trailer is well under tow capacity, my GCM remains within it's limit.

One of the reasons I got the ute is it's load capacity. Most wagons have much less load capacity, but the newer ones have a bigger towing capacity and GCM than my Hilux.

Many people just ignore all this stuff and travel way overloaded. If it is important to you (it is a safety as well as legal issue), I can only suggest a nice big spread sheet of vehicle specs and load combinations. This will pop out a short list of vehicles for you to then target based on personal preference. But I would always maintain a margin for error. It is surprising what you (more likely your wife) wants to take on some trips.

I actually enjoy this sort of research when we are making decisions, but I'm probably a bit strange.
FollowupID: 459252

Follow Up By: mickeyboy52 - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 15:54

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 15:54
Thanks again, Norm. As stated, I'm new at this but would like to get it right. And it's true, the people who do overload probably never have problems. Just in the last week I saw a Kluger (1500kg tow capacity) pulling a van aprox 18ft and also saw a new Hilux (2250kg) pulling a van about the same size as mine, so it all becomes very confusing!
FollowupID: 459255

Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 17:31

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 17:31
On my post (no 38180) about towing a boat trailer I had a reply from Shane D who said:
"The law in NSW is that the TOWING vehicle has to weigh more than what its towing (1:1) for this reason.
I know that in QLD It's different (1:1.5 tow/trailer ratio vehicle permitting)"
You may want to follow this up??
Mike.
AnswerID: 200231

Follow Up By: mickeyboy52 - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 17:38

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 17:38
Thank you, Mike
FollowupID: 459272

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 23:22

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 23:22
Hi there Mike I have heard this before tow vehicle must weigh more, but makes me laugh as I had 3 choices when fitting towbar to my commodore, (all factory towbars) 1st one is 1200 kg 2nd 1600 kg 3rd is 2200kg my commodore only weighs 1629kg, would love to know who would be responsible if I decide to tow a 2200kg boat behind my commodore and I ran up the arse of some one as Im sure the brakes on my commodore would noy be able to pull some thing of that size up even with trailer brakes. I ended up putting the 1600 bar on as my inboard ski boat weighs approx 1400kg. Wonder what the go is with this situation. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 459317

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 23:25

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 23:25
Also forgot to mention that when you buy the 2200kg bar you get extra bracing that has to be bolted up to the rear end inside of boot, runs down both sides apparently to stop the rear end pulling out of alighnment, mmmm I reckon thats telling me some thing ???? Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 459318

Follow Up By: mickeyboy52 - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 23:29

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 23:29
Thanks again,Stephen. It's appears to be a very grey area and the manufacturers are worried about getting their balls kicked
FollowupID: 459321

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 22:52

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 22:52
Mate, Take it from me, you will be busting your arse(thats putting it mildly) towing a 2 to 2.5 ton van(by the time you have loaded all your stuff in it) with a 3.2litre vehicle. Yes, it will tow it, no worries, on a flat even road, but get into hilly country and you will see how the engine struggles. Some people I know who have bought 3lt Nissan Patrols and tow larger vans, now wish they had bought 4.2lt or bigger engined vehicles.

Why buy a new vehicle when you lose that much value in the first year. Buy a late model used Toyota/Nissan/Ford instead.
AnswerID: 200285

Follow Up By: mickeyboy52 - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 23:03

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 23:03
Thanks Willem.I see where you're coming from. How does Nissan get away with putting a 3000kg towing capacity on their stx navara?
FollowupID: 459313

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 23:27

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 23:27
Mickeyboy

I have no idea why Nissan put a 3.0 ton towing capacity on their Navara. I wouldn't buy a Navara in the first place mainly because the driver seating is too small for me but also that it is a small vehicle and it does not suit my needs. Its off track ability is also not as good as my old open diff part time 4x4 GQ.

I spent 5 years on the road towing a 27ft Viscount. It weighed in at 1.3 ton as a shell, when I bought it, and by the time I had fitted it out and stored all our crap in it, we were up to 3.5 ton. Over the years I reduced the weight by atrition to 2.5 ton which made towing a lot easier. I towed with a 4.3 petrol Toyota FJ55 to start with and ended with a 4lt Nissan Patrol. I swore I would never tow another bloody thing again, but never say never, and these days tow an off road bush trailer(not CT)

Smaller engined vehicles just struggle with heavy vans. I know that the engines of today are a lot more advanced(hi tech) than the old technology ones but they also fall apart a lot quicker too. Go for a strong chassis 4.2lt tow 4x4 and you can't go wrong.

FollowupID: 459319

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 23:28

Saturday, Oct 21, 2006 at 23:28
Bit the same I think that toyota did when they rated my 2.8D hilux to tow 1500kg, would pull me bloody backwards going uphill, only has enough power to get its own arse up the hill let alone another 1500kg LOL. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 459320

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 11:11

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 11:11
Yeah, the ratings of individual vehicles is a source of confusion. Before you even worry about a trailer, varying vehicle payloads are in some instances very unequal. Some utes with average suspension setups are higher rated than wagons with better suspension. We've all seen tradesmen driving around with straight leaf springs. LOL
FollowupID: 459375

Follow Up By: Member - andrew G (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 19:07

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 19:07
Think the Navara is a Pathfinder with a ute back and pathfinder rated to 3000kilo thats probably the reason ......
FollowupID: 460283

Reply By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 08:56

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 08:56
Hi Mickeyboy,

Several of the previous writers have talked about related issues but I don't think any have spoken about ATM - Aggregate Trailer Mass - maximum allowable total loaded weight of the caravan. For a tandem van this is commonly 400kg higher than the tare weight. So, in your case it is likely 2350kg and it will be stamped on the vans compliance plate (either on the draw bar or inside the front boot).

I would recommend you NEVER tow a trailer with an ATM higher than the rated towing capacity of the tow vehicle. While I don't think it's strictly illegal to do so, should you be unfortunate enough to be involved in an accident then the onus would be on you to PROVE the actual loaded mass of the van was less than the tow vehicle capacity.

Other points to consider: As someone else said, manufacturers' Tare weights are often optimistically low, so do check it at a registered weighbridge. Next consider just what has to be added to the Tare - the absolutely dead empty weight of the van at the factory gates. Start with gas in the bottle(s), water in the tank(s) and already well over 100kg of the 400kg payload (or 350kg in your case) might be used up before you even put in a pair of clean jocks!

Bear in mind too, that any accessories added after the van was tare weighed at the factory also 'use up' your payload. For example, a roll-out awning, microwave or air conditioner added by the dealer or owner, etc.

So, basically I think you've got Buckley's chance of keeping the actual loaded van weight under 2300kg and, as mentioned above, if the stamped ATM is higher than 2300kg you're already on dubious legal ground. Also, should you at some time load the ute to it's GVM of 2930kg then the tow capacity drops to 5000 - 2930 = 2070kg.

I'd look for something with a tow capacity of 2500kg/250kg ball weight as the absolute minimum for you van. Hope this helps.
AnswerID: 200308

Reply By: Swanning it - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 10:20

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 10:20
Hi Mickeyboy,

Don't rule out the Navara! I was close to buying one (for the same reasons you speak of. I wanted a dual cab ute so the options are limited for dual cab which can legally tow a 2.5+ t van. I have had reports of many with the Navara and they love them but I must admit, I finally ruled out the Navara because the back seat was too cramped and (as someone else said) I find the drivers seat too cramped as well. But if these problems don't worry you, I wouldn't be too concerned about the engine size (they have plenty of power, even on the hills) and I would certainly look at late model used ST-Rs. Since Nissan released the ST-X late last year, the new price of the ST-R has fallen dramatically which has in turn had a knock on effect to the quality late model ST-Rs. I feel sorry for the people who bought an ST-R a year ago for about $43k new as they now sell new for about $32k new and you can pick up a low km 18month to 2 year old vehicle for $25k-$30k. Why wear the lions share of the depreciation, when someone else can!

AnswerID: 200316

Follow Up By: mickeyboy52 - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 15:34

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 15:34
Well worth a thought, Ian. What are your thoughts on the stx navara as a tow vehicle? has a 3000kg capacity, but in order to achieve towball download of 250kg, I would need to reduce gvm. Haven't heard much about them. Thanks
FollowupID: 459408

Follow Up By: Swanning it - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 16:30

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 16:30
Mickeyboy,

I'm no vehicle expert, but all their advertised figures stack up well. I suppose it depends on what you want in to put in the tray. For me it was motorbikes and the tray was not big enough, but the weights were still OK. I was only working on a ball load of 170kg but when I've weighted it at a weighbridge, it actually turned out to be 280kg! So I was really glad I decided against the Navara. As others have quite rightly advised on this thread, we can change a lot......you just have to know acurately what you're starting with.....then distribute weight accordingly and the tray of the ute may be a good help, it all depends on what you intend carrying in the van. The 400kg payload usually allowed over the van tare doesn't go too far!!!!

FollowupID: 459414

Follow Up By: Swanning it - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 16:33

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 16:33
Sorry, should also have said, I've been told by the few caravanners that tow with the ST-X, that the smaller diesel is excellent and also conforms to the Euro level 4 emission standards (I think).

FollowupID: 459415

Follow Up By: mickeyboy52 - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 17:16

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 17:16
Might be the way to go. Interestingly, the Triton's gvm doesn't nneed to be lowered to achieve the desired towball download (230kg) and it has a higher gross comination mass(5000kg) as against 4850kg? which means I could put more weight in the rear of the Triton to distibute the load. It's all very confusing. I might just stay at home. Once again, thank you
FollowupID: 459419

Reply By: Member - Charlie M (SA) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:37

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:37
Mickeyboy52
All the reply's have given you room for thought. As I stated earlier weigh the van to see what load it is at. Have it weighed unloaded and loaded if possible. Then it will give you a accurate idea of what towing capacity and ball load is needed.
Ball load should be about 10% of the total load.
All the best in your purchase and travels
Charlie
AnswerID: 200382

Follow Up By: mickeyboy52 - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 21:01

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 21:01
I have a mate who works at the local Mitsu dealership and he has been trying to talk his boss into putting a towbar on a triton. He wants to hook up his own van (21ft), weigh it, and take it for a run. Sound advice. Thanks once more, Charlie
FollowupID: 459464